We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Osaka Namba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Ranked #27 of 295 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've been there for 5 days trip. The location is perfect, shopping area is just outside and walking distance to metro station called NAMBA. Room is always clean and reception staffs are helpful. No need to have breakfast in the hotel unless you are in your business trip, otherwise, you can find more traditional Japanese food in that shopping street with a really nice price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinashine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

We are really glad you enjoyed our hotel and Osaka.

Our hotel is located in downtown of Osaka,
We guess all customers enjoy shopping, eating and so on.

Also convenience store 7-11 is inside the hotel and opened for 24 hours.
Even though it is mid-night, customers purchase foods and drinks.

We are looking forward to seeing you some time.
Thank you very much.

Recepton: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    381
    79
    13
    11
See reviews for
148
293
69
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel itself is very good, has a 7-11 in the lobby which makes it very convenient. Only thing is the location is very close to red light district area of Osaka, so expect escorts along the streets near the hotel. Area near the hotel is rather dirty for Japan since it is the red light district area of Osaka. Very cheap though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caithlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and Osaka.
We try to develop the services for all customers.

Our hotel is located in main place of Osaka,
It is really convenient for shopping, eating, and drinking.

Any suggetions for our hotel's services, please tell us any time.
We are looking forward to seeing you some time.

Thank you very much.

Reception: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The location was extremely convenient. We could have late dinner nearby. The decor and size of the room were better than the typical Japanese hotel rooms. There were enough sockets (at least 4 in my room) for charging up electronic gadgets. Though there was a Eco-friendly" label in the bathroom, the hotel wasn't environmental friendly enough. The disposable slippers / toothbrushes were changed daily though we stayed there for 4 nights. No shower cap was provided (how come!). Things in the grocery store opposite the hotel were much cheaper than the convenient store inside the hotel. Hotel staff was ok but we didn't really ask for any help apart from checking in and out. The neighbourhood of the hotel wasn't decent as it was inside the red light district. Many people were wandering in the street where the hotel was located. But they didn't bother us (probably because my hubby and I walked hand in hand). Will recommend friends try this hotel...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank your for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

We are glad you enjoyed and Osaka.

As for the amenities, thank you for your honest opinions.
We have to consider for environmetal matter.
This would be our assaignment.

Our hotel is located in Downtown of Osaka.
So many people are wandering around our hotel.
But it is really safe and really convenient for shopping, eating and drinking.

we are looking forward to seeing you some time.
Thank you very much.

Reception: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was in a fantastic location, so close to Dotonbori. The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms clean and comfortable and a good size by Japanese standards. There was a convenience store in the lobby which was also very useful. We thought the price of the room was very reasonable considering the location. We would definitely go back and will recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room, make sure you specify. Our room stank of smoke but the staff were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizglass_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and Osaka.
Our hotel is located in a main place of Osaka,
So it is really convenient to do shopping, eating and so on.

Convenience store is in our hotel and opened for 24 hours.
When need some foods or drinks, it is really convenient.

We are looking forward to seeing you some time.
Best gegards.

Reception: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The room was spotless. The receptionists were efficient. Everything worked. The location is ideal. The bedding was comfortable (we later discovered that this is rare in Japanese hotels, where pillows are often like bean bags, and mattresses are often hard.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6R4H4M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

We are really glad you enjoyed our hotel and Osaka.
We try to entertain all customers on a basis of customer's opinion.
Any suggestions, please tell us any time.

We are looking forward to seeing you some time.
Thank you very much.

Reception: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Good price and location

Free WiFi is <56k.

Late night staff is rude and not helpful. We were treated as a nuisance for wanting the WiFi fixed and pretty much dismissed. Got back late one night and didn't know you had to swipe the card for the main entrance. Front desk gave an incredulous look and walked briskly back without even a greeting. They always greet as is customary. Younger daytime staff is very pleasant.

English speaking is minimal among staff.

Rooms are decent and clean.

They do not carry maps of Osaka, only of Namba. Every other place we stayed in Japan offered a full map of each city.

TLDR: Great value and location. Bring your own WiFi. Avoid late night staff if possible.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

We are really sorry for making you uncomfortable by a attiude of night staff.
We have a conversations with all night staffs for servises again.

As for entrance, we notice to be required a room key in front of door.
Basically We had to notice when you check in, but we are sorry for that.

All rooms are used WIFI, but sometimes it doesn't work by something error of WIFI system.
In that case, of course we try to activate and try to solve that.
We are really sorry at that time.

Thank you for your honest opinions.
Any chances to Osaka, we are looking forward to seeing you some time.
Best regarads.

Reception: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Right in the heart of Dotonburi, Hotel Vista Grande is a great choice if you want to be in the thick of Osaka action. And when I say action, I mean action... nestled delightfully at the entrance to the red light district an area replete with restaurants, bars, nightclubs and, well, ladies and trannies of the night, Hotel Vista Grande really has it all. You will have enough to do and see that you probably won't need to use the subway.

The main suggestion I would have for the hotel is to hire an actual concierge. The staff are friendly enough but are not the most useful at giving advice about things to do. The rooms are smallish, but the beds are comfortable, temperature control works well, the shower is very functional with high pressure and limitless hot waters and the mirror in the bathroom even has a heated rectangle to prevent it from fogging up while taking one of those 35 minute showers! Just south is the huge Namba market and the gargantuan Takashimaya shopping center.

You won't go hungry around here -- there's a restaurant for roughly every 4 sq. inches of the area. There are some really great bars too -- explore the side streets and alleys, and remember to look up! Most of the really great finds are on floors greater than 1!

This is not the best hotel you will ever stay in but it is clean, comfortable, and beyond convenient. It's a great place to make your base for a fabulous Osaka visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manndras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaGrandeOsaka03, フロント at Holiday Inn Osaka Namba, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Vista Grande Osaka this time.

we are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and Osaka.
Our hotel is located in a main place,
so it is really convenient for eating, shopping and so on.
we guess every customer enjoys Osaka.

As for guest room of our hotel, we try to make convenience on a basis of customer's opinion.
If you have any more suggestions, please tell us.

We are looking forward to seeing you some time.
Thank you very much.

Reception: Shoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 295 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ibis Styles Osaka
Ibis Styles Osaka
#61 of 295 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 295 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Osaka Namba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Osaka Namba

Property: Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Address: 5-15 Soemoncho, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 295 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Osaka Namba 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, getaroom.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Osaka Namba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing