We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #27 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Room small but i think same everywhere in Japan. Location is good, many restaurants around the area, also OCAT, JR train just next to hotel. We have difficult in finding the hotel, when we reach OCAT from airport, there are many exit of the bus station, hence we dunno which exit is correct. We walk a big round only found it. And the hotel is located at 22nd floor, hence you have to take lift up to 22nd floor then only can confirm hotel is right here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    836
    196
    44
    28
See reviews for
587
523
151
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The attitude and the service I received at lobby was awful.
The desk clerk didn't show the respect and didn't provide the service well!!!!!
She got a long face.
Maybe she was in a bad mood, but I couldn't accept a front door serve this kind of service.
I won't stay at the same hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Tu Hsuan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Hotel Monterey Grasmere is conveniently located right on top of Namba Station (which services both JR and Metro lines, making it a convenient hub to get round the city from). The Hotel does not begin until about floor 8 or 10, so you just take the lift up to the spacious reception. This hotel is nicely, but somewhat strangely, modelled on an English Country Manor, and features a full sized Wedding Chapel in the main atrium. You can play a fun game of 'count how many sheep you can spot' in the hotel! The furnishings are all very comfortable, and the rooms were clean. The bathroom was generously sized by Japanese standards, with shower over bath, basin and toilet. Unfortunately we could not adequately control the temperature in our room, which tended to be extremely hot! The staff were friendly, and we checked in easily with our online booking voucher, but we did experience some language difficulties when making enquiries face-to-face.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kato_80_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Getting to the hotel was fairly easy on the JR, but I heard that the bus was even easier to use, but definitely took a lot longer. This hotel is in a great location, really close to downtown Osaka. It was close by to everything we needed, including great food, supermarket, and the nightlife is right there. The hotel itself wasn't bad and the people were friendly and helpful. However, my room was a smoking room and they didn't have any other extra rooms that were non-smoking. Luckily we were only staying there one night. I would really recommend this hotel, but make sure that you specify that you would like a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen2seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights for a shopping and eating trip. We got a wonderful deal on Agoda, about 50% off, which made this hotel excellent value.
It's very easy to find, being next to the OCAT bus terminal from both Kansai and Itami airports. The lobby is on the 22nd floor, and is slightly quirky, with a wedding chapel in the lobby! Very Japanese :)
Our room was on the second-highest floor, so we got an amazing view which allows you to see just how HUGE Osaka is! I like the fact that you must swipe your room key to access the floor-- good security. The room is big for Japan and the bathroom- standard plastic style common in Japan-- is spotless and the amenities provided are extensive: toothbrush, toothpaste, vanity kit, hair brush, etc. I also like the fact that the window opens a little to allow fresh air in.
Sleep quality was excellent -- I didn't hear a peep from anyone, and housekeeping staff were also very quiet.
We spent a lot of time in the exciting areas of Shinsaibashi and Dotonbori, easily accessible to the hotel on foot. There is a Life supermarket downstairs, so you can get any snacks or breakfast food easily.
We did consider the rather exorbidant 1800yen for breakfast, but found it finished too early for us at 10:30am.
There is a massage service for a decent rate but it is only in-room, and as I was travelling with my other half, I opted against it. There are quite a few reasonable Shiatsu massage places around the hotel where you can get a great, professional massage for about 3000yen.
We had a late flight so staff were happy to keep our luggage after check-out and even helped us by providing scales so we could check our heavy bags after all the shopping we did :)
If I got the same kind of deal again, I would definitely stay here on future visits. The rack rates are quite steep-- look out for good deals on the internet.

Room Tip: All rooms are on high floors, so you can get a great view from any room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location is very good for traffic, and the quality of this hotel is good, except the service
of the desk. The workers on the Desk are lack of enthusiasm of service.The best way to
stay in this hotel is to book in advance,then you can get the best price. Also you have to
check the informations about the traffic for JR ,subway or bus to Airport, to avoid to ask the
Desk's workers, because they lack of enthusiasm of service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaTaipei_Taiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are four adults who had two rooms here for five nights in January, 2013.
The location in Namba is excellent for access to transport and closeness to lively parts of the city. Namba underground train station is enormous, but exit 30 (near the blue Yotsubashi subway entrance) is right at the hotel door so you can stay underground in cold weather when travelling around.
Namba station has access to two city subway lines, so it is fast and easy to get to major attractions like Osaka Castle and the wonderful aquarium. It also has the JR line connecting to other cities. The Namba Nankai line services Kansai airport and also Koyasan (a lovely day trip), and the Namba Kintetsu line connects to Nara (another day trip). All of these can be reached underground from the hotel.
It is also an easy walk on the street from the hotel to the fun Dotonbori district near the canal for restaurants, Shinsaibashi for shopping and Nipponbashi for food markets and Den Den town electronics district.
Also at exit 30, right under the hotel, is a great supermarket, if you want to make a simple breakfast in your room, grab a bento box for a quick meal or buy some snacks.
The hotel is actually the top 9 floors of a large bulding, so reception is on floor 22. This can be a bit disconcerting at first, because you have to go up one lift to reception, then another lift to your room. The good news is that it is very private up there. The twee "English Cotswolds" styling is not an issue; it is really just a standard international hotel with a cosier atmosphere than most. The church is there to cater for the "western style" wedding business.
The hotel is arranged on a U-shaped plan, so the outside facing rooms have stunning city views, while the inside facing rooms only have views of other rooms. We had one of each. No need to say which was better.
Our rooms were compact, but spacious enough, with an armchair and small table, and a desk, the usual kettle, etc. There was hanging space for clothes. The bathrooms were small, but not so as you'd hit your elbows on the walls as some Japanese hotel bathrooms can be. Everything was very clean. I liked the strange bean-filled pillows, but my son said it was like a wet sandbag. We liked that the windows can open about 15cm, so we had the option of letting in some outside air. The beds were fine.
The service here is very agreeable for a large hotel. We asked for umbrellas one day and some extra pillows another day, both of which came quickly and with a smile. We also used the excellent luggage storage service on the last day so we could check out at 11am and still have a day in the city before our late flight.
The price was very good for the quality of the hotel.
Overall, for us, this hotel was great value, convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: Outward facing rooms are far superior, if you want a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brekatosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 307 in Osaka
765 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,373 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#29 of 307 in Osaka
633 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 307 in Osaka
1,896 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#66 of 307 in Osaka
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing