We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, not sure of the smoking room though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
Ranked #23 of 218 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience, not sure of the smoking room though”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ok, so it's a bed, somewhere to sleep and thats it... That is unless you venture down to the baths on the 6th floor included in the price, I could have stayed there all night to just chill out. Many different baths at different temperatures, indoor and outdoor, 2 saunas (again depending on how hot you like it) a steam room and an ice room (yes it is pretty much a walk in freezer).

Stayed on the 10th floor where I have a slight issue with the smoking room being very close to the sleeping rooms. if it wasn't for this it would be a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristFromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    77
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
32
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well organized and equipped capsule hotel. Surprisingly unclostrophobic with the only down side being snoring from adjoining capsules (the capsules have blinds, not doors). A fantastic experience and one of the high points of a trip to Japan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
204 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to experience what a capsule hotel was like and this was achieved!
On some levels quite a grim experience many rules about storing of luggage, quite grim communal areas with many single Japanese busniess men clearing their throats or reading Manga in the Library. Porn played on a small TV as you entered the male capsule area.
The bathing area was nice with large bath and Jacuzzi. The actual capsule was ok with only a curtain to separate from others! Ear plugs good!
Glad i tried it for one night only!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Large luggage is to be stored at reception at ¥200 per piece per 24 hours. The Asahi Plaza is a great big, reddish brick building that looks like a mall. Once you find the front entranc with a walkway and big glass doors, face them but go left rather than inside, and around the side of the building. The entrance to the hotel is there, opposite a vending machine and surf wear/music store. the staff are fantastic, especially the teeny woman, you may just about fall in love with her. Kawaii! The capsules are of a comfortable size, with everythingyou need. Of course it isn't the quietest accommodation, but an experience. My first onsen was here - be brave, it's very wothwhile! When we requested to leave out luggage in storage after check out to go and explore the city, they wouldn't accept further payment. Lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForTheRavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The capsule hotels in Osaka are similarly priced - what sets this one apart is you can pay a tiny bit more and get a power outlet in your capsule for charging devices.

We stayed here as a novelty and it delivered. the staff speak good English and while they're a little gruffer than most Japanese hotels (perhaps as they are so busy), they're good enough.

Here's what's involved: check in, lock your shoes in the shoe lockers at reception. leave larger suitcases at reception for a couple of bucks (though they let me take my medium sized suitcase with me to my capsule).

Go to changing rooms where you put your clothes into a large locker. You'll change into a yakuta robe which EVERYONE wears, which we loved (which you can buy). Then you go into one of several large rooms full of capsules. I had an upper level capsule which was just fine. The floor of the capsule is your bed - think of it as a king single sized bed. I actually managed to haul my suitcase in with me.

There are several common areas - the usual communal bath area (not for the prudish, as with all in Japan) with hot onsen bath), a lounge area full of recliners and TVs (smoking is allowed, so be prepared) and a cafe floor. Plenty of vending machines around too.

The Japanese are so civil that noise isn't an issue. I got a good night's rest. I recommend this place - I could stay there another night. It's a little further than other hotels from the Dotonbori, though.

Room Tip: You can pick a room with a TV (my mate got that), one with a power outlet (which I did) - know your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y2ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed @ the capsule hotel, 2 nights love the sauna and the amenities honestly an experience you can't miss. The hotel has all u need, food, your "room" capsule. Is private and safe for women there are separated from man areas with cameras everywhere. It can be loud if ur neighbor snores a lot but u can put a few coins pick one of the 6 channels (2 adult) and sleep like u r Dracula. Capsule is spacious and comfortable. Give it a try, money well expended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitufokoreano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tumon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

From the moment i stepped into this place, they were really rude. They asked us how many people we had and once we told them, they just put a hand in my face and said "hold on." when they were finally ready for us, my friend told them to hold on and they gave us a bad look. We just did to them what they did to us. From there, the first thing they told us was "pay now." we didn't even have time for a question. i thought maybe they treated foreigners this way, but as we watched, we noticed they were equally rude to everyone.

And once you pay for your stay, forget about any help at all. they figure there's no need to help once you've paid.

After we had checked out, we came back after the cleaning to use the spa facilities. we didn't know if we wanted 1 hour or 3 hours, so we asked if we could double check our flight time and status on their computer in the front of the hotel. From there, we would be able to decide how many hours we wanted. No one was in the building. They told us we have to first pay for a full hour in order to use the internet. we continued to tell them we needed it to find out if we were gonna give them more money. 3 minutes is all we needed. Still a big no, so we told them to they would never see our business again. instead, we paid double the price for a spa down the street with nicer employees.

i don't care how nice a place may be (it isn't all that), you should never treat customers the way they do. i will pay twice the price at another hotel out of spite for this one

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
#22 of 218 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Shell Nell Namba
#20 of 218 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Capsule Inn Osaka
Capsule Inn Osaka
#38 of 218 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Property: Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
Address: 2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 218 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing