We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 253 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Miranda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hostel is great, just like the last J-Hoppers we stayed at in Hiroshima. Word of warning though - if you're on one of the top levels, there are a lot of stairs to climb with bags! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    97
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
45
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hostel was easy to find and was in a quirky little bit of Osaka. Near Fukushima station so was ideal for travelling to other places in Japan. Whilst there we went to Kyoto, Hiroshima, Universal Studios, Nara and Miyajima Island as well as exploring what Osaka had to offer! Staff were excellent and were very friendly. The services on offer were brilliant and it felt more like a home from home. Would definitely recommend to anyone as it has everything, even WIFI. One fault is the paper like walls. We were next to the 3 out of 4 showers and it they were in use 24/7.

Cheers J-hoppers

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linniejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2009

the hotel is in a very good condition. the bed is very clean and comfortable. twin room contain 1 bunk bed and has enough space for 2 large luggage.

bathroom and toilet are clean and convenient. there're 3 private bathroom in the 3rd floor.

the location is great. 2 mins walk from JR fukushima station which is the station next to osaka station.

there're many restaurant and convenient store around the hotel.

staffs were very kind and they have a good advise for you.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toon_thi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed here overnight when we arrived from Sydney on October ‘08. The lady from the reception was really nice and very accommodating. Convenient location, 5-7 mins walk to Fukushima station and lots of places to eat. Our room was clean and the bunk beds were absolutely comfortable. There was enough space for our luggage and for us to move around inside the room. Toilets & Shower rooms were clean. The only thing is, the walls were so thin you can clearly hear the conversation from the room next-door, other than that nothing to complain about or whatsoever. Was happy with our 1 night stay. :)

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — wooden floor, thin walls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank summerkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

booked from the j-hoppers in Hiroshima.
Another great little hostel, slightly put off by the bunk in our western style room (think all the japanese ones were taken), but very pleased with the service, cleanliness, and everything else at j-hoppers Osaka.

  • Liked — Super friendly staff!
  • Disliked — bunk bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank guygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I stayed in Osaka for three nights. And I found this hostel on hostelworld.com. The feedbacks of this hostel are really good so I sent e-mail to it directly and booked the room.

I stayed in the twin room with my friends and it was really nice. The room was very clean and not small. Apart from the bed, there are two chairs and a desk provided. But the female dorm is a bit packed. The shower and bathrooms are very clean. The shower gel and shampoo are provided!

The location is not bad. There is a small supermarket nearby and a big one can be reached by 10 minutes walk. Convenience store is just next to the hostel.

The hostel is just bout 3 minutes walk from JR Fukushima station or 15 minutes walk from Osaka station. Most places can be reached easily by the transport at Osaka station. I usually took the JR train to Osaka station and changed there to reach other places. And it took less than an hour to Kyoto. So I went to Kyoto for a day trip! The staff was very helpful and friendly as well! They were patient and helpful to answer our questions and show us the way.

One bad thing is you need to carry your luggage upstairs. But with this price and quality, this hostel is highly recommended!

  • Liked — Price and staff
  • Disliked — stairs!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winnie_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hanshin
Hotel Hanshin
#53 of 315 in Osaka
432 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#39 of 315 in Osaka
732 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 315 in Osaka
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drop Inn Osaka
#6 of 253 in Osaka
200 reviews
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 253 in Osaka
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse

Property: J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse
Address: 7-4-22 Fukushima, Fukushima-ku, Osaka 553-0003, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 253 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the finest guesthouse / hostel in the funniest city. The 3rd J-Hoppers hostel was opened here in Osaka in January 2008. A former bachelor quarters has been remodeled into a fully-appointed backpackers guesthouse / hostel. It is a 15 minute walk from Osaka central station and also good for a day trip to Kyoto, Nara and Kobe from Osaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing