We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel well located in Namba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I chose this hotel because it is located in Namba. Initially I made a comparison of where to stay in Osaka. Namba vs Umeda. After reading many reviews, I decided to stay in Namba. I chose this hotel solely because its location and value. Not that expensive but yet looks really comfortable and it has so many good reviews. Plus it has a direct airport limousine bus straight to Kansai airport.

The lobby of the hotel is located on the 22nd floor (funny how all the hotels that I booked has its lobby located on the mid-floor of the building). Hotel looks really classy but kinda weird at the same time. It has a gothic concept with medieval interior design. It even has a medieval church inside its building itself. Yes, INSIDE the building. The time when we checked out, there was a wedding ceremony going on and I saw a beautiful bride in her white wedding dress with the groom and also a minister to sermon the wedding ceremony.

Our room located on the 26th floor is quite small compared to our hotel in Tokyo. But it has a fantastic Osaka city view. The bathroom has just enough space for a bathtub, a sink and a Japanese toilet (Yey!). Comes with 3 sets of toiletries including a hair clip but no shower cap. They provide pyjamas which is sooo comfortable and comes in size L too if you're a big size person. Funny how they left a note - Pyjamas can be bought at the lobby for 5000 yen. I assume it is courteous hint so that guests won't bring back the pyjama home. If you want to take it home, just buy it at the lobby, for 5000 yen.

Free Wifi is always a bonus especially if its a good hotel.

Cons
Bathroom a bit too small.
If you are arriving from Osaka station using bullet train, you have to change 3 times to arrive JR Namba. Quite time consuming during our Kyoto day trip.

Pros
Nearby Minami and DOtonburi
Just above JR Namba station
Airport bus limousine just 1 minute walk from the hotel so this makes an excellent hotel if you arrive from Kansai airport.
Has concierge - so we parked our bag after checking out and explored Namba while waiting for our flight in the evening.
Got great rates and promotion at the time we booked.

Room Tip: High room is always a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Randomly picked this hotel, arriving in Osaka at the conference. Beautiful entrance, reception area on the 22nd floor, clean albeit small rooms. A very convenient location, in the "live" downtown. And of course the spectacular view of the huge city. Surprised specially built for the church wedding on the 22nd floor of the building .... In Japan, with its lack of space on the ground like it's easier ...

Room Tip: Check the numbers - Smoking or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Algentsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is located adjacent to JR and subway stations and the shuttle bus that goes to Kansai airport. Check-in is on the 22nd floor, as is the English chapel, which is pretty bizarre. As are the ceiling fans in the elevator for that matter.
The rooms were relatively spacious and well-furnished (nice carpeting, wall coverings and linens). Very comfy beds. Nice selection of reasonably-priced mini-bar goods.
No fitness facilities - the hotel is a bit of a wedding factory, but still a great place to stay. We thought it was a great value. We appreciated them over-looking our 45-minutes late check-out (they offer late check-out at 1000 yen/hour).

Room Tip: We had an interior-facing room, but at the end of the corridor, so we had a great view of Osaka as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giromondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Straight from & to airport with OCAT (coach to/from Kansai airport) located next to the hotel. No need to drag your luggage all over the trains. Well located in Namba. Walking distance to all, the food & entertainment centre; Dotomburi; Namba walk; sinsaibashi market. Couple of subway stations to most places. Can make day trip to Kyoto, Nara, Kobe, Minoo, etc.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank laosiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For people who want to stay close to the action in Osaka, this central hotel is highly recommended. It is about a 15 min ride north to Shin-Osaka's bullet trains or south to Osakako's cruise liner port, right next to the OCAT station for airport transport, and there are 4 or 5 subway & train lines within a few minutes' walk. Dotombori's thousands of restaurants & shops are 10 mins stroll away. There were numerous other things I liked about the hotel. First, it is new & looks nice but the cost (US$220 for 3 adults) was reasonable. Internet including wifi was free. Mini-bar drinks were cheap - $4 for a beer by hotel standards is a bargain. The views are great since rooms start from the 23rd floor. The rooms are clean, quiet with comfy beds. The basement supermarket has all the food & drink you could want. We really, REALLY loved the Teppanyaki lunch in the hotel restaurant. Superb views of the bay area as the chef expertly grilled fish, steak and veges on the gleamingly clean hotplate. After 25 years in Japan this was the best - and cheapest - teppanyaki I've ever had and at under $50 a head. I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nagoyafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We found this place by searching a hotel next to JR station and it is located right on top of it. Very easy to walk there. Takes about 5-10 mins to Namba/Dotombori. Perfect spot for all ages. Rooms are very clean and great view over the city of Osaka.
Lobby is lovely. A bit westernized but clean and chic. Staff are very helpful. Free wifi in your room and lobby.
P/S Check on toilette by the lobby. Creative little spot :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandbikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in 2 different rooms. Firstly the views are amazing! regardles of which side of the building you are in, you're in for a treat! you're either seeing Dontombori and over Kobe.. really breathtaking. Only complaints, are the check in time could be a bit earlier 3pm is a bit unfair to the early check ins, however they do mind your bags if you want to venture out. The pillows were so hard and uncomfortable! beds were fine, however i had a hard time sleeping on those pillows..

Room Tip: Ask to be in the dontombori view or any levels from 27 up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernicakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#21 of 342 in Osaka
1,994 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 342 in Osaka
826 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 342 in Osaka
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#27 of 342 in Osaka
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $123 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing