We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your preference.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arietta Hotel Osaka
Ranked #30 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2010

First of all I stayed here just for one night to visit Osaka University for a business purpose. Be aware, there are "floors for smokers"; even though I am a smoker, I felt disgusting smell of smoke once I got out of the lift to the floor.
My understanding is that the key factor of this hotel is a product of location x cleanliness.
If you are a traveller with some curiosity but who may feel nausea while finding the carpets under you stained, this hotel may be the best buy. This new hotel is absolutely clean, and looking nice. The location, the Honmachi Area, is an area representative of a local business communities. This means, in Japan, people here are not very posh, although there are a range of Japanese restaurants and local bars for local people with amazing prices. I am almost sure that you will never come across cheating or fearful situations (like that expected in other Asian cities or other parts in Osaka) even if you walk around in this area at midnight.
If you are a traveller with "full-blown" curiosity, or an Asia freak, this hotel could be less than average. The location is not very suitable for those travellers who are expected to prefer happiness to cleanliness/order, since, in Osaka, there are many other areas suitable for persuing "instinctive" happiness; the spots may include e.g. Imasato for Okonomiyaki (An Osaka-style salty pancake), Tennoji for a myriad of small, old downtown streets, Tsuruhashi for Korean dishes elaborated through the Osaka's longstanding histories for gourmet. All these areas are not within a reach of walk. To stay hotels or B&B's (Ryokan) in the Eastern part of the city is recommended for these travellers.
If you are an academic kind of person visiting Osaka Univ, the hotel is too far away to/from the University; it takes 5000 JPY for taxi. Yes there is a metro station nearby, and there is a direct connection to a station nearby to Osaka Univ, but, unbelievably, during the daytime there are only 3 connections per hour from Sakaisuji-Honmachi (the nearby station to the Hotel) to Yamada (Osaka U). Therefore avoid thinking about using Brown Metro Line when you go to Osaka U.
For me, I love the location of this hotel for night life but was a poor choice for visit to Osaka U; absolutely the room was clean, but tiny, and I found nothing special. As a total, I rate this room as normal or slightly above normal for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 423 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

The Osaka Arietta Hotel was our best hotel stay in Japan. The room pictures and the reviews on here, convinced us to book this hotel.

We had a little bit of a hard time to find this hotel, the exit from the subway was confusing to us - not the hotel's fault, just to let you know to print out the directions :)

The reception was very nice, the hotel was very modern and comfortable. The quiet room was very clean, the bathroom was a highlight. They offer nice bubbly bath salts at the reception for a small price, which we used to take a relaxing bath.

There are lots of very good restaurants around the area, we had a great time exploring the neighborhood. For breakfast they serve some rolls, coffee and orange juice - nothing big but gets you started in the day.

In order to get into the city, you can either take the subway (I think 2 stops), or walk down the beginning of Shinsaibashi-suji (major shopping street) around the corner from the hotel. After 10 minutes you reach the city, with every minute of walking it is getting louder and brighter. We liked to take this walk, also at night.

The lobby had a few computers to use with free internet - not sure if the rooms had wifi, since we didn't bring a computer.

Overall a very nice hotel, we had a great time. Since we planned to do more sight-seeing in Kyoto, we actually booked another night in Osaka and took the Shinkansen with the JR Pass into Kyoto (very short ride), instead of booking a Kyoto-hotel.

Looking forward to come back to this hotel at our next stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muc_niko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

staying at the hotel now and will stay till 5 jan 2010

the hotel is clean the size is really good compair to other hotels at this rate here in Japan.

the staff are wonderful so attentive and so helpful

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangkokJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We`ve decided to stay in Osaka and use it as a baseto explore the area (Kyoto, Himeji, etc...) It was a good decision as it is a few minutes walk from Hommachi subway. In a nice little and quiet street, the hotel has some charm.

The location for Osaka is not too bad, but not the best as it becomes pretty quiet in the evening, being in the CBD. However, there are a few nice restaurants in a walking distance, including Hard Rock is you need a little break from the noodles and tempura.

Rooms are fair size for Japan, and the toilets are big too. The Internet is free and the breakfast is included. Choice is limited though and so is the variety of food. They just opened a Thai massage place in the same building, but we didnt use.

Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We traveled in a group of 4 ( Myself, wife, 10 yo & 8 yo ) & stayed there for 3 nights. We found that previous reviews were accurate. Location is easily accessible, from either north or south of town. When we arrived, we took taxi from JR Namba (OCAT) station, which was only 1400 yen. Took day trips to Kyoto & Himeji with shinkansen trains, and Shin-Osaka station is only a few minutes away using Midosuji line. We booked 2 rooms though the hotel website, and using separate names we got 1000 yen discount each. Yes, they're small but very,very clean. Breakfast simple but more than enough to last us ( including the kids ) until lunch. Wired internet in the room is free, or otherwise utilise the PCs downstairs. The hotel staffs were very helpful, wrote notes in Japanese characters, so we can order food according our requirements. They also arrange takyubin service to our next hotel in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hola890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The Arietta is a little secret gem. The room was big in Japanese standards, the bathroom was amazing. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
It isn't a five star luxury hotel but simple and comfortable. We stayed in a Twin Superior room and it had space for our luggage which was two suitcases and carry-ons. Other Japanese hotel rooms barely had space for one case.
Breakfast described on some sites as breads and tea/coffee. Doesn't sound like much but in reality, it was very good. It is served in the lobby area and consists of fruit, yoghurt and cereal, bread for toasting and margarine and jams were provided, some pastries, and a variety of teas and coffee. Plenty for a good start to the day's adventure. The room has a mini fridge for you to store juice and milk if you need to. There is a jug to boil water. Nearby are a couple of small marts for basic needs. As well as good restaurants and bars.
The hotel is situated near subway access though we suggest a taxi if you are arriving from either Osaka or Namba stations. Subways always involve some stairs to drag your luggage up and down.
We only had a couple of days in Osaka, but we would definitely come back to stay at the Arietta again next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfsontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Booked this hotel on the basis of previous reviews and affordable price for a city centre hotel. The hotel is easily found just a couple of minutes from Hommachi subway station in a business part of the city. Although it is not in the main tourist area it is quite central but quiet at night. There is no restaurant in the hotel at present but there are plenty of reasonable restaurants in the area including an excellent Indonesian one a couple of blocks away.

The reception staff were invariably polite and friendly, and always had our room key ready for us witout our having to tell them our room number. The rooms were very adequate and as previously mentioned spotlessly clean with a fresh basket of towels, night gown, razor, toothbrush and paste etc every day. Only criticisms would be that storage space in the room was quite limited, with only two shallow drawers, and a small wardrobe / hanging space with one high shelf. The televison had only Japanese channels (no CNN etc - hooray!) but that didn't bother us.

Breakfast was included and consisted of fruit juice, yoghurt, cereal, coffee, bananas, and choice of several types of bread with margarine and jam. There are three computers available for guest use with free internet access.

There are vending machines on three of the fourteen floors selling soft drinks, beer and fruit flavoured sake drinks. There are coin operated washing machines and tumble driers available as well, and free ice dispensers. For the price I would say this represented to me excellent value for money, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Osaka Yodoyabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Osaka Uehonmachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arietta Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arietta Hotel Osaka

Address: 3-2-6 Azuchimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0052, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#17 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#20 Family Hotel in Osaka
#27 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#33 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $96 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arietta Hotel Osaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arietta Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arietta Hotel Osteria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing