We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$49
Fully refundable before Sat, May 25
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
japanican.com
$55
Fully refundable before Sat, May 25
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$46
Fully refundable before Fri, May 24
Breakfast included
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
chanchihming
Singapore

Value for Money!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 13, 2011
This was our first experience with Toyoko Inn hotels in Japan. We spend 3 nights from 4-6 December 2011.

If you are coming from Shin-Osaka station, head down to B2 (2 floors down from the Shingansen exit level). There are a lot of small restaurants on this level. Walk toward the exit where the airport bus stops are. From there, look out for the big "Toyoko Inn" signboard; it should be toward the left side. Cross the zebra crossings and follow the footpath. It will lead you to an open carpark and the railway tracks will be on your left, you will notice a row of bicycle parkings by the fence. Continue on this footpath until you come to a road (after going through a underpass); make a left and continue along the road. After a junction you will see the hotel. Opposite there is a Chinese restaurant "陈麻饭". It's a short walk (~10min for us).

We were travelling with 2 young girls (6 & 8 years) and took a twin room. We stayed in room 603 and the layout was like 2 single room seperated with the bathroom in the middle. So we actually had 2 sets of writing tables, 2 LCD tv, 2 of everything... The room was compact but all the necessary equipment were available. Electric kettle for hot water (for your instant 3-in-1 coffee), a small fridge, LAN cable provided, hair dryer, etc. Put your big luggage under the bed. Each bed is big enough for 1 adult + 1 kid (in our case) to sleep in comfort.

Breakfast at the small area at the lobby from 7am to 9.30am. Simple Japanese rice cake, miso soup, salad or noodle, sausages, bread and butter, juices, milk and coffee. Just grab a try and take whatever you wish - no taking of room numbers or guest numbers. There is water dispenser for cold and hot water in teh lobby + vending machine. Prices are the same as on the streets.

There is a convenient store at the end of the street (opposite side) and further down there is a "100yen" shop. If you need anything, should be able to get from these stores. There is nothing much around the hotel because it look like it's in a office area. Anyway, areas around shin-Osaka station is not meant for major shopping or sight seeing. We took the JR train to main Osaka station when needed. We also took the Shinkansen to Kyoto from here. There is a Tourist information office in the Shin-Osaka station. Grab some maps and information there.

The service level was good; counter staff can only manage simple English but there is no issue understanding each other as we do not have a lot of exceptional request. There is a laptop and free printing in the lobby for your usdage too.

One point to note is that they expect all guests to be away from 10am to 4pm probably for their housekeeping. If you need to stay in the room during this period, you should inform the frontdesk.

Overall, we are very satisfied with the stay here :-)
Date of stay: December 2011
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
スカイスパ
Booking.com
$146
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $79
  • Expedia.com
    $143
4.0 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ラグジュアリーツイン/Luxury Twin
Booking.com
$90
$57
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    $65
  • Algotels
    $83
1.7 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$72
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $50
  • Expedia.com
    $72
4.2 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$49
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $35
  • japanican.com
    $54
3.2 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Pool
Skyscanner.com
$238
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
4.1 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $115
  • Vio.com
5.5 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キング
Booking.com
$127
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $90
  • Expedia.com
    $123
4.2 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ゆったり感があります
Booking.com
$58
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $59
  • Agoda.com
    $42
  • Vio.com
2.0 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Booking.com
$43
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $35
  • Expedia.com
    $50
0.4 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $347
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Priceline
5.6 miles from Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Osaka
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
17
46
40
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
46
40
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Easy to locate.

If taking JR, exit from East Exit and follow signs to Central exit. Thereafter, follow the big billboard of Toyoko Inn which is visible if you are back facing the JR Station.

JR and Subway stations are just less than 10mins walk away. Convenience stores located at the stations. Laundry available for ¥200 per wash, washing powder at ¥30 and dryer at ¥100 per 30mins, very convenient if you wish to travel light.

Breakfast available daily till 930am. Need to leave hotel by 10am as that's when housekeeping starts which is not an issue for us.

Only minus point is the lack of WIFI in the room though LAN is available. Not convenient if you are dependent on tablets like iPad.

I would definitely return again.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We spent three nights at this marvellous superior three star hotel after having checked it out on Tripadvisor. The room was hardly large enough to swing a cat, but who wants to swing cats in hotel rooms? Apart from that everything was perfect. Spotless, amazingly well appointed - there isn't room to list all the ameneties offered with the room including slippers and kimonos and a tiny but well appointed bathroom - suffice to say that the guest wants for nothing. Breakfast is served in the lobby and offers a limited selection of Japanese and Western dishes - simple but enough to start the day on. We grew especially fond of the misu soup, especially since the weather was chilly. Whoever was on duty at reception never failed to provide answers to all our questions with a smile, a bow and thank-you. We continued our romance with this chain in Tokyo and I shall write a separate review about the Toyoko Inn - Asakusa Komagata which was no less accomodating. Both hotels are very reasonably priced and we managed to keep within the $ 100 per night limitation that we had set ourselves - we spend very little time in hotels when we are touring so only need a comfortable place to lay our heads and the Toyoko Inns certainly provided this. As for location, it is a short 10 minute walk from the Shin-Osaka train station with frequent connections to the 15 minute ride to Kyoto.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle078
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed here mainly to visit Kyoto area (most kyoto hotels were full during that time). Shin-osaka station is only 15 mins away from Kyoto by Shinkansen.

We have stayed in a number of Toyoko-inn in Japan. This one is no different. It offers the same good level of service , same type of room and amenities. So there is no complaints.

Toyoko-Inn's selling point has always been affordability with relatively good quality (AND FREE INTERENET). You won't get luxury amenities, but you won't get any bad surprises either.

In this case, all I needed was to stay at a transport hub close to Kyoto. So this was a perfect stay.

Shin-Osaka has nothing much to see. There are some shops at Shin-osaka station. We visited Kyoto during the stay and then came back to Shin-osaka at night.

For its price, I think toyoto-inn offers the best level of service, quality. When travelling to any locations in Japan, Toyoko inn is always my default choice. If I can find something better or nicer, sure, if not, I'll go to toyoko-inn because I know I won't go wrong with it :P

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Stayed in Shin-Osaka Chuo-guchi Shinkan, Honkan is next door but I think Shinkan is the newer one (however i believe they look the same and has the same standards - all toyoko inns are quite similar).

The walk to the hotel from shin osaka station is around 10. Not too far. Its rather quiet at night but feels safe. Several times we got back around 11pm and still felt really safe for two females.

Not much to do in shin osaka - however the benefit is that its one of the big interchange stations. If you need to plan your trip.. there is s tourist information centre at the station. There is also two JR pass office so if you need to reserve your seats with the JR Pass, this is the station to do it. There is also many, many stalls selling bento's and food souvenirs and is relatively quite busy.

Very little restaurants around so eat before you come back to the hotel. But there are drink vending machines and convenience store (at the station) as well as many food stores.

Very clean room. Small but sufficient. Staff (depending on who you get) speaks and understand very little english. There are two computers with free internet in the foyer.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Had different flavoured rice triangles every day - it was plain but very yummy. Also had miso soup and coffee.

If you are thinking of travelling to kyoto, this is probably the station you want to stay in.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank giraffez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 28, 2024 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
東横イン 大森, マーケティング at Toyoko Inn Shin-osaka Chuo-guchi Honkan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2024
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews