We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Osaka”
Review of Umeda OS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umeda OS Hotel
Ranked #158 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Basically hotel room space in Japan is small. No space for us to place our luggage bag therefore we have to put it up on the ledge above our bed where the window is. Toilet is small too but all toiletries are provided except shower cap and body moisturizer. Hotel is next to the JR line. Behind the hotel there are many small eateries, Yoshinoya, MacDonalds and they operate past 10pm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ong1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights. The hotel is in walking distance from JR Osaka. However, even the hotel is closed to one of subway station, this subway station is rarely used for sightseeing around Osaka. The room is clean but fairly small!!. Service is at standard level nothing impressive. Behind the hotel, you can find dining place and nightlife of Osaka.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owniski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The twin room was small but clean and neat, the bathroom is very small but modern and efficient use of space. There is even an air cleaner/humidifier machine in the room. To me the stay is very comfortable...they even provide yukata for use.
The staff is courteous and efficient, checking in/out is really fast. We spoke Japanese so that may help a bit so I do not know the staff proficiency in English. Seemed like they cater a lot to local business people.
The location is great, there are alot of eateries nearby and within walking distance of the JR station. It is possible to walk underground all the way from the JR station to the Hotel. We got it right after a few times....the place is huge. When you arrived at the JR station...look for the sign for Central South Gate....follow the direction and sign for Higashi Umeda station tanomachi line (the purple line) then look for exit H82 near the gate of the tanomachi line. The hotel is just outside exit H82.
Good price..good location...yeah the room is kind of small but suffice if you are out most of the day......

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Umeda OS hotel is in the heart of Umeda, close to both JR and Hankyu stations and it is reasonably priced. However, we didn't like the room very much. The bathroom was too small and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Still, if you are planning to be out all day it's a good choice in terms of location.

I would prefer staying at Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda, which is also in the same area and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mel9250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We had booked into this hotel for four nights.When we had arrived the staff were rude then showed to our room which was not the one we had paid for,I had to go onto the net to print off the room type and show the staff only then they said they had made a mistake and then moved us to the room we had booked which was not great as we have a 2 year old that was sleeping.There were no sorrys or offers of discount and made it seem like it was our fault.I later then found out we had been overcharged for the room which we took up with the management and got a refund, by the second night we cancelled the rest of our stay and moved to a much more friendly and honest hotel.Just on a side note all the staff are very young and dont know what they are doing and also they advertise as a international hotel but no one speaks any other language than Japanese which is poor, it is lucky my partner and I are flueunt otherwise we might not have picked up there mistakes and been ripped off!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kaptin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights during a trip to Kyoto and Osaka, It's a good hotel in good location with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

i picked this hotel mainly because of its location and close proximity to the JR station. everything is as expected, very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. i chose a singles ladies room, so there were some perks in the room, ie a luminating mirror, facial masks, female toiletries, etc. i don't like how i have to leave my room key at the front desk each day before i leave the hotel. i guess thats their practice, but its a sizable hotel, i didn't expect that. i suggest you not to leave your valuables in the room. all in all, i will recommend it to those who wants to stay in central osaka on a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtcupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
#57 of 351 in Osaka
246 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
#61 of 351 in Osaka
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
#95 of 351 in Osaka
428 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Landmark Umeda
Hotel Landmark Umeda
#241 of 351 in Osaka
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umeda OS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umeda OS Hotel

Address: 2-11-5 Sonezaki, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0057, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $75 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umeda OS Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Located in Umeda, this hotel is within 1 mi (2 km) of Tsuyunoten Shrine, Osaka Science Museum, and Umeda Sky Building. Mint Museum and Shinsaibashi Shopping Arcade are also within 2 mi (3 km). Hotel Features This hotel features a restaurant, a meeting room, and dry cleaning. Additionally, laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and a computer station are onsite. Room Amenities Rooms boast deep soaking tubs and offer free WiFi and TVs. Refrigerators, coffee makers, and in-room massages are among the other amenities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Umeda OS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umeda Os Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing