We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 316 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the hostel at the end of my trip last October. It was such a pleasant stay that I regretted only staying for 3 nights! The place is pretty easy to find and relatively close to the train station. There are a lot of restaurants, bars, kombini/supermarkets and even a karaoke place nearby.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful too. They went and greeted us when we just arrived and will happily help to explain to you if you have any questions about where to go in Osaka. The lounge area provided a great place to chat with other guests and the hostel also provided events for guests to be able to mingle. The hostel also provided a point card which you can use on your next stay. You can get souvenirs or a free bike rent for a day. Cycling is a healthy and cheaper option to go around the city.

Room Tip: Since it was my last stop, I stayed in a private room so I can rearrange my luggage without any dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a total of 6 nights at the end of May/start of June. One of the best hostels I've stayed in - it's very clean, there is coin-operated laundry and dryer and a place to hang your clothes, there is a small kitchen you are free to use to make your own meals, a supermarket close by, good location about 3mins walk from Fukushima station which can connect to pretty much everywhere in the Kansai region, but above all the staff make it the best. A big thank you to Keiko, Ayana, Meg, Mr Yano and the other staff for being so accommodating and helpful with everything - I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saree_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything is kept clean in this hostel.
I arrived at the hotel after 10 pm, yet the staff kindly explain all facilities. Location is close to Umeda, center of Osaka city. Japanese style bars (Izakaya) are available right around the hotel.
I'd like to stay there next time, too

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumpysaaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very good journey to this guesthouse! the staff is amazing and we met a lot of wonderful people.we stayed 5night and we had a lot of fun! this is close to the station, very clean and the neighborhood is quiet with a lot of convenient store and restaurant.
Their is lot of events organized by the staff by day or night.
I recommend this hostel to all the backpackers!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiLy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Unfortunately I was only able to stay 2 nights here since they were booked solid for friday/saturday. I like to see that a good hostel is doing well.
The hostel is in the fukushima area really close to the Fukushima station on the loop. There is some nightlife and lots of food options in the area but it is a couple of trains from Dontonbori area if you want to check out that area at night. Remember, the trains stop at Midnight so plan your evening carefully.
The hostel is very clean. The beds are on average size as with the room. There are som organized through the week to bring people together. There is a nice living room area that I didn't know about until after my stay. There is a coin operated washer and dryer for needs and lockers on a couple of the floors but not all the floors.
The stairs can be punishing on the feet so wearing the slippers might help with that. The size of the common areas can be small with a large amount of people there but it does make it easier to talk to people since they are right there. Met a lot of friendly and fun people from all over (australia, singapore, netherlands, england, traveling for their own reason from vacation to training for the libero position to get into european volleyball league)
The staff was great. Keiko always cheerful and greetings always uplifting to the spirit.
Overall, I'd like to put a 4.5 on the rating when all is said and done but since that isn't possible

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank 1wilson_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Based solely on accommodations, I would give the J-Hoppers Osaka a 4. The neighborhood is nice, with plenty of little places to eat and shop, and it's right next to the Fukushima stop on the JR Osaka Loop. The room was clean and spacious, even if the beds were rather uncomfortable (but not so out of the hostel expectation). There were plenty of toilets and showers, and free wifi and computer use in the basement.

The service is what pushed it to a 5. Three examples: first, I wanted to see a bunraku play, but the tickets were sold out. While I eventually gave up on seeing the play, the staff were knowledgeable and helpful in finding out how to contact the theater and possibly get some sort of rush ticket. Second, they hold various events designed to take you around Osaka and get an experience no tour guide will ever give you, such as a weekly pub crawl and traditional Japanese art class. Third, a friend left one of her souvenirs at a shop. The staff called the shop, had the souvenir shipped to the hostel, and shipped it to her home in Hong Kong.

Stay at J-Hoppers Osaka and you will have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckgalrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's close to fukushima station(jr loopline), 7-eleven and around J-Hoppers you can find alot of restaurants (some have an english menu).

The Staff is really helpfull, as they know alot about Osaka, but also profite information about the cities around osaka. They really want to help you to have a good stay!

We had a twin room, a bunkbed, desk, 2 chairs, ac, mirror, slighting door. The downside of jh is the price. Twinroom is 3000 yen a person (so times 2 if you're a couple), a double room is 2800yen a person and a dorm which is 2500Yen a person.

Overall a lovely place to meet people and to learn the culture!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
2.4 mi away
Fuku Hostel
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 316 in Osaka
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drop Inn Osaka
Drop Inn Osaka
#5 of 316 in Osaka
238 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
#3 of 316 in Osaka
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hostel Mitsuwaya Osaka
Hostel Mitsuwaya Osaka
#4 of 316 in Osaka
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osaka Guesthouse Hive
Osaka Guesthouse Hive
#15 of 316 in Osaka
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tani9 Backpackers Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse

Address: 7-4-22 Fukushima, Fukushima-ku, Osaka 553-0003, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 316 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range: $22 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the finest guesthouse / hostel in the funniest city. The 3rd J-Hoppers hostel was opened here in Osaka in January 2008. A former bachelor quarters has been remodeled into a fully-appointed backpackers guesthouse / hostel. It is a 15 minute walk from Osaka central station and also good for a day trip to Kyoto, Nara and Kobe from Osaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing