We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami
Nearby Hotels
$370
$332
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$670
$621
StRegis.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Osaka(Osaka)
$318
$293
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$314
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$301
$208
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$484
$457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$156
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$263
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$273
$145
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
11
72
31
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
72
31
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain linefew minutes walkdryerlobbyjapanluggagestation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 117 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was glad to have chosen to stay at Toyoko Inn in Yodoyabashi-eki Minami. We knew to adjust our expectations given the ~¥7,000/night price and since we had stayed at two Toyoko Inns back in Tokyo a couple of days ago. Nonetheless, we were still amazed by how much we got for how little we paid.

Clearly it is nowhere near your usual 4-star or better hotels but it's kinda like a budget flight where you get exactly what you pay for. We also saved quite a bit by signing up for the Toyoko Inn Club Card at our first Toyoko Inn in Korakuen, Tokyo. Do consider this especially if you are going to stay a few nights in Toyoko Inns.

We had all the basics required, including a comfortable bed, well-placed power sockets, small kettle, adequate toilet, tasty breakfast and computers available for use in the lobby.

Yodoyabashi itself seemed like a pretty boring (quiet) place even though it was near Umeda. We didnt mind it at all. In fact we liked it since we took the Hankyu Railways from Kyoto (cheaper than JR and Shinkansen) and the train arrived at Umeda which was one stop away from Yodoyabashi. Hence we were quite happy that we didnt have to spend too much time on the crowded subway trains with our enormous backpacks and luggages.

One small drawback was the Wi-Fi which did not work on the floor we stayed on, i.e. 4th floor. We were a little bummed initially but got over it since it meant we spent less time on our smartphones and more time talking to each other. Gotta go easy on the internet since we were on vacation!

I had a little trouble locating the exact location of this Toyoko Inn cause I did not make a correct turn. Nonetheless the walk to the hotel was still within 5-7min!

In all, I would greatly recommend this hotel to those on a budget. You really can do a lot worse than Toyoko Inn.

Room Tip: Consider signing up as a Toyoko Inn Club Card since it offers 5-10% discount on room rates.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richiemccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

First of all, Trip Advisor may want to change the hotel name for its actually Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami.

I did not expect much as this hotel came packaged with my budget flight. True enough, as the reviewer before me wrote "set in a faceless street of Osaka". But coming to its defense, you must remember that this is a budget business hotel located in a business district.

That aside, check in was smooth and staff very accommodating, especially considering I don't speak a word of Japanese. Rooms weren't as big as Ritz Carlton down the road I suspect, but hey, remember what you paid? This is Japan! Hair dryer, a pot to boil water, a safe, LCD tv, pant presser, pajamas, a heater that works well, a writing desk with 2 chairs, in-room massage, good water pressure and good all round lighting. Hmmm, what more can you ask for? It was adequately equipped, prompt daily room service, had free fast internet and surely served its purpose as a resting place.

Only gripe I can possibly have with this place is that breakfast on all 5 days were 90% the same. Cafeteria is also way too close to the lobby giving a total lack of privacy while eating.

A bit about the surroundings. Directly opposite (like 10 seconds walk) is a 24hrs convenient store. So that's a plus. Subway entrance to the red Midosuji line is just 5 minutes away. The nearest one being Exit 8 on the Yodoyabashi Station. One station up and you'll be in Umeda / Osaka Station which is the main station to transit to practically any part of the Kansai region.

Restaurants are aplenty within the vicinity of the hotel. If you wanted entertainment, you can walk south towards Hommachi, Shinsaibashi and Namba where hundreds if not thousands of shopping streets, a huge variety of yummy restaurants and night life awaits you. Alternatively, if walking is not your thing, take a subway down those stations in that order. Cost - 200 Yen.

I had a blast of a time with my wife. The hotel was not bad. I got what I paid for.

Room Tip: Depends on your definition of a good room. My tip would be this - keep your expectations low and rooms here will serve you just fine.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasonGAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Set in a faceless street in the dullest part of Osaka, this is a place that only students could put up with. Tiny cell-like rooms that you wouldn't want to spend 5 minutes in awake, 70's decor (and not in a good way) with a cream coloured integral plastic box bathroom with public convenience pump soaps completes the disappointment. It has a lethal step which you forget about in the middle of the night, stub your toe on and crash into the tiny bath. They had more room in Das Boot. When you open your suitcase, it's bigger than the bed, but there is no room for it on the floor and no wardrobe. I swapped the awful 4th floor room with a view of a wall through the wired windows for the same sized one on the 8th floor with a partial view of the street if you stood on the bed. The 2 plus points are: free high speed internet (plug in, only - no wi-fi in Japanese hotels) and unnervingly accurate bumwashing toilet. All floors above the 8th are smoking floors - One can only imagine how depressing that experience would be. Staff speak no English whatsoever... Only worth mentioning in that when asked whether the tap water was drinkable, they had no idea what I was talking about - and the mini-bar is an empty fridge. You need to buy your water over the road in the 7-11 before you go to bed. Avoid unless desperate.

Room Tip: Make sure you get some kind of view to stop you feeling incarcerated.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews