We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel 64 Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel 64 Osaka
Ranked #16 of 176 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Charming place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

It's inexpensive & very close to shopping area. Charming & clean rooms. I'm not a fan of shared bathrooms but theirs are very clean & each one has its own character. Staff was nice and speak really good english.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maripot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    42
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
39
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although the website direction wasn't exactly clear for directions we should head coming from one of the train stations, we still made it there with the help of locals. We got to osaka around 6am in the morning, and check in isn't until 3, and the hostel doesn't open doors until 8am!! however we buzzed up and the desk worker still got out of bed to let us drop off our luggage! We felt so bad for dropping by so early. We came back around 8 and showered before venturing out to kyoto for the day. The massage chair in the lounge will be the best 200yen spent in japan, promise! The bathrooms and bedrooms were impeccably clean. This place is highly recommended, even if your NOT on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvcamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hostel 64 is aesthetically amazing. Everywhere you look there is something beautiful including the four unique showers and the book shelves. I wanted to have some of the wallpaper and the furniture in my own home! Staff are friendly and helpful and provide you with information about the surrounding area including the fact you can walk to a lot of areas (Dontonburi, Shinsaibashi) or ride there on the bikes that they hire out. The lounge is very comfortable to relax in and has free wifi, a massage chair (200 Yen) and heaps of books and magazines on Japanese design, architecture and style. I only wish I'd had more time to read my way through them all. We stayed in a Japanese style double and it was very roomy. Great value as it's so cheap!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights just after new years in the deluxe dorm. I think the staff at Hostel 64 are their greatest asset, they were all extremely friendly and really helpful.
Unlike the previous guest's experience everywhere seemed to be closed just after new years so I couldn't experience all the cool bars and restaurants. This hostel is close to 2 subway stations making it easy to get around the city. Alternatively it's about a 20 minute walk to the main shopping area and Shinsaibashi. By subway it takes about 20 to 30 minutes to get to Shin Osaka.
I really appreciated the curtains separating each bed giving you a small piece of privacy. The hostel also provides towels and a safety deposit box. The showers are good, warm and powerful but in the winter they need to close the window because at 7 or 8am in the morning it is extremely cold!
If you stay I'd recommend the massage chair, 150Yen for 20 minutes.
This is a good hostel if you are on a budget. Their is no lift and the reception is on the first floor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_thorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked of the internet and spent 3 nights here. The sense of functionality and design detail is really well thought out. A converted 60's office building with everything you need including a roof top relaxation area and a comprehensive library.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flatstanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Hostel 64 is very conveniently located away from 2 subway stations but more importantly it is located within a very cool area of Central Osaka. Fabulous bars and restaurants all contained in a map from reception are within a couple of minutes walk and Hostel 64 is located very close to central Osaka's ritzy clothes shopping district. I don't think Lonely Planet knows about this spot of Osaka as it's not mentioned in their book but the area and Hostel 64 definitely made our trip to Osaka very enjoyable!! Rooms are very clean and mostly quiet . We stayed in the double bed which was the best mattress and pillows we experienced for the whole trip. Lounge area is a good place to have a drink, talk to other guests and staff and browse through a wonderful collection of design books. Staff assisted us to visit a nice hot springs area in addition to being wonderful throughout our stay. My only regret is that we didn't make use of the bikes they have for hire. Although I agree breakfast could have been more substantial it wasn' t a big inconvenience. I would definitely recommend a great stay in Osaka at Hostel 64!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Beautifully designed with very friendly staff. Conveniently located 2 stops away from Namba and 3 stops away from Umeda. Be sure to grab a map from the front desk with recommendations of restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Drop Inn Osaka
#5 of 176 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 176 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Osaka Hana Hostel
#4 of 176 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khaosan World Namba
#7 of 176 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Toyo
Hotel Toyo
#9 of 176 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 64 Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 64 Osaka

Property: Hostel 64 Osaka
Address: 3-11-20 Shinmachi, Nishi-ku, Osaka 550-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 176 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel 64 Osaka 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed Boutique Hostel in the central Osaka, Japan. Friendly staff will welcome you! Please enjoy the atmosphere and interior decoration of this charming building renovated by local architect designer. There are three styles of rooms. -Purely Japanese tatami room (futon mat / Ryokan style) -Western style bed room -Dormitory (very spacious and higly independent) Located in walkable distance to Shinsaibashi, Minami (the shopping and nightlife area). 5min walk to two subway stations. Good access to Kyoto, Kobe and Nara. 1 and half hour to KIX by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Rakuten so you can book your Hostel 64 Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing