We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff! ”

Cocon (Wainya Cocon)
Ranked #193 of 38,337 Restaurants in Osaka
Price range: $14 - $23
Description: Enjoy drinking Japanese wine and sake accompanied by a variety of music. We offer unique foods arranged in the Japanese style which go great with Japanese wine and sake. Come and enjoy our unique cuisine that you cannot experience anywhere else.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy drinking Japanese wine and sake accompanied by a variety of music. We offer unique foods arranged in the Japanese style which go great with Japanese wine and sake. Come and enjoy our unique cuisine that you cannot experience anywhere else.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We went here for dinner on our first day in Japan. The owner tried to explain all the must do's in Osaka and Kyoto. He was so friendly and so was the girl behind the bar. Even the customers were helping us! It was such a heartwarming welcome and we are so happy that we picked this restaurant. The food was delicious, try the octopus and the garlic edamame, yum!

Date of visit: March 2019
6  Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Found this place by accident whilst wandering around Osaka aquarium. So glad we did, dropped in for a quick drink but stayed for several hours and consuming many beers. Lovely atmosphere and Nabo is very knowledgeable about the Osaka area and also Japan he also speaks very good English. The food he served was delightful and traditional. Would definitely recommend Cocon and will come here again when we next visit Japan.

Date of visit: March 2019
8  Thank 392granth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

I have been living in Osaka (Tempozan) for about 9 months and I will go here several times each month.

I enjoy the food tremendously but the shining star is the roast beef dish.
It perfectly medium rare and tastes amazing. I could eat this over and over again forever!

A great selection of drinks and the hospitality is exceptional.

If he can the master will help you with directions, local knowledge or anything else his English is very good!

I look forward to next time!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Cocon is a terrific and intimate Wine Bar that serves Tapas style Japanese food.

The owner, called "Master" by locals, creates tasty dishes that change seasonally. He also speaks English quite well, and the menu is available in English. The staff is always right on top of it, so service is fantastic.

Try the duck in wine sauce - it's delicious. Or the pork chops - or the roast beef - or the octopus on potato - or the Buffalo wings - or.......honestly, I've eaten everything on the menu and have never been disappointed.

It's also an excellent place for small group meals and parties.

Tell Master that Brian sent you!

Date of visit: August 2018
9  Thank BrianRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

It was totally by chance that I entered this place. People were really nice and the food was as tasty as beautiful to see.
It was a great pleasure to eat there I definitely recommend !

Date of visit: July 2018
11  Thank eugeniebouniol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocon (Wainya Cocon) also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Minato, Osaka
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Cocon (Wainya Cocon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing