We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel close to Dotonbori and underground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #26 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice hotel close to Dotonbori and underground”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms are decently spacious, everything was clean, it is a nice touch to offer pyjamas for the duration of your stay. It is a very short walk to Dotonbori, and the closest underground station entrance is just outside the hotel. There are also supermarkets and bakeries nearby for any provisions required. The staff were friendly and able to accommodate our requests even with our limited Japanese-speaking ability.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    839
    197
    45
    28
See reviews for
589
526
153
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in October 13. The hotel is located in a very good location, very close to JR Namba and airport bus terminal (OCAT). There is a supermarket nearby and it's closed at midnight. Dontomburi are 10 mins walk. If
you have big luggage, take airport limousine from the airport to OCAT is easier than the train, 45 mins and only a short walk.

Room Tip: No lotion and shower cap provided, pls prepare your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuaBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked a 3-bed room. Location is just above JR Namba Station and next to OCAT station. Getting to hotel from Kansai airport was easy. However, we arrived late at night (11pm) and information counter at OCAT station was already closed. There were no signs to direct us to the hotel. Luckily, there was a station staff and a security who guided us. If you get to the correct exit, the hotel is just next door. From Osaka-Namba station, head for A12 exit. No problem with luggages as there were escalators from the station to the hotel. Takashimaya was within walking distance, nearer Namba-Nankai station. Dotonbori was 5mins walk away where there was abundent good eats.

There was a large supermarket just downstairs which opens from 9am-11pm. We could get milk, breakfast and coffee all downstairs so no need to spend 2000Y on hotel breakfast. Having said that, hotel breakfast was not too bad. We tried that the first day as we needed to leave early to Kyoto and didn't know what was available outside since we arrived late the night before. I especially like the Japanese style porridge.

Rooms were basic, adequate size and very clean. Toiletries were also basic. No body lotion provided. The beds, although single beds, were large. Probably super single size. I could've shared one single bed with my 4 year old. Didn't really need the extra bed.

Service-wise, the hotel lacked English speaking staff. The bell-captain, probably spoke the most fluent English. (He helped me with sending our big luggage to our hotel in Tokyo for the next leg of the trip.) I had asked the staff how to get to the hotel from airport before travelling but instructions were not clear. I also asked if I could get breakfast from nearby at 8.30am the next day but the reception staff said restaurants open about 10am. I later found out that there were many breakfast places around the train stations and also just at the basement floor below the hotel. I think the staff probably couldn't understand what I was asking.

Overall, the hotel has a good atmosphere. It had a new and modern lobby, although the price was more of a 4-star hotel. I would recommend the hotel for its good location and value and I would stay here again if I go to Osaka.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel has a good location (just a short 5 min walk away from the main street dontobori where all the action is). Rmb to check exactly which train exit (JR line exit). There are many train exits and it can be hard to locate if you dont know exactly which. We took the airport train that dropped us off at the main Namba station, not the JR exit we wld want to get to the hotel, so we had to google map and walk for about ten mins. once we sorted it out it was easy. i suggest google mapping and keep your head up for a tall building w the hotel's name for the first time- subsequent times when you go out and return it shld be easy to locate.

hotel itself is clean, has enough space for our two luggages and a bit, bathroom even had a tub. our room had some kind of a view over the city which was nice. staff could speak enough english to communicate w you.

there's a daiki right next to the hotel, a multi storey japanese store, w a great pet section- pet items as well as live animals. also sells all sort of household stuff. i think we spent more time in daiki than dotonbori, which felt a little touristy actually.

p/s: at the end of dotonbori, while walking towards this hotel, you'll see a beer/octopus ball open air place. they serve the BEST 'house' beer on tap i think. if anyone tries and knows what it is, pls help us ask them! we really regret not knowing. it was nice to sit there and chill, the staff are young and friendly. recommended!

Room Tip: ask for room w a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellosailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent location. Direct airport bus no. 11 to CCAT which is located very near to the hotel. The hotel is easily recognise in namba area. The namba walk is full of nice and affordable restaurants. There is a supermarket downstairs and the cooked food is half price after 7pm. There is a wide range of food to choose and the local people also buying them. Room is spacious for Japanese standard. Will stay in this hotel again for my next Osaka trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leowkiatpeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this location for two nights (Room 2640) as part of a group, therefore I cannot reliably comment on value for money as I don,t know how the actual cost per night was factored into our overall rate.

A lift took you took the main reception and check in was easy as handled by our group leader.

Our room was a reasonable size and we could walk around easily even with luggage on the floor.
Had a good City View, Wi-fi in the room and usual amenities provided in a Japanese hotel.
Our room had a more modern feel and decor than some that we stayed in and was clean with a comfortable bed, instant hot water and excellent water pressure.

The Station is basically at the bottom of the building and therefore very convenient.
There are plenty of alternative eating options within the Station complex plus a well stocked supermarket.

I cannot comment on breakfast in the hotel as we did not elect to eat there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A step above a typical Japanese business hotel, and a step below a true luxury hotel. Breakfast and the views were very good. The room was small and boxy, as expected. The only hitch was at check in. To speed things up, I usually hand over my business card in lieu of filling out the address form. The lady at reception tried to bully me into filling out the form--a typically Japanese insistence on procedure and a very un-Japanese breach of politeness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 316 in Osaka
774 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 316 in Osaka
1,383 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#27 of 316 in Osaka
638 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 316 in Osaka
1,913 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#61 of 316 in Osaka
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing