We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
114
21
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
21
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews korea town tatami room korean food food stands okonomiyaki a great place to stay ten minute walk tsuruhashi guesthouse dorm station
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 139 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Hiro’s Guesthouse

Have stayed here on multiple occasions, and whether staying one day or one month it seems to be my first choice when in Osaka.
(Long term stays will deliver better rates).Location is culturally significant with a blend of Korea and Japan, and is situated on busy shopping street full
of diverse, serendipitous food stalls, restaurants, and cafes. ( Satomi, my choice for the best Okonomiyaki in Osaka is just 5 minutes walk.) There is a cafe and kitchen within the guesthouse which gives you a good place to hangout and meet some locals, or just cook your meals.
I think this guesthouse is a relaxed, and comfortable place to explore Osaka from, or, as i often do, use as a staging point to explore further destinations in Japan.
Hiro, the owner, is a warm, nomadic character who gives freely as an informative terminus with regards to your proclivities in japan or Korea.
Nothing deleterious here; except the saki. :)

Room tip: tatami room
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
Thank berg757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

This was my 3rd time at Hiro's guest house and it just gets better everytime. Lots of delicious restaurants right next to the door, public baths, convenient store, supermarket and so on.
Go there and discover a unique place. You won't be disapointed

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

This is the 3rd time at Hiro's place and we always come back. The area has FANTASTIC food. OMG okonomiyaki!!! Just ask him. He always is so helpful with anything we need and the place has such a chilled atmosphere. I couldn't recommend enough.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

I haven't been to them all so I can't say for certain. Hiro is a great guy. I stayed with him for 6 months! I should know. His rate is perfect enough to be both affordable.... yet keep out the riff-raff. Hiro keeps the place clean and tidy. When I was there, he allowed access to the laundry machines on the ROOF! He runs a cafe/bar, most days, out of the first floor with the guest quarters on floors 2 and 3. He has 1 private room for rent. And the rest is bunk/barracks style that was good for me. This place is a bit off the beaten path. About 12 minutes fast walk from Tsuruhashi station. Also, he can be a stickler about electric usage..... i.e. shutting off lights and keeping the heater down. Good food along his 'korea town' road. The neighborhood is lively during the day... but then becomes a ghost town at night. But access to the main entertainment areas, from Hiro's, is about the same as most other guest houses.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017

Every time I come to Japan, I make sure I stop by Hiro's Guest House for a few days. Its got a good location in Osaka and is surrounded by many amenities. Hiro is always willing to share his knowledge of Osaka, in particular the surrounding suburb of Tsuruhashi. Hiro can tell you exactly where the good food is. I also always recommend this place to my family and friends as it is consistently excellent! Please use Hiro's guest House as your accommodation in Osaka!! I promise you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annawski28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews