We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Osaka”
Review of Yamatoya Honten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Yamatoya Honten
Ranked #197 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in December.
We arrived around lunchtime and we could go straight up to our room after checking in. We had a fantastic view overlooking the river and Dotombori area.
The staff were fantastic! You had to leave your key as you left for the day but staff were available quite late to be able to pick your key up (staff actually remembered us and knew exactly what key to give us without asking). And other staff were very kind. One staff member was very kind and chatty and would always wave and talk to us when he saw us.

The room was quite large and we had futons and a private bathroom. The futons were a little thin, but there were extra in the cupboard so we just doubled them. Staff will everyday would refill your sweets (free) and there was always a variety of traditional Japanese sweets.

Great area with plenty of shops and restaurants, with a variety of choices. Quite easy to get lost though (as we did, but we found the people of Osaka extreamly helpful!)

My only complaint would be the internet. This was the only hotel which didnt provide wifi during our trip in Japan (the other places we stayed varied from hostel to ryokan) and there was only one computer which seemed to not like some websites (yahoo mail) and slow.

Would come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elyssa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Yamatoya Honten
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Yamatoya Honten. It was a reasonable price compared to other Japanese hotels and it offered a more traditional, Japanese experience.

The staff was so nice and they could all communicate effectively in English. It was comfortable, clean, and offered a beautiful view. Lots of nearby shopping and dining available.

I especially recommend this hotel to Korean English teachers making their visa run, because the Korean Embassy is about a half mile or a mile down the road. Definitely within walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtine132002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Visited Osaka with boyfriend and stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful from the moment we checked in, suggesting sightseeing and restaurants (a great kaiseki restaurant along Dotonbori street). The room was a little dated but actually we found it charming. It was big and very comfortable for the price. There are also rooms with a view over the canal. Locationwise its fantastic. Right opposite Dotonbori street, perfect. It has a small bathhouse too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmiliaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a Japanese style room. When we arrived from Kyoto it was too early for check-in which begins at 3 pm. Fortunately we were able to leave our luggage there and explore the town more freely. The hotel is located in the very busy Dotombori area (which is obviously a blueprint for the famous Yakuza videogame series). When we checked in our luggage was already in our room (on the sixth floor). We were welcomed with green tea by a friendly staff member who wished us a nice stay. We got tea, hot water and a small selection of snacks twice a day. Service and cleanliness were exellent. We also booked Japanese breakfast which is served in a separately room on the second floor. Every morning the variety of the food was great and the staff helped us a lot to get the right experience. We definetly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montana39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Our stay at Yamatoya Honten was great. We were arriving in Kansai airport in the evening but they had check in open til 11pm so there was no concern about time. We had a Japanese-style room with a night view. It was large and looked over the river and Dotombori Street. Upon arrival we were served tea in our room, which was a nice touch. Everything was neat and clean. We had breakfast, Japanese-style for one of us, and Western-style for the other. Both were great. The staff helped us through the techniques for cooking the fish at the table for the Japanese meal and explained everything, which set us up well for the rest of our trip. A great first night in Japan.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidilynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in November. I choose this hotel as I wanted to be near the busy entertainment district, and easy to get to from Shin-Osaka station. I also wanted to try another Japanese-Style room, though this place is not really a Ryokan.
To get here from Shin-Osaka, we took the red-line to Namba Station (M20) and then changed to the Pink Line and got off at Nipponbashi (S17). Once there, actually finding it at night wasn't easy, as there didn't seem to be a sign in English.

The room was a good size, but my overriding impression was that the room was dirty. There were Stains on the walls and also on the bedding, with a few hairs from previous guests thrown in!!.
It's also overlooking a busy rood, which wasn't a problem until I wanted to get some sleep. Even with the windows closed, it was noisy.

There are no PC's with internet-access available. This wouldn't normally bother me, but on this occasion I needed one and was frustrated that a hotel in this day & age (expecially in Japan) didn't have any. In fairness, the staff allowed me to use their PC, and they did say that they have Wi-Fi.
The hotel's location is in the thick of things (which is what I wanted), however this area was far more seedy than I expected.

If I was staying in Osaka again, I would stay in a different hotel a bit more north towards Shinshibashi.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrilloAido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I booked this hotel or ryokan, because I wanted to try the traditional Japanese ryokan as it advertised. Location was great, next to Dotombori area, where all the restaurants and entertainment were located, thus noisy at night. The toilet and bathroom were uncomfortably cramped. The room was old and small, you had to move the table aside and set up your mats on the floor. It had a hot water pool? at the basement for guests, but I was not interested. It was not as I expected because the prices we got from internet was more expensive than what you would get from Accor hotels. However, to be fair to the nice owner and staff who gave a nice personal service, perhaps it was I, that expected too much from traditional Ryokan.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koponx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
ibis Styles Osaka
ibis Styles Osaka
#46 of 322 in Osaka
517 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 322 in Osaka
793 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
#79 of 322 in Osaka
148 reviews
Hotel Mystays Otemae
#163 of 322 in Osaka
374 reviews
Hotel Ichiei
#70 of 322 in Osaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamatoya Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamatoya Honten

Address: 2-17-4 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Osaka
#30 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $97 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yamatoya Honten 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamatoya Honten is right near "Dotombri" the place that represents Osaka, also easy to go to Shinsaibashi (shopping area) and Den-Den-Town (electronics retailing area). It has Japanese style rooms and baths and there is the traditional Japanese atmosphere. We serve you the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yamatoya Honten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamatoya Honten Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing