We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but cheap.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Business Hotel Mikado
Ranked #84 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“No frills, but cheap.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is located close to subway station, as well as the inter city train to Nara. Also nearby nightlife area Sinsekai. Staff is friendly and some speak good English. They have internet etc in the lobby and wireless in the rooms. Their onsen is small but clean and suitable. The rooms are quite old and plain looking, but clean. We got a double room and it had a tv, fridge, table and chairs, as well as the two beds. You also need to share the bathroom on each floor, which may not suit everybody.
This is certainly not a luxury hotel, but it suits the purpose fine. Not a bad base to explore Osaka, as it is quite near to the public transport hubs. Convenience stores nearby, and of course, a plethora of vending machines!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilikethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    101
    36
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
18
104
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located just off the main road it is easy to get to by both the subway and JR lines of Osaka. It is also right next to a line of restaurants and shops that serve cheap and tasty food, although warning they shut about 9pm each night.
The hotel staff speak adequate English and the place is clean and tidy. The only downside is the Showers only located on the ground floor (and the slow lift). However I never had to wait for a shower with the three cubicles. There is also the Authentic bath room with alternating times for males and females if you wish to use that. The rooms aren't overly well sound proofed but we had little problems with this.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevator and toilets. There are smoking and non-smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nano_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Conveniently located near a couple subways, and the Shin-Imamiya JR loop station. The neighborhood is not great, but not unsafe at all. The hotel does have a gate they lock every night. My room smelt not so great, but there was a window that I left open so the smell dissipated. Bathrooms on every floor, not extremely clean, but not dirty either. The showers are downstairs, and are clean. They have free bike rental, and the staff is very nice. Also, if you buy food/drink at the family mart down the block they give you 10% cash back at the hotel. All-in-all, decent place to stay for pretty cheap, I will most likely stay elsewhere when I return.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify smoking/non smoking when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

cons
it very near to d subway and jr n kansai line...
staffs are very friendly n helpful, especially the hotel manager..
there r a lot of shops, restaurants, market, pharmacy n d spa world is ard d corner...it is very convenient

pros
i stayed at 6flr n i don't like the 6 flr share toilet, its always have some weird smells..not sure the others floor
there r a lot of homeless old ppl ard d area bt they r harmless..
the hotel dun hav the daily house keeping for d room, bt its not a big issue to me..

overall its value for the money..i definitely will recommend to my other friends

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siu_siuling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed there for two nights. The staff is very very helpful, friendly, and ready to provide with everything which is in their scope of capability.
The price is excellent. I believe I would not be able to find cheaper one. Indeed, the fact that the showers are located only on the first floor is not that comfortable, however, for the price you pay it is one of the best place.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in front of the toilet and the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

To begin with the bad, the room smelled of smoke when we arrived. We asked to switch to another room, but none were available. Nothing at the hotel felt clean, from our bedding to the bathrooms. To shower, we had to go from our room on the 6th floor to the bottom floor. Our room (608) was directly in front of the elevator, and the walls/door were thin, so noise carried when people were talking in front of the elevator.

The good qualities far outweighed the bad, in our opinion. We booked a double, which was about $53US/night, and which was a decent size.

The staff were very kind, helpful, and patient with us, though their English was limited.

The shared kitchen was equipped with two hot plates, pots, pans, bowls, utensils, knives, etc. like other places we stayed, but Mikado also provided many seasonings and even free snacks!

Also provided were free bicycles, slippers, robes, toothbrushes, toothpaste, soap and shampoo in the shower, and use of a public bath (separate times designated for men's and women's us, baggage storage, discount train tickets, coin laundry. There was a small flat screen TV (though it seemed more like a computer monitor) and a mini fridge in the room, as well as a small table, folded futon, and clothing rack.

Wifi worked great the whole time (a router on each floor), and many computers are available for free use in the lobby.

Though we could hear other guests in the hallway, our room was overall very quiet, as it's not on a main street.

It was easy to get to and from the train station.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in mid April 2012 and paid less than 2000 yen per night! That includes a single bed complete with TV, VHS, free wi-fi, air-conditioning and a yukata (bathing robe)! The single room was kind of small, but considering a capsule would cost twice as much and I would be compacted into a space no bigger than a coffin, it was money well spent for me. The bed was comfortable enough and the place was relatively clean, though not as speck-less as one might expect. I'm not saying the place is filthy, it's far from it! Toilet seats were clean (and electrically warmed for extra comfort) and shower rooms were very clean as well. I did not try the communal baths though as the timing was never right. My only nit-pick about the cleanliness is that the toilet on my floor was kind of gloomy and damp, though there wasn't anything unsightly or smelly.

The staff also speak pretty good English and they were more than willing to assist me. I had no issue with the smell of cigarette or whatsoever. The hotel is near Family Mart convenience stores and also a 100yen shop to get your late night snacks. Shinsekai is also a 10-min walk away and you could easily visit the Tsutenkaku tower to get an excellent view of the city's skyline. The location may not be as up-market as downtown Umeda or Namba, but Shin-imamiya does not deserve its infamous reputation, I believe. Yes there were a couple of homeless men when I traversed to and fro the station but they seemed the least bit interested in interacting with a foreigner like myself. In fact, Shin-imamiya lies on the JR loop line, is just one stop away to Tennoji station (of which you could easily connect to Nara and beyond), has a direct train to JR-Namba (perfect for JR Pass holders) and is one of the only 2 stops in Osaka (the other being Namba) on the Nankai line bound for Koyasan!

With that said, I would recommend Hotel Mikado for anyone who wishes to be on a budget and is adventurous enough to experience the less glamorous side of Japan. I've had worse in some parts of Europe, really. Saving more on accommodation also means getting to eat more of what Osaka has to offer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank labi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#75 of 307 in Osaka
221 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#157 of 307 in Osaka
243 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Raizan Kitakan
Raizan Kitakan
#141 of 307 in Osaka
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chuo Oasis Osaka
#64 of 307 in Osaka
197 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Shinbashi
Business Hotel Shinbashi
#241 of 307 in Osaka
20 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel  Sun Plaza Two
Hotel Sun Plaza Two
#252 of 307 in Osaka
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Business Hotel Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Business Hotel Mikado

Property: Business Hotel Mikado
Address: 1-2-11, Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#21 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Business Hotel Mikado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Business Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing