We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent living place”
Review of Carpe Diem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carpe Diem
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We are a 12 people group from Taiwan and come to stay here for 2 days. Misa give us all the rooms and therefore we share 4 rooms with 12 people. The room is big enough for 3+ people. We have a wonderful experience here. Besides, due to the reason we came here on April, we saw Sakura blossom here. It's very beautiful with the traditional and classical restaurant. The only drawback to live here is that it takes about 10 min to get here from the subway station. However, it's safe to live here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank momo8055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

The garden and the surrounding house is simply gorgeous. It's absolutely exceptional that such a place survived the waves of real estate promotion in Osaka. The result is that today, you can enjoy living in a big traditional Japanese home at the heart of Osaka, close to transport, with very friendly owners (who speak English and French!)

Do get the loft if you can, the view on the garden is sublime, and the room in itself is great as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CromoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a lovely quiet oasis in Osaka. It is located outside the main city centre but around 15 minutes walk to subway stations for easy access. I found it difficult to find initially however. The rooms were huge with a small shower and we. The garden setting is very nice. It is located on the flight path for an airport so there is some noise, however this seemed to stop overnight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely quite location, beautiful garden. The place is not far from many restaurants, shops and Osaka castle. You do need to take transports to go Osaka's main attractions (Dotombori, America mura...). We stayed in the HUGE tea room for 3 days. Our hosts were both friendly, helpful and welcoming. Having stayed in other minshukus, we found the place was a little bit overpriced but otherwise very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fabien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Lovely stay, the ryokan is located within walking distance from Morinomiya & Midoribashi subway line and it's located in the middle of residential area. We stayed there for 1 night - which is tea room facing the pond and the garden. The room are really big, however, the shower room are a bit small. Towels, shower, shampoos are provided. What I liked most is waking up to the calm and serene atmosphere, even it can be pretty cold at night.

Upon check in, Misa & Franck are really nice and inviting. They recommended a nearby udon shop where locals frequent, and we find it really yummy and delicious. Upon check out, Misa's son is really helpful, driving us to the nearest subway station.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This ryoken is located within walking distance from a train station and in the middle of a residential area. The ryoken itself it pretty, with the traditional sliding doors and wooden flooring that you need to remove your shoes to walk on. Towels and shower foam was provided, but as with ryokens, will not be changed during your stay. The rooms itself were large, but the toilets were tiny. The bathroom was literally located in a closet and the heating did not reach it, which made bath time less appealing. The smallness of the bath stall also meant that unless you were comfortable with putting on your clothes in front of your room mate, you would have to be very careful not to drop them on the floor when you balance them on the sink. Wifi was free, but patchy and slow. It's a nice place to stay still, but the small kinks marred the experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in March 2013. My spouse and I were hesitant as we never stayed at a place like this before but Im glad we did. Misa was really nice and inviting. When we first checked in it was late at night and we were hungry, so Misa suggested an udon shop nearby but we had no clue how to get there. Misa generously drove us to the restuarant and even offered to pick us up but I felt that was really going too out of her way for us so we just figured it out how to get back, but her generosity was very much appreciated. What I loved most was waking up to the calm and serene setting. Also what I loved was that we were far from tourst areas and were living among locals. I loved strolling through the neighborhood everyday just taking in the culture and everyday life in Osaka. We stayed in the tea room which was great and the most private. It was cold especially at night but with the doors closed and the heat going we were fine. Again a pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, it's not even a question of if but a question of when.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackBoriken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 333 in Osaka
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 333 in Osaka
1,239 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 333 in Osaka
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem

Address: 3-2-14 Nakahama, Osaka 536-0024, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Osaka
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carpe Diem (ima wo ikiyo, Seize the days) is located at the heart of the city, but still manages to stay as a calm and relaxing place. While in Osaka, Carpe Diem offers you a Japanese-style residence that has maintained the rich history of older homes. We also offer activities and classes including Japanese calligraphy, Kimono wearing-"Kitsuke", Soba buckwheat noodle making, Mizuhiki-knot workshop, Japanese home-cooking and Tea ceremony. Inquire us for more details. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing