We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly more pricey but WORTH IT”
Review of Yamatoya Honten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yamatoya Honten
Ranked #185 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is smack at the end of Dotonbori St in Namba, which is where the shops and nightlife of Namba in Osaka is. Rooms are very spacious and clean; service is extremely attentive. I had booked the smallest tatami room, but I'm guessing because they had vacancies they put me in a very large spacious room, which was gracious.

For getting there with luggage the closest station is the subway station which may be hard to navigate but not impossible, if not take a taxi. You can walk to Namba stn (15/20 mins), but it is a longer walk that usual and I wouldn't recommend it with luggage as it is smack in the middle of a crowded downtown (backpackers may be ok).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsubaki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

I and My Party of Friends stayed here during the Sukara Season in April. We thought it was fantastic. For one they are open 24/7 which made it a lot easier for us because our flight that arrived in japan did not land till 12pm. The hotel is in a prime location right next to the Shopping district - 5 minute walk and you are there. Endless shops, food and things to see.
The hotel staff we amazingly comforting, our Japanese was limited and their English was excellent, they were amazingly helpful when asking about local attractions and they have plenty of information as well.
We didn't eat at this hotel from the dinning room but always had coffee/tea in the morning at the cafe downstairs. The onsen they have is so relaxing also.
Hotel is super close to all major transport links - Trains, buses and walking.
The room we had was facing the shopping district and was relaxing to just sit on the window ledge and watch the world go by, great view of the river. Rooms were Japanese rooms in the older building, the futons were ridiculously comfy.

One thing i was disappointed by was the internet - limited to one crap computer and an extremely difficult to access WiFi system - That needs upgrading.
All over i Really recommend this Hotel - Excellent place to stay in Osaka and will be coming back.

Room Tip: Old Japanese rooms are comfy and have a good view of the river and shopping district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazz_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

You will enjoy being in the outskirts of a shopping district where you can enjoy the food and the nightlife by just entering small streets. We stayed in a room on the sixth floor with tatami mats overlooking a nice area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank presh_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was the second-last hotel I stayed at in Japan, but was by far the worst. When we checked in, we were put in what I could only describe as the gaijin-room. It was filthy. Even though I specified non-smoking preference, we were put in a smoking room. The room overlooked Dotonbori River, and the 'smoking' area of the room had stained carpet and stained doors. Every single door had at least 1 hole in it, and the door to the futon-storage closet was held on by tape. The room was immediately next to the older, very loud lift, which we could hear clearly from the room. We immediately went downstairs to complain, mostly about the smoking factor, to which we were told that yes, we could in fact smoke in our room (language barrier, perhaps). We were then told there were no more rooms, so we couldn't switch. I asked the staff-member to follow me to the room, and pointed out all the flaws, and he told us to wait a minute, then he came back and moved us to a room across the hall which was much cleaner, but also contained the fire-escape, and was facing the street, so every night we could hear the ambulances passing our room, and every morning the political vans would be out and about. The pillows are also ridiculously uncomfortable. They're the traditional Japanese style bead-filled pillows, but unlike the other traditional pillows we received elsewhere, these ones felt similar to sleeping on rocks.

The room was tiny. I stayed at a ryokan in Kyoto which was more than double the size (19 mats) for less than 1000 yen more a night. Granted, they did advertise the size as about 8 tatami mats, so that's my fault, but it's certainly not enough to fit 3-4 (there were 4 futons in the closet) comfortably. They have very few TV channels available, too, and none are in English, which might not upset many people, but since we'd spend 9pm-12pm awake in the hotel (usually with 1 hour alloted for skype), that left us with 2 hours of no free entertainment. Oh, and the only fridge is a pre-filled mini-bar which they kindly request you don't fill with your own things, which is in stark contrast to the other 5 hotels I stayed at, all with large, empty fridges basically begging to be filled.

The lobby is also extremely loud. We stayed around New Year's, so there were parties going on every night on the second floor, which would lead to many people leaving the hotel around 9 or 10pm, creating a ridiculous amount of noise. Since the lobby is the only place with Internet access, trying to use Skype was basically useless, since the chatter in the background would block out my voice.

Another issue I encountered was that staff members would happily enter the lift (elevator) with customers when they had their food carts. While I don't think it rude that staff members ride with customers, when they squeeze you in there so that they can move their stuff around, I think that crosses a boundary. At the above-mentioned ryokan in Kyoto, you had to ask the staff members to stay in the lift, because they'd rush to get out whenever a guest got in. At Yamatoya Honten, courtesy was clearly not a virtue. A staff member with a really phlegmy cough also got in the lift with me, coughing all the way up, which irked me just a bit, considering many Japanese people prefer the face-mask approach when they're sick. The other staff members were friendly, however. The people at reception were happy to help (though a few seemed a bit unhappy with us, probably because we asked to change rooms), and a man named (I think) Kazuki, who claimed to be the owner, but who dressed and looked like a cleaner, was extremely funny, and gave us some free snacks. Everytime he would see us he'd say hello, and he spoke with us about Australian actors and movies. Definitely the only up-side of this ryokan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GHartlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in December.
We arrived around lunchtime and we could go straight up to our room after checking in. We had a fantastic view overlooking the river and Dotombori area.
The staff were fantastic! You had to leave your key as you left for the day but staff were available quite late to be able to pick your key up (staff actually remembered us and knew exactly what key to give us without asking). And other staff were very kind. One staff member was very kind and chatty and would always wave and talk to us when he saw us.

The room was quite large and we had futons and a private bathroom. The futons were a little thin, but there were extra in the cupboard so we just doubled them. Staff will everyday would refill your sweets (free) and there was always a variety of traditional Japanese sweets.

Great area with plenty of shops and restaurants, with a variety of choices. Quite easy to get lost though (as we did, but we found the people of Osaka extreamly helpful!)

My only complaint would be the internet. This was the only hotel which didnt provide wifi during our trip in Japan (the other places we stayed varied from hostel to ryokan) and there was only one computer which seemed to not like some websites (yahoo mail) and slow.

Would come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elyssa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Yamatoya Honten. It was a reasonable price compared to other Japanese hotels and it offered a more traditional, Japanese experience.

The staff was so nice and they could all communicate effectively in English. It was comfortable, clean, and offered a beautiful view. Lots of nearby shopping and dining available.

I especially recommend this hotel to Korean English teachers making their visa run, because the Korean Embassy is about a half mile or a mile down the road. Definitely within walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtine132002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Visited Osaka with boyfriend and stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful from the moment we checked in, suggesting sightseeing and restaurants (a great kaiseki restaurant along Dotonbori street). The room was a little dated but actually we found it charming. It was big and very comfortable for the price. There are also rooms with a view over the canal. Locationwise its fantastic. Right opposite Dotonbori street, perfect. It has a small bathhouse too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmiliaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Relief Namba Daikokucho
Namba Oriental Hotel
#27 of 339 in Osaka
668 reviews
Onyado Nono Nanba
#49 of 339 in Osaka
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Kuramoto
Hotel Kuramoto
#216 of 339 in Osaka
48 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
#80 of 339 in Osaka
149 reviews
Hotel Mystays Otemae
#193 of 339 in Osaka
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamatoya Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamatoya Honten

Address: 2-17-4 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Osaka
#29 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $108 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yamatoya Honten 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamatoya Honten is right near "Dotombri" the place that represents Osaka, also easy to go to Shinsaibashi (shopping area) and Den-Den-Town (electronics retailing area). It has Japanese style rooms and baths and there is the traditional Japanese atmosphere. We serve you the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yamatoya Honten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamatoya Honten Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing