We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
Ranked #24 of 257 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Ottawa, ON
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here in a pinch because no other accommodation was available. Was glad I did as this was a very fun, unique experience. It was my first capsule hotel stay. It was relatively English-speaking friendly, with mainly bilingual signs. Baths in the basement were nice. Everything could have undergone a bit of a spruce-up though...it was feeling a bit tired inside. Also, unlike other reviewers, I did not have an power outlet in my capsule. I, like others, had to take advantage of a spare outlet in the common area to charge cellphones, etc. Also, the directions on their website are pretty terrible, make sure you print off your own maps/have GPS capability before trying to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGallivants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    77
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
4
32
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

So I had no idea what to expect from this place and traveling with 3 lads meant I was on my own in the female only section. What an experience this was! The caspule itself was okay, I am pretty tall at 6ft and I just managed to fit in the capsule, it has everything you need, mirror, alarm, radio tv etc. You get given robes to wear and a locker to hold your bags, my bags didn't fit in the locker so I kept them in reception for 200¥ a day, bit of a pain. You need to embrace the hostel, leaving everything in the locker and wearing your robes around, also the bathroom sitution I had not experienced, communal showering, naked. This freaked me out at first as I am just not used to it but after the 1st time it was fine, showering and dipping into the onsen and sauna naked in front of women, it was enjoyably different! You don't need a take a lot with you as shower gel, shampoo, hair dryers, hairbrush etc is all provided! The location is fantastic, right in the centre of all the action. Overall experience was really good we stayed for 3 nights

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Slap bang in the heart of it all, this capsule does all you can possibly ask of a capsule. It's massive, clean, and with good bathing facilities. For ¥2,900 you'll struggle to get cheaper in this location, which is prime for falling into when drunk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I when to Japan because attending big bang concert only, dont have time to learn how to talk in japanese, i speak totally in english, i know few words only in japanese.
i'm very glad, evntgh they cant speak but try very hard to assist me.

The hotel staff very patient while assist me because i cant understand them.

for hotel staff i would give 5 star!!!

hotel is very clean, really good for solo traveler.

TQ

Room Tip: solo traveler: room got two type of room 1 with tv 2 with electricity socket only--please bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FareedaSuhaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

LOVED staying in the little capsule beds, they were not as cramped or claustrophobic as you might expect. there were little tvs/radios in there and once inside the beds were comfortable and noise was minimal. The shared bathrooms were clean and inviting. We were able to extend our stay for an extra night, and at a fairly reasonable price. It was handy to have lockers too so we could leave our valuables all day whilst our exploring Osaka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very good location close from everything, helpful staff (speak english) all the facilities you need (whashing machine, hair dryer, manga, tv...), clean.
Maybe too big and busy.
Reserve ahead to get a capsule during the weekend.

Tres bien situé, a proximité de tous commerces, le personnel est sympathique et parle anglais, tout ce dont vous avez besoin est sur place (machine a laver, seche cheveux, manga, tv...).
Peut etre un peu trop gros et trop de monde.
Reservation necessaire pour s'assurer une capsule le weekend.

Room Tip: Girls/ boys dorms separated, girls are on the basement. Game center, library and tv room on the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meleo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

You cant beat the location, price, cleanliness, service that this place offers. Id say a repeat costumer and I stay here quite a lot- I would recommend booking online on their site in advance as its even cheaper, and go for a lower bunk.
highly recommended even if you just want to experience a capsule hotel

Room Tip: book online for a 100 yen less per night - and select a bunk bed with an electricity outlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
#23 of 257 in Osaka
90 reviews
B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi
#114 of 257 in Osaka
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shell Nell Namba
#19 of 257 in Osaka
40 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Capsule Inn Osaka
Capsule Inn Osaka
#40 of 257 in Osaka
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Property: Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
Address: 2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 257 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing