We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay here.”
Review of Yamatoya Honten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yamatoya Honten
Ranked #174 of 354 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed August 10, 2013

this place is very close to the subway, lot of stuff to do around the hotel, the hotel was perfect, bed madrass a bit thin but I got used to it. they didn't have a room with shower when I first checked in so I had to use the onsen in the basement, which was a unusual experience :)
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gurtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Front Office Manager at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and good coments.

We are looking forward to seeing you again as well!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived we loved this place. We stayed in a room overlooking the river and had a room with a bath. The room we had did have two western beds, but we requested futons for all three of us (self, husband and daughter). Our beds were ready for us by about 7pm each night. Hot Japanese tea was always available and there is a 'public bath' for use in the basement area (men and women are separate) for anyone who wants to enjoy an onsen experience. The location was great, close by to the subway and the shops. We didn't have breakfast at the Ryokan, but there are lots of places to eat for lunch or dinner. For breakfast we ended up buying food from the nearby Family Mart, but on reflection probably should have had at least one breakfast there on the first morning until we got our bearings.
I would definitely recommend this Ryokan for location, hospitality and service and for the experience of staying in a ryokan. It turns out that one of my work colleagues saw my status updates on FB and commented that she also had stayed there and loved it. All the staff are sweet and as with all our experiences with the Japanese people, they are all so helpful and polite.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor, overlooking the river. We had no problems with noise. Our room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyiieBHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your comment.
We are really glad to hear that. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for three nights in June. Excellent stay - really enjoyed the public baths, my daughter and I used them each night and recommend the experience. The staff very helpful and friendly. We had the traditional breakfast on our second day - which was excellent and we all really enjoyed the cultural experience. In terms of getting around - easy, close to subway, dinner, and entertainment. The staff put lovely little food and tea each day in the room and we all recieved a small gift on arrival - very very happy arrival to Japan.

The only criticism is the lift - sounds mad, but it the door is keen to close and slams shut despite people being in the door - doesn't tickle!

Room Tip: If you are western family - go with as many mats per room as possible - We went with six, in reflect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abigail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Reception at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

For what we paid, it was great value. We booked Yamatoya Honten because it was walking distance to Dotonburi and Shinsaibashi, and just a couple of subway stops away from the rapid train to Kansai Airport. We arrived at the hotel early and the concierge was only too happy to look after our bags while we spent a few hours at Shinsaibashi. Even though our room faced the afternoon sun, the aircon quickly cooled the room, Our Japanese room was large (8 tatami mat plus a 2-mat sitting room), so much so that there was heaps of space between each futon (2 men). Ensuite was immaculately clean. Thoroughly enjoyed the onsen in the basement - had the place to myself for over an hour - wished the water was hotter! Will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a Japanese room on the top floor - the higher you are, the less traffic you hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, Reception at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us.
Please come to Osaka someday.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Like many of the wonderful reviews regarding this hotel, I highly recommend that you should stay at this hotel. It is traditional and the experience is one will be remember and have joyous memories. My friend spoke to the man who puts out the futon's, said he was a darling and they had a great conversation. The staff at the reception desk, 2 ladies in particular, are fantastic. Welcoming, friendly and helpful. Location is fantastic. Staff are able to recommend where to have dinner if you ask. We were referred to Chibo (I think that is the name) and it was amazing. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I would put this hotel at the top of my list. Just read other stories regarding this hotel, they are true so go on, book it. :-).

Room Tip: On the tube from Shin-Osaka or Kansai Airport, take the Midosuji line (red) to Namba, change to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very glad you remember our staff well and had a
great time here. We also spent great time with you. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two friends (who are also a couple) on the last night of our trip to Japan. The staff of this Hotel were very helpful and accommodating and spoke excellent English (which was very appreciated).

We had a great nights sleep and the Hotel looked after our luggage when we checked out and went to visit the Aquarium.

Yamatoya Honten is in a great part of the City - great for going out in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trav3773r1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are very glad to here you had a great time here.
We are looking forward to seeing you here again. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Yamatoya Honten in a Japanese style room, our stay was excellent. The location is great, few minutes away from the Namba Walk entrance, plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel staff were more than helpful. We had the Kaiseki dinner with Kobe beef which was delicious and for a very reasonable price. Our room was tidy and neat, our " futon" were all set for sleeping after the different trips we had during the day.

I will definitely recommend this hotel as an industry professional.

Room Tip: Try the New Building rooms, great view on Dotonburi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tosako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2015

Thank you for staying with us.
We are happy to have you rejoice at that.
We appreciate your continued support.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Kuramoto
Hotel Kuramoto
#215 of 354 in Osaka
49 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 354 in Osaka
859 reviews
Onyado Nono Nanba
#45 of 354 in Osaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Relief Namba Daikokucho
Candeo Hotels Osaka Namba
#115 of 354 in Osaka
64 reviews
Namba Oriental Hotel
#28 of 354 in Osaka
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamatoya Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamatoya Honten

Address: 2-17-4 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Osaka
#26 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $105 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yamatoya Honten 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamatoya Honten is right near "Dotombri" the place that represents Osaka, also easy to go to Shinsaibashi (shopping area) and Den-Den-Town (electronics retailing area). It has Japanese style rooms and baths and there is the traditional Japanese atmosphere. We serve you the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yamatoya Honten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamatoya Honten Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing