We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Osaka”
Review of Hotel Hillarys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hillarys
Ranked #69 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Fantastic hotel..About 10 mins walk from Namba station which is the main rail link to the International airport.Staff are excellent..freindly, efficent.Rooms are small but very comfortable,clean and cozy with all the amenities you need.Tea ,coffee facilities in room plus fridge.Bathroom fully stocked every day. Washing machine near reception (100 yen, detergent supplied) .Bread and coffee free also.They also have a complete floor reseved for women travellers only.We had Japanese breakfast included at Annas Cafe on ground floor,which was excellent.There is a small convenience store next to hotel(7/11).Lots of good restaurants nearby also.The hotel is within walking distance to shopping arcades and market.Subways are nearby to get to Umeda.We had reserved this hotel for 4 nights but ended up staying for 7 nights..Its that good.We cannot wait to return to Hotel Hillarys...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzanne-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

Room small but managable as a solo traveller. For 2 person, i think its relatively small but if you are thinking of going out most of the time, which you should, then its ok
room are very clean and you can see from the little flowers, origami bird and the 2 sweets in the room, hotel pay attention to details. They are not expensive item but certainly add that little extra.
Location is superb. Close to Nipponbashi station where you can catch Kintetsu line to Nara, Kyoto, Ise Shima, Nagoya. (remember to buy the Kintetsu pass from Kansai airport cost 3,700 yen for 5 days and 5,700yen for same period but with added extra. Its a real bargain and anyone wishing to travel to these other cities should get this pass).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTIFRANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

When you enter the lobby of the Hillarys hotel, you feel the difference - it's probably the cosiest, most inviting hotel lobby I have seen. Reception staff are super friendly, and this seems to rub off on the guests - it has the atmosphere of a great hostel, but with all the facilities of a hotel.

My room was compact but comfortable and well appointed. Very comfortable sleep - the pillow was unusual, it had a soft side and a buckwheat side.

Value added features include free soft drinks, free breads at breakfast time, and very cheap coin laundry which could become quite a social space. Japanese buffet breakfast was available downstairs for 500JPY in the streetside cafe, and at certain hours hotel guests could enjoy other food there at half price.

If you are arriving by train, be sure to print out a map - Namba station is actually a huge complex of several independently owned stations joined together underground, and it can be difficult to find the right exit (the Hillarys is about 5 minutes walk from the East exit of the Nankai section of the station). Allow 20-25 minutes to walk to the JR Namba station for connection to the airport train.

I would have liked to stay longer here but had my travel arrangements disrupted by the tour operator I originally booked - I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just got back from 7 nights at Hotel Hillarys. Have to say that for the $95 a night we paid this was a great find. Good location, less than 10 minutes walk to Namba station and subways, close to an abundance of cheap eateries, a seven eleven directly under the hotel which has a foreign card accepting ATM and if you become a member for free they offer you tickets for free buffet breakfast, bottled water, cafe voucher or movie card. We got half breakfast vouchers and half coffee vouchers. The breakie wasn't my liking as it was all Japanese but if you are into that it is a bargain. There was also free pastries between 6 and 8 am in the lobby. You need to get there early before they are all gone. There weren't any jams for the croissants but the apple danish was yummo.

I booked direct through the hotels website. You email them with when you want to stay and they email back confirming. I paid when I arrived for check in and they didn't even take a credit card for security when booking. When I booked I asked to become a member as you got the room at a cheaper price and got the added bonuses. Showing your membership or room key at the cafe on the floor level gave you half price drinks and food.

There was a drinks machine for hot and cold drinks that you could help yourself to and the shampoo bar was great for meeting your own hair needs. I had emailed the hotel asking to book a hair straightener and it was sitting in my room when I got there. The bathroom also had free razors, brushes, toothbrushes and paste, sponges etc.

The rooms were small as per usual for Japan. It was no different to any other hotel we have stayed at in Osaka or Tokyo. We had a twin room with two good sized beds and a little bit of room to manoeuvre. We went for the twin room as double beds in Japan seem to be a little squeezy. The bathroom was tiny but sufficient. The room was perfectly clean and in good condition.

On the down side the beds were super hard. I am used to a very soft bed so it stood out. The pillows are hard too but luckily you could choose your own pillows from reception so I went and selected another two soft ones on the second day. The staff are so accommodating!

I had read in one review that the hotel was noisy with subway noise. I could hear the subway but it wasn't that loud that it kept me awake. I am a very light sleeper so it wasn't that bad. On the first night I was concerned but other than the infrequent sound of the subway the hotel was very quiet. Didn't hear any traffic sound or noisy neighbours.

There were two computers with free internet in the lobby but you could also hard wire into free internet in the rooms. The blue cables were supplied.

Some little tips:
If you arrive in Nankai station from the airport you will arrive on the 3rd floor. Don't walk all the way to the front of the trains as you can use the escalators that are half way down the tracks. Come down one set of escalators to the 2nd floor then look for the east exit escalator (exit is on the first floor) which is on the right hand side of the building. Go down this escalator to the first floor and follow the east exit sign.
This will bring you out beside the back side of the Louis Vuitton store in the Takashimaya store. As you walk out of the building turn right and walk up the road until you come to the huge red Game store on the corner of the opposite side of the road. Cross the road and walk up along the side of the Game store turning left. On the right you will see the huge 5 story 100 yen store Daiso.
Follow this road until you come to the big intersection and turn right. You will be able to see the big Hotel Hillarys sign up ahead on the left hand side of the road.

If you are looking for the Namba Information office to buy a discounted pass (Osaka Unlimited or Kansai Thru Pass) it is really easy. I had read all these reviews confusing me but if you enter the east exit on the first floor from the road you walk in, turn right and keep walking straight. You will see the signs and see it. it is on the first floor not underground like I had got advise. You can also walk to the front of the station and walk in past Godiva chocolate shop and it is about 10 metres further on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank tsutt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My partner and I stopped at Osaka for 1 night on our way to Hiroshima. We chose this hotel for its location - approx 10mins walk from the JR Namba station and price. Cost less than $100NZD for 1 night in Japan Summer break (Aug). We arrived early AM and the hotel were more than happy for us to leave our luggage with them for the day till we returned that night.

Got to our room and was overwelmed, looked very new and was very clean and tidy.
Bathroom had very good amenities. Air-conditioned. Size of rooms were small but was fine for both of us for the night.

We only stayed the night here but it was value for money - free drinks from machine (tea,coffee, and many sodas), free internet, free breakfast, along with a little library with comics and so on. Hotel had washing facilites too.

When I come back to Osaka again, I will re book at this hotel. It was value for money and with in walking distance to great resturants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markre_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this hotel, it seemed almost to good to be true for the small price paid ($70 Australian p.n.) for a twin room. Fortunately, everything was perfect. The rooms are quite small as was expected for a business hotel, but the beds were super comfortable and the thoughtful touches made it all the more pleasant. There is a shampoo bar with an array of hair care products that guests can help themselves to, as well as a free soft drink/hot beverage dispenser at your disposal around the clock. Bicycles can be borrowed with a small refundable deposit, and internet use is free on the computers provided in the lobby. You have your pick of subway stations in easy walking distance virtually any direction you walk from the hotel. The price you pay for this abundance of subway lines is that the hotel is right above one, and you can hear and feel the trains passing below.. It isn't overly intrusive, but as our trip coincided with the large Earthquake in the North we paid particular attention when we heard rumbling coming from below us. The hotel has a cafe below it, and discount slips are provided in guest rooms offering some very cheap eats. The Market, Namba Parks, Shinsaibashi and Dotonbori are all just a stroll away. The only minor let down was that the room could have been a little warmer, however that could be a result of our poor understanding of the Japanese AC remote.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Firstly the location of this hotel is 5 min walk to Kuromon local market (freshest seafood, veges everything. On 10min walk to the worlds best hospitality market arcade (you wont leave) only 15min walk from Shinsaibashi and Eudonmarchi arcade (wall to wall shopping) and the restaurants ...there is thousands. Staff in hotel have basic english but are well drilled, more importantly they try their best to make you fell welcome and accommodate every need. Foyer has free internet, free bikes to cruise around city (small dep needed) Small single and double rooms but the triple rooms are excellent. All room are spotlessly cleaned daily. They have basic amenities but dont worry there is a 7 / 11 food store at hotel ground floor which has ATM for western Master cards. The 1st floor has Small free basic brekky in morn (but the market is better for this) Excellent european cafe across road run by a guy who speaks perfect English and should be a ambassador for tourism in Osaka. The cost was $100 approx per night. You are a 15- 20min walk from Namba station. From Namba you can link with any train in Kansai Area. Only 15min walk to Nipponbashi stn to catch day trip to Nara and Kyoto. Highly Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beechee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Sarasa Hotel Nanba
#64 of 339 in Osaka
55 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Relief Namba Daikokucho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Le Botejour Nanba
Hotel Le Botejour Nanba
#134 of 339 in Osaka
92 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hillarys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hillarys

Address: 3-4-10 Nipponbashi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $59 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hillarys 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hillarys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing