We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish staying”
Review of Hostel 64 Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel 64 Osaka
Ranked #19 of 239 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Stylish staying”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The is a new design hotel with dorm accommodation option which offer budget stay, the dorm room is very nice with curtain separate the beds and it is very quiet at night, Although sometime there is some noise came from the first floor common area. The location is not prefect, you will expect a 10 mins walk from the closest metro station. Staff are friendly and the shower room is nice too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
41
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

First of all, our flight was landed 5-ish AM and the hostel opens at 8AM, we've taken the slow train from Kansai Airport (which stopped almost every single station on the way). We had no problem finding Hostel 64, as I've done some research online before we left for the trip to see which trains to take from the airport, how to get there from the station...etc.

We got there by 8AM, left our luggage and off to see the city. Came back in the evening for the proper check-in. It was my first time staying in a Japanese tatami room. The size of the room was ok, not huge but got enough space for the luggage, and it has a coffee table and a bean bag.

The futon was comfortable (actually it's not a real futon, more like a foldable mattress). Had good night sleep. There was a street light outside the window, so it was kinda bright after turning off the room lights. If you think it will be a problem, please remember to bring eye mask, and ear plugs are recommanded for light sleepers, even the hostel is located in a nice and quiet location, you still have some noise from other travellers going in and out of the room, things like that.

The next morning before heading to Kyoto, we had breakfast at the hostel, 300 Yen, with some bread, blueberry jam, small bowl of yogurt and small glass of orange juice, good value.

If you want to know how to get there from the airport, feel free to send me a message.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kakui_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in a japanese style tatami room. The rooms are very clean and the futon beds are bigger, thicker and softer than usual (maybe not traditional futons, but very comfortable). The air conditioning was efficient and made no noise.

There are showers on all floors and the shower rooms were spotlessly clean. Actually, it was fun to try the showers on the different floors, since they're all different. It was fun to try the sitting shower!

The reception/bar/lounge area is very cool and it's a nice place to relax in the afternoon before going out to have dinner. There's free wifi in this lounge (but no connection in the rooms).

The hostel is situated in a calm neighborhood, but it's easy to walk to the commercial center (maybe around 15 minutes by foot). There's also the subway if you're too lazy to walk. The area around the hostel might look a little bit boring, but there are actually some nice restaurants and bars very close. When checking in, the very nice and helpful receptionnists gave us a homemade map of the area with recommandations for nice restaurants, bars and shops.

It's possible to get breakfast in the lounge for about 500 yen. It's a simple but very nice breakfast that includes homemade bread and jam, good coffee and juice and some yogurt.

There's a small laundry facility on the big rooftop terrasse. It was actually quite nice to sit and relax on this rooftop. Not many guests were using it when I was there, so I did some yoga up there (they even provide a yoga mat if you didn't bring your own).

This place is a close to perfect place to stay, but some things could have been better:
- the walls between the rooms are thin and not very sound proof (not easy to do something with this since it's traditional japanese walls)
- there was no hand soap available
- wifi is not available in the rooms (only in the lounge)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydensvein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thankfully a Japanese guy on his way home from work helped me find this place since it's quite discretely tucked away. The beds in the dorm are queen size (I think, definitely bigger than singles) and the air con and showers are top notch. The staff were very helpful and quite chatty. It's about 10 minutes walk from the cool America Mura area and just a couple from the Guillotine (the best bar and bar maid in Osaka).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner in the dorm rooms and loved it!

The place had a nice atmosphere especially in the common area. The staff were really nice and always willing to help. They gave us a local map with some suggestions for Osaka and there is also a blackboard in the common room with upcoming events in the area. It was always relaxing to come back to the common room which had nice music playing and plenty of books to read.

The dorm room was nice but quite small, there wasn't really room for the suitcase next to the bed but I would say that's the only downfall. Lights out is at 11pm and they don't turn the lights on til 11am but it's quite easy to get ready for the day in the bathroom area.
If you need your own space or lots of space for your luggage I would recommend your own room, but for 2 days the dorm suited us quite well.

It is about 5minutes from a subway station making it easy to get around. Plus it's only about 15-20 minutes walk to the main shopping district of Shinsaibashi.

Definitely going to recommend this to anyone staying in Osaka! Just a friendly, laid back and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

So this is where we stayed in Osaka. Hostel 64 is a budget design hotel right beside the heart and soul of Osaka. You’ll see by the pictures that it does have that “trendy” effect but it’s not just this place… it’s the whole area. Next door is Shinmachi and is the equivalent of the Shoreditch of Osaka but it also stamps it’s own identity here. You’ll see small independent boutique shops selling hats, shoes and jewellery (Japanese styled of course). Hair and Nail Salons… and finally eateries of all kinds from your Wholefoods equivelent selling expensive rice crackers to “English” team, cute little bakeries, high end Mochi shops (we loved the Rasberry Mochi from Omiya in Kishiwada!) to a very Italian influenced restaurant scene. It was so nice to walk through the maze of streets and stumbling across all these different places. At one point Alex even said “Shall we move to Osaka?”… to which I didn’t reply because I thought she was being serious!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silmonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just back from Osaka, where I stayed 3 nights at the Hostel 64.

Can overall recommend it, nice atmosphere, would go there again.

They have a nice reception and lounge with free Wifi and tea making facilites.

I had japanese double room (with large window facing a quiet street) for myself (which makes it a bit expensive, but all other rooms were booked). My room was bright and sunny, but I could not open the window.

It was a japanese bed, but comfortable..

It was not super-clean, but clean enough for me, nothing to complain.

Postive points
- close to metro station (lots of stairs to walk! Could not find an elevator ...).
- very friendly staff
- nice lounge
- non-smoking
- bike rental (great idea!)

some critical comments
- very steep stairs (not easy with heavy luggage, but the staff will help you)
- paper thin walls (beware of snoring neighbours!)
- some rooms windows facing just a wall of staircase (I do not like that, but not an issue for everybody).

From Shin-Osaka Station it takes about 40 Minutes with the Metro (incl. transfers), from Osaka-Station ca. 30-35 Minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss-Flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#85 of 307 in Osaka
224 reviews
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
#2 of 239 in Osaka
162 reviews
Osaka Hana Hostel
#5 of 239 in Osaka
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drop Inn Osaka
#6 of 239 in Osaka
198 reviews
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 239 in Osaka
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 64 Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 64 Osaka

Property: Hostel 64 Osaka
Address: 3-11-20 Shinmachi, Nishi-ku, Osaka 550-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 239 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 64 Osaka 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed Boutique Hostel in the central Osaka, Japan. Friendly staff will welcome you! Please enjoy the atmosphere and interior decoration of this charming building renovated by local architect designer. There are three styles of rooms. -Purely Japanese tatami room (futon mat / Ryokan style) -Western style bed room -Dormitory (very spacious and higly independent) Located in walkable distance to Shinsaibashi, Minami (the shopping and nightlife area). 5min walk to two subway stations. Good access to Kyoto, Kobe and Nara. 1 and half hour to KIX by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hostel 64 Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing