We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel and close to Doutonbori”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock
Ranked #268 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and close to Doutonbori”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was worried as there were not many new reviews on this hotel when we booked it, but the hotel turned out to be great! Yes, it is old and not a fancy or luxurious hotel, however, for the price I paid for, it was very decent.

We stayed in a triple room on level 4. It is right next to the highway, but as we are all heavy sleeper, we didn't hear a thing. If you're concerned about this, maybe ask for higher floor. The room lighting was a bit dark to my liking, but I'm used to white lights. The single beds were 120 cm wide, the toilet and bathroom are separated and how happy I was seeing the toiletries they provided. For the last few years I've been staying in budget accommodation even when it's a hotel, no toiletries were provided and that was what I expected from this hotel. But they provided everything, toothbrushes and toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, soap, bath bomb, and also bath sponges and razors. All of them were replenished every day. There were kettle, cups and teabags too in the room. And the size of the room was decent. We brought 2 big luggages, 1 hand carry luggage and a big bag with us, we didn't have any problem opening those 3 luggages at the same time on the floor. There was no need to put them on the bed.

The staff were nice and helpful and friendly. Not all of them can speak English, from memory maybe only 1 or 2 who can speak quite fluent English, however, all of them were very nice. With their limited English, they still tried their best to help you. If I go back to Osaka again, their friendliness is the main point that brings me back to this hotel.

Every morning 1 of the vending machine is free until 11 I think. So make sure to grab one before you leave the hotel. The receptionist asked us to leave the key with them every time we leave the hotel, not sure if it's a must or not, but we left it with them so we didn't have to worry losing it.

As for the location, if you're looking for just crossing the road to get to Doutonbori, then this is not the one. However, it's easy to walk to Doutonbori and only took us 10 minutes walk (I'm not a person who says 2 minutes that means 10 minutes, so this is really 10 minutes walk done by 3 girls. Just imagine how fast girls walk). To get to the nearest station took us 3-4 minutes. Around the hotel there were quite a lot of stores, but we didn't hang around too much so can't comment on that. But there were 2 family marts close to the hotel (1 was like next door to the hotel),

And the rabbit of course :) Hiroshi was really cute, fat and fluffy :) It was very nice to see him every morning and every night. Always made us happy. Missed him already :(

Room Tip: If you don't like sleeping next to highway, make sure to ask higher floor. Mine was 4th floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ライオンズロック, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Wendy C,

Thank you so much for the time to share your feedback with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We will share your wonderful feedback to all the our hotel staff.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you again.

Best regards,


Reservation desk
Diane Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    44
    28
    17
    20
See reviews for
46
21
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Telemark, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Due to travel circumstances we stayed in the hotel on two different occasions over the course of two weeks. As a couple we naturally had a double-room, and the facilities were great on both our stays. Very clean, comforable rooms. We only noticed one small problem on our second stay, our room was on the 3rd floor and there was a humming sound from somthing I assume was an air compressor. But we still fell asleep ok, so it wasn't really a big issue. The empoyees at the hotel were great, very service minded and smiling at all times. But the cherry on top was the bunny they had as a mascot, living in the lobby for the guests to pet. And some mornings they even dress it up in a little costume to greet the people checking out. Made my day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ライオンズロック, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear CecilieW,

Thank you so much for the time to share your feedback with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We will share your wonderful feedback to all the our hotel staff.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Diane Park

Reservation desk
◆◆◆ ◆◆◆
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The location looked a bit difficult to find the hotel at first, but we took a taxi from Nanba JR which was not far. The room was very large, and the toilet and bath were separated. we were three people, and had own bed. in addition, the amenities are also well equipped. The best part is the people who work at the hotel- very friendly and helpful. They also had a rabbit in the lounge where kids and young people can enjoy. In addition, the drink machine became free in the morning and the PCs with the Internet connection were also available. good value for money in the heart of Osaka. there are many small shops around there. only downside is next to the highway- ask them to locate your room on the top floor where you dont hear the noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonTigger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ライオンズロック, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear, London Tigger1

Thank you so much for the time to share your feedback with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We will share your wonderful feedback to all the our hotel staff.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Reservation desk
Diane Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Dormy Inn Shinsaibashi
Dormy Inn Shinsaibashi
#134 of 303 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Arrow Hotel
Arrow Hotel
#186 of 303 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Osaka Teikoku Hotel
Osaka Teikoku Hotel
#196 of 303 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock

Property: Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock
Address: 2-18-10 Nishi Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shinsaibashi Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Rock Shinsaibashi Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing