We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Keihan Universal City
Ranked #49 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We rode the JR Yumesaki line and got here at about 10:40am. There was already a long queue of people trying to check in, that really took me by surprise. (Same thing happened next morning.) Everyone wanted to check-in first and drop their luggages so they can get in the park to play without worries.

We queued for 1/2 hour to check-in. The girl offered us an upgrade to Universal Tower with a tempting larger room. But I read some poor reviews of the tower here on tripadvisor.com and my wife said she just went by and saw that the tower looked empty, so I decided to stay with the city. The girl then gave us our room number, breakfast vouchers and park tickets.

We came back at 9pm and got our room key and was told our luggage was already delivered to our room. That was nice. The room is nice with cute Woody Woodpecker decorations. (Although I will have to say the rooms at both hotels at Hong Kong Disneyland are nicer.)

We took our breakfast at World World Buffet next morning. It is very good with lots of selections. Western, Japanese.. etc. Nobody should be hungry here. The chocolate fountain was nice.

Check out was very efficient. We very much enjoyed our stay, although the time we actually spent in the hotel was minimal, since this was during Halloween Horror Nights and we stayed in the park until 9pm. If you plan on spending a long day in the park, then do consider staying here. It is not much more expensive then staying in Osaka itself and will complete your Universal Studios experience.

Room Tip: We got a character room for just an additional 1,000 yen. Try to look for hotel stay plans on Rakute...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Keihan Universal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 608 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

this was our home for 6 nights last october 22 to 28, 2012. it was a wonderful time to visit japan as the weather was perfect, not too cold nor hot about 15 to 20 celsius.
the family room was big enough for 2 adults and a child since it has a queen bed and a single bed plus room for 2 big luggages.
on every floor near the elevator there is a vending machine for late night drinks and a micrwave oven and an ice cube machine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rence14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The room was very cute was cartoons decoration. My kids like it very much. Great clean hotel with great breakfast. Recommended for those to stay for travelling to Universal Studio.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keecheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2010 while on a tour with two other friends.

I'll start off with the rooms. Everyone knows that in Japan, the room sizes tend to be on the smaller side. However, the room that we got was huge! How huge? It was big enough to have 3 super single beds in it! The bathroom was on the larger side too. I didn't feel like I was showering in a box. The room and bedsheets all had Wood Woodpecker designs all over and thus maintaining the whole Universal Studios feeling.

We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant every morning and I'm glad to say that it was delicious and had much variety including Japanese & Western food. Staff were courteous and friendly.

Finally, the location. The hotel was just a 5 minute walk away from Universal Studios Osaka and located right beside the Universal City Walk which had lots of dining and shopping options. I do recommend tourists to check into this hotel the night before you go into the theme park so that you don't need to have an early start the next day and also another night after playing in theme park. This gives you ample time to fully explore the Universal Studios area which is highly recommended.

The hotel is also just another 5 minute walk to the train station. But for tourists who plan to explore the other sights of Osaka, this is definitely not the hotel for you as it is located far off the main train line. For example, we had to take 3 different trains to get from the hotel to Shinsaibashi.

Other than that, great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yanwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The hotel's right by the entrance to the train station, and a couple of hundred yards from the entrance to the Universal theme park. It's new, the rooms are spacious by Japanese standards (by the time you've got to deepest post-industrial Osaka you'll be familiar with Japanese western-style rooms so you'll be impressed here!), the bathroom is well appointed, there's free LAN-cable broadband, and a kettle in the room. The selling point of the hotel (apart from the very reasonable room rate we paid, and the nice environment) is the spa on the one-below-top floor, and it's amazing - you can bathe in a huge hot bath and watch the sun come down over Osaka (the Osaka bit's not very picturesque but the sunset is!). Breakfast was a multicultural buffet, with a predictably Japanese version of a western breakfast section, which was nevertheless fine and acceptable for our Japan-first-timer-mid-western friends. The staff were of course polite (the place was overstaffed compared with the number of guests they seemed to have midweek) and helpful, tho', again as you'd expect, left-of-centre requests such as an early check-in or the location of the nearest international ATM don't go down well. (The int'l ATM, btw, is just inside the park entrance - that was news to the staff!). There are plenty of places to choose from for dinner in the mall just outside.

The hotel isn't really designed for western, or non-Japan-acclimatised, guests, which didn't worry us too much, but if you're a non-Japanese speaking tourist, be prepared for minor misunderstandings and confusions, and smile. Check-in, for example, involved a very long and complicated speech about facilities, discounts, etc., and I doubt would have translated well into English, or been welcomed by your typical western tourist.

All in all this was good value, and high quality. Thoroughly recommended if you're going to the theme park.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 27, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank 16ろ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihan_Universal, ホテルスタッフ at Hotel Keihan Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Kintetsu Universal City
#52 of 322 in Osaka
589 reviews
Hotel Universal Port
#8 of 322 in Osaka
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Hotel Osaka Baytower
#36 of 322 in Osaka
772 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keihan Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keihan Universal City

Address: 6-2-78 Shimaya, Konohana-ku, Osaka 554-8585, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $124 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Keihan Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Keihan Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keihan Universal City Osaka
Keihan Universal City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing