We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value business hotel, conveniently located in Namba district of Osaka”
Review of Hotel Hillarys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hillarys
Ranked #68 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value business hotel, conveniently located in Namba district of Osaka”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed for one night with my partner for the last night of our trip to Japan. I chose this place because it was close to Namba station which is where you get the fast Nankai (private non JR line) train to Kansai airport.
We got a non smoking double room which was a decent size, much larger than the other business hotels we had stayed in so far (Urbain Executive in Hiroshima and CheckIn in Matsuyama). The room was clean, bed comfortable, and as usual for a Japanese hotel, 2 sets of pajamas were provided. The bathroom was average sized for a Japanese business hotel (i.e small) but clean and well appointed.
We didn't have the breakfast because we had an early flight to catch, but at 500 Yen, it seemed good value. The room rate we got was 7300 Yen per night.
It is about 10-15 minutes walk to Nihonbashi station and about 10 minutes walk to Namba station. We had luggage, so it might be quicker if you are travelling light.
Outside the hotel I noticed signs for Den-Den town, the Osaka version of the Tokyo Akihabara electronics shopping district, so I guess this hotel would be ideally located for shopping in that area.
There are also covered arcades between the hotel and Namba station where you have a wide variety of eating and drinking establishments.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Artaxerxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    134
    42
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
57
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

If you know already Osaka and // or familiar with Japanese language and don’t want to spend too much on accommodation – this is a perfect hotel for you. The room is normal size ( even by European standard), has got nice bathroom amenities. I booked double room and my bed was large and comfortable. The room has got tv with national and local tv channels ( all in Japanese of course). Location is just perfect – 7 walking minutes from Namba station.
If you take a taxi, tell to driver to go over Nipponbashi, as if they drive from Namba they can not turn right.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

good hotel for traveller. I booked triple room for 3 nights and the room space is enough for us. We brought two large baggage and still have some space to put our other stuff.
Triple room includes a double bed and a single bed. The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is basic.
The price is cheap, only cost me JPY 9600 per night, including breakfast.
The hotel provides free internet and drinking.

Highly recommend their breakfast. Though it is basic, my family all felt satisfied and it only cost jpy 500. It is a Japanese food buffet style.

This hotel is near Nankai Namba station in ard 5-8 walking mins. It is also near Nipponbashi station in ard 10-12 walking mins.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightblue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is a very basic Japanese businessman hotel. It is three blocks from Namba station. Small room, small bathroom, but at a small price, as well. Includes free internet. Lobby is on the second floor, but the hotel is well signed on two sides. My price included a good Japanese breakfast in the restaurant on the first floor. Take the limited express from KIX to the end of the line, or the bus from ITM to Namba. If you are taking the Shinkansen, there are similar hotels in the Osaka station area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#66 of 309 in Osaka
398 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Le Botejour Nanba
Hotel Le Botejour Nanba
#133 of 309 in Osaka
89 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Midosuji Hotel
Midosuji Hotel
#92 of 309 in Osaka
160 reviews
Sarasa Hotel Nipponbashi
#86 of 309 in Osaka
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hillarys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hillarys

Property: Hotel Hillarys
Address: 3-4-10 Nipponbashi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hillarys 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hillarys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing