We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really small.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Business Hotel Mikado
Ranked #85 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Yongin, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really small.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staffs are nice, you can hire hairdryers and there's all you can use... But it's really small. I mean it. Really small. And if you are a girl alone, and a smoker, I'll recommend you to pay some more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizzi88g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    101
    36
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
18
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Our room was quite dark and it was impossible to get into the top bunk without hitting your head on the light!
Good Internet.
No real socialising area.
Good location close to Spa Workd (it's amazing-go!), kushi-katsu restaurants and the JR and metro.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was the best night's sleep I got in Japan; my room was quiet and clean. The area is a little run-down and is meant to be 'dangerous' but I had no problems. Indeed, a very kind man showed me how to find the hotel from the local station. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The communal kitchen was fun and you felt comfortable chilling out there. You could even rent bikes for free. The only downside was that the bathrooms were not clean, but it seemed a small price to pay for such great value. It was a unique experience, really fun, and I would recommend it. Don't expect luxury; just good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September 2012, and I have absolutely no complaints. The staff were friendly and super helpful, it was easy to communicate with them. It was amazingly affordable, and it's so close to the station (literally, just around the corner), which makes going out and about much easier. Close to so many key tourist spots of that's what you want to do. My room was clean and tidy, and fairly well equipped. I really enjoyed my stay at Mikado, and look forward to returning for another stay next time I visit Osaka!

Room Tip: If you don't like smoking, state that you want a non-smoking room, and if you're female trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonya_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is located close to subway station, as well as the inter city train to Nara. Also nearby nightlife area Sinsekai. Staff is friendly and some speak good English. They have internet etc in the lobby and wireless in the rooms. Their onsen is small but clean and suitable. The rooms are quite old and plain looking, but clean. We got a double room and it had a tv, fridge, table and chairs, as well as the two beds. You also need to share the bathroom on each floor, which may not suit everybody.
This is certainly not a luxury hotel, but it suits the purpose fine. Not a bad base to explore Osaka, as it is quite near to the public transport hubs. Convenience stores nearby, and of course, a plethora of vending machines!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilikethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located just off the main road it is easy to get to by both the subway and JR lines of Osaka. It is also right next to a line of restaurants and shops that serve cheap and tasty food, although warning they shut about 9pm each night.
The hotel staff speak adequate English and the place is clean and tidy. The only downside is the Showers only located on the ground floor (and the slow lift). However I never had to wait for a shower with the three cubicles. There is also the Authentic bath room with alternating times for males and females if you wish to use that. The rooms aren't overly well sound proofed but we had little problems with this.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevator and toilets. There are smoking and non-smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nano_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Conveniently located near a couple subways, and the Shin-Imamiya JR loop station. The neighborhood is not great, but not unsafe at all. The hotel does have a gate they lock every night. My room smelt not so great, but there was a window that I left open so the smell dissipated. Bathrooms on every floor, not extremely clean, but not dirty either. The showers are downstairs, and are clean. They have free bike rental, and the staff is very nice. Also, if you buy food/drink at the family mart down the block they give you 10% cash back at the hotel. All-in-all, decent place to stay for pretty cheap, I will most likely stay elsewhere when I return.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify smoking/non smoking when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#82 of 316 in Osaka
226 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#152 of 316 in Osaka
249 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel  Sun Plaza Two
Hotel Sun Plaza Two
#267 of 316 in Osaka
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chuo Oasis Osaka
#66 of 316 in Osaka
198 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Shinbashi
Business Hotel Shinbashi
#244 of 316 in Osaka
20 reviews
For Leaves Inn Nagai
#222 of 316 in Osaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Business Hotel Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Business Hotel Mikado

Property: Business Hotel Mikado
Address: 1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#22 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Business Hotel Mikado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Business Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing