We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostel in Osaka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 177 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel in Osaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April, and really enjoyed it. The rooms are great, staff helpful and friendly, plenty of bathrooms, a cute kitchen area, basement with couches etc, and a wonderful rooftop area. I would defiantly stay here again when in Osaka.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukunbanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
43
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

J-Hoppers Osaka Central was a great experience for my friend an I, J-hoppers a very welcoming place with extremely friendly staff and great facilities. Will definitely return next time I travel too Japan

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Quite simply this is the best hostel I have stayed in so far. Firstly its well located next to Fukashima station, one stop from Osaka main train station. The rooms are small but the bedding is comfy, clean and new. I satyed in a 3 person dorm which was just about the right size-I`m not sure what the 8 person dorms are like.The showers and toilets are the cleanest I`ve seen in any hostel and the staff are excellent-they have good recommendations about what to do in Osaka and they all speak English very well. However, the best part of this hostel is the events they put on for their guests which makes it very easy to meet other travellers and also local Japanese who come to the international exchange event every Friday. In short if I came back to Osaka I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I've slept in a double and a 3 person room. I've found the beds, futons and sofa beds easy to sleep on but a friend of mine found the sofa bed uncomfortable.
It's in a very convientent location as it's one stop away from the main Osaka train station.
I've stayed here twice and will return to one of their hostels next time I travel.
It has a good atmosphere and the staff saved us from sleeping on the streets one night (they only had a double left but let us three girls add a futon to turn it into a triple). I wouldn't recommend trying that in a lots of places though, even if you throw money at staff many will not want to 'break the rules' and do that. So, thank you very much J-hoppers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilernats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Easy to get to, centrally located.

Large rooms and enough toliets and showers that I didn't have to wait.

Would stay here again, especially with the tie up they have with other J-Hoppers and Hana Hostels, that gives you vouchers/coupons if you stay more than a certain number of nights.

Clean, safe and cosy which is the main thing!

Steep stairs and I didn't see a lift, so take that into account if you don't like/can't climb stairs.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here in November 2010 and found the hostel to be fine. Japanese hostels are the best in the world in our opinion so the standards are pretty high. This place was not the best we stayed in but it is still a nice place to stay. Lets be honest all we want is a clean room, clean bathroom and a place to chill. This place has all that so enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in a 3 person dorm as that's all they had left so had another girl sharing with us (slept in the day, out at night??). It was clean but not that roomy and everything just seemed a bit narrow. The Kitchen was well equiped and it has internet (you have to pay). There's a tv area downstairs and they hold little workshop things, such as origami, kimono dress up etc, so very firendly. The location is good also as it's a 2 min walk from Fukushima JR station. The cost is good and you get a J hopper card with rewards if you stay a certain amount of nights in any of there hostels. Free umbrellas too which was good as it tipped it down :)

Room Tip: book before to get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 296 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hanshin
Hotel Hanshin
#54 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#45 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drop Inn Osaka
#5 of 177 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 177 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse

Property: J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse
Address: 7-4-22 Fukushima, Fukushima-ku, Osaka 553-0003, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 177 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the finest guesthouse / hostel in the funniest city. The 3rd J-Hoppers hostel was opened here in Osaka in January 2008. A former bachelor quarters has been remodeled into a fully-appointed backpackers guesthouse / hostel. It is a 15 minute walk from Osaka central station and also good for a day trip to Kyoto, Nara and Kobe from Osaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your J-Hoppers Osaka Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing