We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for visiting Universal Studios” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Keihan Universal Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Ranked #33 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for visiting Universal Studios”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent the very last night of our holiday in Japan here, travelling by train from Kyoto to Universal City, and found it to be a real treat. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and offered a great view of our destination for the following day - Universal Studios Japan.

The staff at Universal Tower were very helpful. After leaving our luggage stored securely at the hotel upon check out, we spent the next day at Universal Studios before taking the 3.30 pm shuttle bus from nearby Kintetsu Hotel to the International Airport for our 8.00 pm flight back to Australia.

It cut our day at Universal Studios a bit short but we found it long enough to experience the main attractions, especially as it was easy to get to the park right at opening time as it was only a five minute walk from the hotel.

We found our stay at Universal Tower, and visit to Universal Studios, to be a fun way to spend our last night and day in Japan. If we decide to go to Universal Studios again in the future we will again book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower.
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. Whenever you plan to visit Univer Studios Japan or plan any Osaka City tour in the future, feel free to stay at our Hotel. We hope that you could extend your stay next time. If you Have any other inquiries, please don't hesitate to contact us any time.
Thank you for taking a time to write a review.

Marlon C. Cunanan
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    452
    137
    49
    26
See reviews for
599
130
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Currently staying in this hotel but looking at other hotels even thought it will be an unnecessary cost. Hard beds, sheets that have ruined my skin even though I've never had an allergic reaction and untidy/ unkept rooms. Very unhappy!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KGTeacher82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a night in this hotel.Nothing better than to be greeted with warmness of japanese hospitality. The hotel is located very near to the Universal Studio Japan and Universal Walk.It is also located next to the Universal City Station.There is a mart a groundfloor, and Starbucks too,if you need that warm hot cocoa in this winter weather.There is also a delicious sushi restaurant in front of the hotel.The price is very reasonable.
Room wise,I would say it is pretty standard for Japan,but there are still space for your bags.Free WiFi and there is a vending machine for drinks (costs you around 120 yen +/-).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RZN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked the rooms in June for my trip in Dec and I must say I got them at a very very good price from Agoda. Do get the breakfast option and the SUPERIOR room. It was very spacious with a huge bathroom (separate bath, shower and toilet area -- 37 sqm). We had 2 rooms on the 22th floor -- magnificent view of the Osaka Bay Area for one room and the Universal Studio view for the other room.

We stayed at the Universal City hotel (character room) on our previous trip and Universal Tower proved to be much much better.

The Lawson supermarket is pretty decent and well-stocked with foodstuff you can buy to fill tummies -- I quite like their sushi sets, fried chicken and pieces of "Yong tau foo" in soup (don't know what they call them in Japan! :) -- Good idea to buy back and enjoy in your (spacious) room if you want to avoid queuing outside restaurants or if you want to eat on a budget.

Getting there is super easy -- it's literally outside the JR Universal Station. Take the lift to the 4th floor where the hotel lobby is.

True, the reception didn't speak too much English -- but we weren't too bothered by that.

We bought the USJ tickets at the hotel in the morning -- no trouble at all -- and remember to use the "Guest card" to enjoy 10% discount at the F&B outlets in USJ.



Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FineCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, Front Desk Clerk at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower, responded to this review, November 30, 2014
Thank you for staying here at Hotel Keihan Universal Tower.

We are glad to know that you had a delightful stay in our hotel. We hope that you would choose to stay with us again during your next vacation here in Osaka. We are working on improving our business more to attend better on the guest needs. Feel free to invite your friends and family to stay here and experience the same warm and hospitable service that we offer.
Thank you for taking a time to write a review.

Marlon C. Cunanan
Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We made very bad choice to pick up this hotel for our stay in the Osaka.
Let me start with one little thing.Staff doesn't speak any English!!! However they know how to charge a credit card twice.Information were handle in Japanese as we clearly said we don't speak a word.Room very basic for 2 people.Free wifi that never work.expensive breakfast, however there is a Starbucks and many restaurant for a lunch (TGI fridays, burger king, all kind of japanese, thai, indian etc.)I guess it worth it for a family to stay day or two to visit Universal studio.However for exploring the Osaka city is very bad choice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient hotel if u plan to go to universal studio osaka. Easy to find food around the hotel. Hard rock, bubba gump, ramen, and also my fav ( takoyaki museum)
Guess it takes 5-7min walks to get the USO. Quite modern n big hotel. Nice bath equipment. Nice breakfast ( the had so many variety of food ) i would love to come to this hotel again if i travelled with my kids especially when theres any promo. Coz as u know the price is quite expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlingknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I took the bus from Itami airport and it was a mistake. It was a bit of a walk from the bus stop. The check in counter is hard to get to since it is on the 2nd floor. The rooms were spacious and the view was great. You only get one time free access to the Onsen(hot springs) so that was a bummer. No noise whatsoever so I had great sleep here.

The convenience store and Starbucks tend to get very busy in the morning with a lot of Japanese tourist as well. The food in the arcade close by is not so great and found it a little pricey. Train station is about 1 minute after you leave the main entrance so going to some other station is an option. Osaka station is 11 minute ride and Shin-Osaka station is 15 minute ride so I sometimes stay here for business trips when I have a good deal.

Room Tip: Don't try to book directly. You get better spot deals with other hotel sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepless_In_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Universal Port
#9 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Kintetsu Universal City
#69 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Hotel Osaka Baytower
#35 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hyatt Regency Osaka
Hyatt Regency Osaka
#24 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keihan Universal Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Universal Tower

Property: Hotel Keihan Universal Tower
Address: 6-2-45 Shimaya, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-0024, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#36 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Universal Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 641
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Keihan Universal Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keihan Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing