We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, meets promise as per by line”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs
Ranked #55 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed October 7, 2011

A great place. No telephones in the room. Breakfast is good. Hot springs are worth trying. There are 7 different kinds of pillows to choose from. Honestly, I got the best sleep as teh mattress is designed based on sound research in Japan. The hotel staff are courteous too.

Room Tip: You should try the hot springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravind009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 413 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2011

Pros - The people at the service desk worked very hard to help in any way they could. The public bath in the basement, while small, was clean and had superior water.

Cons - Need to use the free computer and telephone for something important? Get ready for disappointment. I wouldn't even suggest checking email - much less trying to find and book a hotel for the next leg of your trip - on this useless equipment. Also, the rooms are small, even by Japanese standards, so if you have a lot of luggage you can pretty much count out moving around in your room. Lastly, if you are tall and large, and you hope to fit two people onto one double bed, then prepare to sleep in the fetal position all night.

This hotel is a good place for coming in late from a long day of wandering around Osaka, soaking in a bath and then going to sleep. The hotel's location isn't great, but it wasn't bad either. The neighborhood is dominated by a highway overpass without being overly noisy, and was about 5 minutes away from the subway and a couple of serviceable restaurants.

DO NOT get a room that allows smoking. Even smokers will gag on the ashtray atmosphere of these rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoundChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed on August 2010, and it was just amazing...the hotel and the staff were great, very helpfull and friendly in anything we wanted. The hotel location was very good and everything was very close in walking distance, shopping and restaurants.I look forward for my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2010. Our room was a double non smoking room in the new wing. As for the room itself, it was probably the smallest double room I have ever stayed in during various Japanese trips (and I have stayed at a number of business hotels in Japan, the vast majority of which have fairly small rooms, but this was the smallest).

What more than made up for all of this was the great onsen/spa in the basement. You exchange a small wooden style card in your room for a locker key with the attendants and head into the onsen. They have male and female segregated bathing areas, and they alternate them daily so that you get to see both if you stay at least 2 days. To me one was clearly superior to the other. It had a large bath, sauna, warm bath, cool bath, all kinds of massage type water devices, a sauna, the usual massage chairs, even a room to relax and watch tv if you felt like it. There is a small pub/restaurant attached should you feel the need to have a cool beer or snack after the bathing. It gets very busy there in the late evening. Totally fantastic and quite frankly better than a number of so called quality onsens I have visited in the past. My wife and I were the only western guests there as far as I could see during the 4 nights we stayed. All the hotel staff were warm and friendly.

Location of the hotel--near the subway station, but it is still quite a long walk from Awaza station--be sure to exit from number 9 exit (like many Japan subway stations there is a lot of walking just within the station itself as you transfer from line to line).

I ended up getting a good discount on the rooms by booking in advance (non refundable though) through a 3rd party website. I wanted to get a twin room, but double was all I could get.

If you are heading to Osaka and want a reasonably priced business hotel, I don't think you could do better than this. I will be back next time I visit Osaka.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MapleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights at the end of our Japan tour and this hotel truly amazed us! It was the cheapest one and also the best. We paid only 5000 yens/night for a semi-double room. Bed was 120cm wide. Rooms are small but clean and nice. There is excellent onsen in this hotel which you can use for free. Internet in the lobby. Breakfast was 730 yen.

Location is not that good but nearest subway station is only 4 minutes walk away and through that station goes two key lines. With those lines you can get to the most important places in the city. It took about 1 hour 15 minutes to get to the Kansai international airport from this hotel.

This is the best hotel for this price you can get in Osaka, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jibbajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The rooms are pretty tiny, but very cleverly designed (boat builders could add little!), with a combined shower / bath / toilet facility. Free internet via LAN cable was great, as was the fridge, and the ground floor vending machines dispensed free coffee and tea at breakfast time.

Those less agile, or of larger build could find the room a challenge, and space for unpacking or repacking is at a real premium. However, there are excellent touches like a choice of pillows, or an amenities kit for female guests that you wouldn’t expect from a ‘budget’ hotel.

It was very cosy, and we didn’t need the room heater, despite near-freezing temperatures outside.

Awaza station is about 8-10 minutes walk away and on a couple of key subway lines, meaning that it was easy to get to most sights in Osaka. There’s not a lot in the immediate vicinity, however, so plan on using the subway if staying here.

The basement level onsen is free to guests, with dressing gowns provided, and a lift direct to the floor. For those who haven’t been to an onsen before, it’s a different experience, but very relaxing and cleansing, especially after a long day of sightseeing.

As long as you don’t need lots of space, this is a great option for a short stay in Osaka.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

This hotel is absolutely a little gem!!! Don't have too high an expectation though, it is just great for the price, in my opinion, apart from tokyo bay hilton hotel, the is the best hotel in japan for the price. we've stayed in a few others which are more expensive, this one costed us about 7000yen for the two of us, it has its own wonderful onsen for both men and women, the double rooms are very small but that's not unusual for japan but twin rooms are quite large. you can chose your own pillows as well as the ones already on the bed and everyday you can help yourselves to face masks, leg cooler pads, and a few other treats near reception area, and oh, internet and international calls are free from the hotel loby area! It is truely the best value and I can't believe we've only found super hotel on our last destination in japan, we've been paying around 11000 or more per night with other hotels. They have super hotels all over the place in japan, I don't know what the other ones are like but we just loved the one in osaka with its own natural spings (the other ones in osaka don't have onsens just this one)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlaineandAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
RIHGA Nakanoshima Inn
RIHGA Nakanoshima Inn
#68 of 339 in Osaka
460 reviews
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Sunlife
Hotel Sunlife
#220 of 339 in Osaka
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Osaka Yodoyabashi
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
APA Hotel Osaka Higobashi Ekimae
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
New Oriental Hotel
New Oriental Hotel
#286 of 339 in Osaka
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs

Address: 3-6-35 Edobori, Nishi-ku, Osaka 550-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#30 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $68 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Hotel City Osaka And Natural Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing