We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
$142
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$96
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$343
$116
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
$117
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka(Osaka)
$124
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$71
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
128
215
66
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
215
66
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsawaza stationjapanese onsen experiencebreakfast hoursonsen bathcleaning servicebasement levelcompared to other hotelsdecent hotelbusiness hotelshort walknon smoking roompillowsexitenglishnodatrainpassword
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 423 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago, and was a great decision! I was so surprised how cheap the hotel was, especially for Japan. It's in a great location - maybe a 10 minute walk from the subway.
- The staff were so helpful and friendly. They printed us off several maps and drawings.
- Yes the rooms were tiny, but we expected it. The were clean and the beds were comfy - can't complain!
- Female guests receive a free gift pack with face masks, and special shampoo!
- the restaurant in the hotel was amazing! The lady was SO nice, giving us extra pieces of sashimi and free beers!
- Kyoto is only about a 50 min train from here. Just as the staff how to get there!

- only negative: couldn't get wifi in the room - had to go down to the lobby do use it..

When I come back to visit again, I know where I'll be staying :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jroy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is great value! There is a free onsen downstairs in the basement for all hotel visitors to use. There is also free wifi in the rooms - we stayed on the 6th floor and had both free wifi and wired internet. Female customers get a free gift pack which consists of various face masks and a loofa. We stayed in semi-double room. As a couple this room was very tight, but we managed to fit our luggage in comfortably.

In terms of service reception were very friendly and in true Japanese style greeted each customer as they passed through the lobby. Before we left we needed some help getting to Osaka International airport and the reception was so helpful - she went off and printed the times and maps for us, even though all we wanted to know was what train line to take.

Location wise it's in a very quiet area - located near an underpass. From Awaza station if you exit at exit 9 there are no lifts, so you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. From awaza station (exit 9) turn right and continue to walk until you see a 7 eleven. Once you see the 7 eleven turn right and you will see a french restaurant. Next to the french restaurant is the hotel. The hotel sign is yellow with black japanese writing on it. We got slightly confused because the hotel sign was not in english.

If you are looking for a lot of night life I would not recommend staying here because you need to take 2 trains to get to the dotonbori area form this hotel. But If you want a place to relax this is perfect. This hotel is also very close to Osaka castle which was convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If staying for a long period of time (as a couple) select either a twin or a double. A semi-double is very small.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel, if booked through your usual hotel online websites, is cheaper than the standard business hotels in the city area. due most probably to the fact that it's not imn the city itself, but it's really only 2-3 stops by subway. But what they do have in exchange is a great relaxing onsen in the basement with real mineral water. this is what you will probably not be able to find in the city (except for one hotel in the city which has it, but it's exorbitantly expensive)

This is a very unique hotel in the sense that it is typically catered to the local businessmen, but the facilities are generally more impressive that your usual business hotel. On top of the normal double rooms,. their twin room is known as the super room, where through some ingenius design, they manage to stack a single bed on top of a double bed. on top of that, they have a microwave oven in the room! this makes it absolutely convenient to buy your dinner from the 7-11 downstairs and heat it up for supper later.

Their tap water and bath water in the entire hotel uses a special kind of ion water that is not only good for drinking, it's supposedly good for your skin too.

As for amenities, they have a trouser flattener on every floor (i didn't try it though..) and vending machines on about 3 different floors. they also have a good selection of pillows that you can pick and choose yourself at the lobby, on top of the standard pillows available in the rooms.

their onsen is not very big, but definitely cosy enough for a great way to end the day! i found myself going there to shower every night, cos the place is very nice and warm, so much better than bathing in the hotel room.

Distance to the nearest subway is the only issue here. it's about 5-7 mins walk from the hotel to the station. it\s near if the weather's good and you're not carrying any luggage or bags. It's far if it's freezing cold and the wind's strong, and you're carrying lots of shopping bags. that's our experience anyway..

However there is no shortage of food joints along the route between hotel-subway. there's this really really nice okonomiyaki joint that i must mention, because it's not only cheap and good, it's really quite cosy and moreover, they serve asahi draft beer, which is my favourite beer! their food is delicious, and can compete with the ones in the city!

all in all, a great place to park yourself for a shopping holiday in Osaka!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are travelling on a budget then look no further than this wonderful hotel. £40 a night is unbelievably good value. Yes the rooms are small but that's the only negative point I can think of. The receptionists were amazing - five-star hotel standard, and the onsen facilities are excellent. The location is fine, not too far from a tube station and lots of excellent restaurants nearby. But the fact that there is a humidifier in every room (to combat the dryness caused the air conditioning) is the kind of genius touch that sums up how great this place is. Someone has put a LOT of thought into how this place can keep its overheads down without the quality of service dropping too much, services that most other hotels would provide but we didnt miss at all during our stay here, yet the humidifier is just one example (a huge selection of free orthopedic pillows is another one) of a little practical touch that can make a huge difference to your comfort levels. For this reason I would never want to stay anywhere else in Osaka.

NB if you get a taxi back to the hotel then just say 'osaka onsen hotel' and the driver will know exactly where you want to go!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulklee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed twice in the Super Hotel in Osaka. It is a large business hotel with an onsen. It may be a little bit hard to find. Best is to take the subway to the station Awaza. There use the exit 9. Watch for the north direction on the floor when leaving the subway. Turn north and walk for about 4 or five minute. Then turn right before reaching the water and the bridge (there is a small grocery store). Outside the hotel there is no sign but in front of the hotel you can smell the bath (not in a negativ meaning).

The location of the hotel is good. It is for Osaka quite calm and there are a lot of small restaurants near by.

The rooms are, as we experienced in all japanese hotel quite small but absolute clean and well equiped. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. For example we went for a trekking on Kumando Kodo and could leave our baggage which we didn't need in the hotel and locked it for us.

It is a great place to relax in the onsen after a long and noisy day in the city

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemongras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews