We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A recommended hotel! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #27 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A recommended hotel! ”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

For sure I recommended this hotel. Strategic location and great museum.
I was here with my family and friends (a total of 5 adults and 4 kids) visiting osaka and universal studio osaka.
It was a pleasant stay and as the location is very strategic so it was easy to go around using JR.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    836
    196
    44
    28
See reviews for
587
523
151
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We travelled to Osaka as a group of 4 (2 Adults & 2 children), the location of the hotel next to OCAT very handy. The triple room we booked is clean and spacious and the view is stunning. The fridge is empty ready for you to stock up your choice of grocery from the convenient store downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honsan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel Monterey Grasmere, Osaka, Japan

While the location of this hotel is strategic, the management and cleanliness of rooms needs to be drastically improved. We stayed in this hotel from December 30, 2013 to January 3, 2014. Upon entering our room 2807, I immediately felt disappointed at the small tight room and the cleanliness of the room. The carpet, seemed closer to gray as the original red pattern was so much faded. I was walking around the bedroom in my white athletic socks and was surprised to see them turn dark gray after about 20 minutes of going around unpacking. The side table where the phone rests and the room desks had spots of stickiness.

After coming from our Hotel in Tokyo, this was a major letdown. I went down to the front desk to inquire of a possibility to change rooms, but the front desk staff, a Ms. Watanabe said I need to pay more from our current double room to a twin room. I said why would I need to pay more when the prices I booked for were the same, I wanted a queen bed instead of 2 beds. I reasoned out, that I booked 7 rooms, as I organized a group of 18 pax for this trip. Maybe out of exasperation, she raised her voice that a change would be impossible. She did this in front of other guest lining up to checked in which embarrassed me. As a paying guest, I don't think I deserved the treatment, and if it wasn't possible to change room because they were full, so be it, but it should have been communicated in a better way. This is very un-Japanese, as all through our stay, we only had good things to say about the Japanese people. To think that she works in the hospitality industry, she needs to undergo customer relations training. I wrote the General Manager of the hotel immediately the same day to report the incident but until today I have not heard anything from him.

On the eve of our departure day I was hoping to pay for our bill as we had to go to the airport bus station(OCAT) at 6:20am but that wasn't possible because the statement of account will only be available at about 3am. I came down to the front desk to settle our room charges at 5:45am. Since I have excess Japanese Yen which I didn't need, I wanted to use the JPY as payment instead of the credit card. When I checked in on the 30th, I already informed the clerk that checked us in that I want that payment flexibility.

To my surprise, the person who attended to me, a H. Iwaki said that my bill was paid already when I inquired by whom, he just said it was paid. I insisted that they may have used my credit card voucher that I signed when I checked in, he said "NO". His colleague, a Mr. K. Inada joined in and said that there was nothing they could do because it was paid. I explained that the reason why I want to pay in cash is to use up the leftover JPY and avoid unnecessary foreign exchange charges that the card company accrues to any FX charge.

Being in the Front Desk, it is assumed that they can speak English to be able to communicate with their foreign guests, but in this situation, they used it as a defense by saying it has been paid and I have no choice but tho accept the situation as is. To make matters worst, they were snickering and smiling "in a insulting way" as I was taking the lift back to my floor. I also wanted to clarify why I had extra charges in my bill for Universal Studios ticket purchase, when my daughter who bought Universal tickets and paid the hotel in cash and therefore should not be included in the bill. Again, they could not give me a logical explanation. I will just take this up with my credit card company separately. Afterwards, as I recounted my experience with my companions, they also complained about the same treatment, including not being given the choice to pay cash instead of the forced credit card payment.

This experience made me decide never to return to this hotel nor recommend this hotel to anyone unless they change their management policies, which includes their treatment of guests, cleanliness of rooms and choice of payment arrangements.

Trip Advisor has always been our basis of choosing where to stay from experiences of other travelers and I am just sharing my own.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hilda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is my 1st time staying in the Kansai area, and Hotel Moneterey Grasmere Osaka did not disappoint me at all.

The staff can speak quite decent English, rooms are big and clean.

The view is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is a great choice for travellers to Osaka. We took the train from the airport to JR Namba station (changed at Imamiya). When you exit, you can see the sign to the hotel to your right, beside Doutor. It's a couple of minutes from the exit up escalators and a lift to the foyer on Level 22. The chapel is gorgeous. The views also lovely.

We booked a twin room for a bit of extra space. There was plenty, especially by Japanese hotel standards. Everything was clean, I just thought the décor was a bit dowdy (personal observation). Loved having a bath as well as shower. Vending machine on each floor but no ice (reception will deliver). 1 English channel on TV (BBC) but you aren't there to watch TV.

The location was very good. We caught a lot of trains (using JR Namba means more changes, you could walk to Namba-Nankai to reduce this) and it was a 10 minute walk to the Dotombori area. We didn't experience any dining in the hotel, there are so many restaurants within walking distance. We had breakfast at Doutor near the JR Namba exit and utilised the shopping centre and other restaurants without even having to leave the building. Very handy!

After a big New Year's Eve, we appreciated their deal to extend check out to 4pm for 5000yen. Great value and so worth it since we had night flight back to Australia.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Rooms were small (as with many hotels in japan) however it was the best hotel we stayed during our journey. Close to dotonbouri and the jr train. Staff were friendly and know very basic basis english.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel has excellent location only being 10-15mins walk, if that from Nanba and Dotobori areas i.e. whole bunch of restaurants and bars in the area. Food recommendations by staff were useful although I would have preferred more down and dirty for the okonomiyaki. Room not huge but fine, pajamas a nice touch. Did not eat or drink at the restaurant, does not look like there were late night bars in the actual hotel but plenty of options nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendatface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 309 in Osaka
765 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 309 in Osaka
1,374 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#29 of 309 in Osaka
634 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 309 in Osaka
1,897 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#66 of 309 in Osaka
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing