We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room. Beware of the breakfast!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Ranked #12 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty room. Beware of the breakfast!!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I thought after reading all these reviews this would be a really nice hotel but as soon as we got in the room I couldn't believe how much dust there was!!! The desk was full of accumulated dust so much dust that my allergies flared up. When I went into the bathroom I thought it looked very nice and modern with a great rain shower but when I went to have a shower I found hair in the bath and shower walls! Disgusting! To make things worse under the bed there was some used wrappers. Filthy room. First I thought maybe I got a dud room which may not be the usual but when I went to use the bathroom on the bottom floor I realised that they don't clean the dust because on the tissue holder and near the sink there was heaps of dust.

The breakfast: ok so we decided to have breakfast at the hotel one morning. They first give us a plate with dry cabbage, one teaspoon of watery tasteless scrambled eggs and ham. Then you could choose the breads from the table. But the lady said you could only have from one particular part and the rest you have to pay per item. The breads were cut in such tiny pieces and tasted stale!!! I felt I was eating bird food! Note there is cafes around that do a good coffee especially elders green cafe which is located right at kitahama plaza on the way to the station. So avoid the breakfast here!

Location: was pretty good and close to kitahama station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    260
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
108
252
60
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fuchu, Japan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

年始に一泊しました。初めての滞在ですが、非常に良いホテルでした。
I stayed a night in this hotel early January. I was my first time to stay in this hotel, but the hotel was really good.

立地:地下鉄の駅から徒歩1分。梅田や心斎橋へは乗り換えが必要ですが、非常に便利です。またホテルの周りにコンビニも2店あり、これもまた便利です。
Location: One minute walk from the subway station. You need to change trains to get to Umeda or Shinsaibashi but it is really convenient. There are 2 convenience stores right across the hotel, it is also convenient.

外観:新しい!
Exterior: The building is brand new!

フロント:対応は、まずまずだと思います。チェックイン、チェックアウトは特に問題なし。英語対応のスタッフもいました。翌朝の新聞は、普通紙に加え英字新聞も選べるようです。ロビーも本棚やソファーがあり、おしゃれな感じでした。
Reception: The people at the reception was okay. No problems for checking-in and out. It seems like they have staff who is fluent in English. Newspaper service is inclusive and you have a choice of English newspaper (the Japan Times). The lobby is nice and cozy with a bookshelf and couches.

部屋:広い!日本のホテルにしては広いです。大きなスーツケースが2つほどあっても、邪魔にならないくらいスペースがあります。デスクやテレビは普通。デスクの引き出しの一つが貴重品入れになってました。冷蔵庫には、無料のペットボトルのお水が2つ!(一人一本だそうです)しかし、無料とは記載されておらず、フロントに聞きました。無料ということが、分かるようにしてあれば良かったのですが。Wi-Fiは無く、有線でのインターネットです。今時、Wi-Fiくらいは、普通に欲しいですね。あと、お茶はあったのですが、コーヒーが無く残念。
Room: Spacious! for a Japanese hotel. You can put 2 big suitcases on the floor and there is still a space on the floor. There is nothing special for a desk and a TV, but one of the drawers of the desk is a safe where you can keep your valuables. You will find a bottle of water or 2, depending on the number of guest per room, which is free of charge. No wifi in the room. I am not asking something special, but wifi should be available in the room... Also something disappointing is that there is no coffee, but just tea.

バス:トイレや洗面台は普通だが、新しくて良いです。お風呂には何とオーバーヘッドシャワー!とバスタブがあり、感動しました。もちろん、普通のシャワーもあります。広さも十分でした。このようなバスは、普通のビジネスホテルでは経験できないと思います。
Bathroom: Toilet and washbasin is nothing special but new. In the bathroom, you will find an ordinary shower, bathtub and OVERHEAD SHOWER! You will never find an overhead shower in a Japanese business hotel.

Wi-Fiやコーヒーが無い等、細かな要望はありますが、全体的は大満足です。また大阪に行く事があれば、泊まりたいと思います。
Overall, I am very pleased to have stayed here, even though there are a few disappointing things. I will stay here again if I have a chance to spend a night in Osaka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masahisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is cosy and clean, staff is well trained and friendly. Unfortunately, like anywhere in Japan don't speak English too well. But language barrier aside, rest assured you will get what you paid for. Which, by the way, is great value for money. Hotel setup and service are not very far from a five-star standard in my opinion.

I liked the room (though small) and location - two minutes walk from the subway station, in a good district. Breakfast is not included in the rate and we never tried it since there are plenty of restaurants around that serve everything you can think of, from light breakfast to Japanese stuff (don't miss the okonomiyaki and takoyaki while in Osaka).

I was disappointed when after a ten-night stay I was asked to pay for late checkout - one hour later than the standard. They would not go the extra mile even when a small effort is required. But then, it's Japan, where everything must be on schedule.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dumi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our stay was so good that in our minds, this hotel ranks among some of five star hotels we have stayed in before.

Literally less than a minute from the closest subway station, and within walking distance to a few 'izakaya' restaurants and convenience stores; this hotel is in a very good location. It was also close to another station (within ten minutes walk with heavy bags), which was a direct train to Shin-Osaka which was convenient.

Staff were very helpful and small touches like a free newspaper and free internet connection (laptops available for use in the lobby) made our stay very pleasant.

Whilst the rooms weren't that big (we stayed in a twin), they were perfectly clean, modern and functional. The bathroom was our favourite; with a waterfall shower in addition to a normal one, along with a bathtub. The modern design was tasteful and something we wanted in our own homes.

Definitely will stay again when visiting Osaka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putkinslikesed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is like anything else in Japan, clean, organized and functional. the location is pretty good to. It is close to the subway lines meaning that you can practically reach any point in the city in a few minutes. The neighborhood is rather quiet and if you walk at night, you wont see many people around. However, the neighborhood feels safe and is pleasant to walk around.
The price is good for Japan too. I only paid a little bit more than 100 bucks per night for a double room.
The rooms are small as other reviewers have mentioned. But for Japanese standards, I thought it was average or even bigger than expected.
Check in and check out were fast and efficient. The hotel premises are well kept and the rooms are functional and clean.
The beds are traditional japanese beds which are harder and thinner than the standards american bed. But keep in mind that most places will have thin mattresses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in Nov 12 and thought that the rooms were very nice: clean, modern, great shower. However, after paying 9,100 yen for the room, when we asked them to print our flight boarding passes we were charged 120 yen! The receptionist didn't seem to understand why we might find that a bit annoying! Also, the hotel does not have wi-fi ( they have LAN cables in the room), which was inconvenient, and surprising considering how widely available wi-fi is throughout Japan.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LolTol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanes (Spain)
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This business hotel is good for its location (next to Kitahama subway St.), in front of a 7-11 shop and next to a big dep store; the rooms are clean, great shower & toilet, and the reception staff do their best to help their customers. Though willing to serve them, sometimes the language issue (not many japanese people speak fluent english) made it a bit different to make ourselves understood with them.
For us, the only handicap in the Brighton City Osaka Hotel is that the room we stayed in was far too small to fit in two single beds (actually, it was a single room with two beds). That left little space to place the luggage or even walk around the bed, and we actually had paid for a double room, so we really expected something else. The television was placed in the right side of the two beds, so we had to watch it turning completely our heads (that was quite odd).
Besides, they had no Wifi connection in the room (!??!!?), just a LAN access. That's pretty poor for a *business hotel*.
Price was just OK (85€ a night)

Room Tip: Good for a single room. I doubt ours was the only *fake* double room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Principedepersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama

Property: Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Address: 1-1 Fushimimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0044, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing