We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #26 of 315 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here in May 2011 en route to a cruise leaving from Kobe, Japan. It was situated next to the OCAT bus and train station and therefore very convenient. I enjoyed a buffet breakfast each morning and was able to choose many Western breakfast items including good coffee. I had a single room which was perfect for my needs. Some of the front office staff did not speak English but they were always able to find someone who could help me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a modern hotel in a good central location.

Room Tip: I book my room through Expedia and got a really good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patthetraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    839
    197
    45
    28
See reviews for
589
526
153
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2011

convenient location, elagant decoration, comfortable room. can't even ask more with this fair price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is the first hotel that I stayed at with a good Tripadvisor ranking where I disagreed completely with the gist of the reviews.

First, the pros: I agree about the location being excellent, the supermarket in the basement, and the ease of getting to the airport.

However, where I disagree with the reviews:

1. The air conditioning can't keep up. As I sit here, the thermostat in this room is set as low as it will go. However, the temperature won't go below 74 degrees. Today, when I got back from our travels, the AC wouldn't go under 77 degrees. The AC simply can't keep up. Admittedly, it was over 95 degrees today, but this is no excuse. The hotel is new, crappy AC should not be an issue. You insert your keycard into a slot to start room power. I can't tell if it cuts off the AC, but our room was baking today when we got back.

2. There is no concierge. I don't know what other people see, but I see a big empty desk in the lobby. And the people at the front desk tell me " No Concierge". This to me is an issue. This is supposed to be a nice business hotel. Hotels of this class are supposed to have a concierge. Other Japanese hotels i have stayed at in this price range recently have had concierge desks.

Other notes: Rooms are Japanese small. Remember to bring an ethernet cord for your laptop as connections are wired, not wifi. Views are great. Japanese style vending machines on your floor sell Asahi beer for Y350.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RoadGeek76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Read all the great reviews on TA for this hotel but it still far exceeded what we expected in terms of design, comfort, convenience and most importantly, value for money! The hotel's design is modern and sleek mixed in with old world European charm by way of tasteful pieces of period furniture & of course, the little chapel in the lobby! Being just a few years old, the hotel still looks and feels spanking new & they have great views of the city. The beds & pillows were perfect ( too many hotels pay little attention to this important detail ), the location very convenient & the breakfast selections in the huge grocery found at the basement below were a huge plus. After walking around Osaka and seeing the other hotels we also considered before choosing the Grasmere, it most definitely proved we made the right choice! Have already sung its praises to anyone planning on a visit to Osaka..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marga_philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We spent our last night in Osaka here as there is an airport shuttle bus-stop right beneath, which turned out terrific and very convenient especially since we got heavy luggages from all the shopping. The hotel is also directly above a JR station so if you need to take the JR to other parts of Japan then this is a great location. Overall, the hotel was very pretty and the lobby was so grand with a little church on the same floor. But...the room was small - but I suppose expected for Japanese standards.

Other than the location, however, there really isn't much reason to stay here unless you are transitting to other places and / or geting very very good deals. The location is a little off and makes it very inconvenient to travel around Osaka. And Yes, this hotel is pricey even for local standards.

Room Tip: Check on Japanese online hotel-booking websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Location: From either airport (KIX or ITM), take the limobus to OCAT. The hotel is connected via JR Namba Station at B1 level so take the elevator there to walk across. The hotel is also practically next to Osaka-Namba station (convenient for Nara), and about 5 to 10 minutes from various subway lines. The most happening part of Namba is within 10 minutes but the immediate vicinity is quiet at night. If you take Nankai Airport Line from KIX, walk in the underground walkway towards OCAT for 10 minutes.

The bonus point of this location is the supermarket at the basement level that is open from 9am to midnight daily. You can get drinks and food at a much cheaper price than convenient stores. We went every night to pick up fruit, snacks and drinks. Certain things are discounted after 8pm. There is also a bakery that is open even earlier at the entrance to the supermarket. A McDonald's is located within JR Namba station on B1 level across the JR Service Center.

Reception: On the 22nd floor, it's large and airy. There is also a "church" complex that is used for weddings. Front desk offers professional Japanese service as usual.

Room: Card key (swipe type) is required to access the actual floor outside the elevators. All rooms are located at the 25th floor or above, giving a nice view of the city. The standard twin room (23m2) has decent size by Japanese standards and the bathroom has enough space and shelves. All facilities are modern. Shower has excellent pressure. TV offers mostly Japanese channels with the exception of BBC, which was stuck in Japanese despite pressing the bilingual button repeatedly. Note that previews on the paid TV had adult content so parents might want to ask the front desk to block it. Soundproofing was excellent. One complaint is the blanket was made with material that wasn't breathable so despite the room being at a comfortable temperature, the blanket could make you feel rather stuffy during sleep.

Business Service: Consistent with most Japanese hotels, it has free wired connection in the room. Downstairs, there are two paid computer terminals with rather expensive charges. You can rent a PC for 2 days for just 1,050 Yen which is a much better investment.

Value: The rate was 46,000 Yen (around USD575 at the time of writing) for 4 days, including a Saturday which is 50% more expensive than weekdays. As a Jalan member, I got a 10% discount using points reducing my rate to 41,400 Yen. It's a very good deal for such a location quite close to central Namba. I would opt for Fraser Residence next time for a bit more space and a location right at the heart of Namba next time though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SammyF1oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
895 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel occupies the upper floors of a Nanba area high rise. It is very clean and comfortable. Service is excellent, even by Japanese standards. The hotel is modern and appointed in a western European style. It is in a good location close to the south Osaka tourist/shopping/nightlife areas. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants because there are lots of options in the area. It is a good option when using Kansai airport. It is right next to the OCAT express bus, which is the best way to get to and from the airport to this area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 315 in Osaka
773 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 315 in Osaka
1,383 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#28 of 315 in Osaka
638 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 315 in Osaka
1,910 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#62 of 315 in Osaka
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 315 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing