We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi
Ranked #103 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
San Juan, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenience!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

HVF Shinsaibashi is extremely convenient, just 1-2 mins away from the train station as well as the Shinsaibashi Shopping Street! It's also just a 5-7 minute walk to Dotonbori. Room is quite small, just enough for two adults. Do not expect a grand breakfast buffet cos they only provide a very simple breakfast in the lobby. There's also free internet (LAN) and a mini fridge in the room! Overall, I'd stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinx R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    127
    56
    11
    3
See reviews for
30
90
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located on a quiet street in Shinsaibashi, 1 - 2 minute walk to shops and subway station. Room is small as norm for Japanese hotels but clean and neat, even has a foot message machine in room though we don't have time to enjoy it. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful providing nice warm service. Simple complimentary breakfast is included though breakfast area is a bit crowded at peak period.
The only spot that needs improvement is the toilet such as installment of heated mirror and more flexible shower hose, etc.
On the whole, a nice chain hotel with lodging in many parts of Japan.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is an excellent hotel to consider if you want to stay in Osaka. The location is perfect, right smack in the middle of Shinsaibashi shopping district and near the subway station. Plenty of shops, restaurants and convenience stores near by. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. They also provide free breakfast. The only thing that wasn't positive was that the room was small and the TV didn't have English channels. I'd stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micol_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I had stayed at the Villa Fontaine in Shiodome Tokyo and had a very good experience. I expected similar of the Villa Fontaine in Osaka but unfortunately this was not to be. The room was small. This was a semi-double we took. While we have had other semi-doubles while travelling in Japan previously, this one struck us as being smaller than the rest. The buffet breakfast was not fantastic just adequate. The staff were really helpful though. Overall the hotel looked a bit dated and worn - probably time for an overhaul. In terms of decor, comfort and value for money, I would suggest the Grande Vista Osaka as a good alternative since both are in the same business hotel bracket.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for a night as my I wanted to extend my free & easy package by 1 night.

It was really vaule for money and location was great. Once you step out of the hotel, you can start shopping all the way to Dotonburi.

Rooms were really small but it didn't really matter coz I was there for only 1 night and that also because I was travelling with my mum so we didnt need that much space.

Highly recommended for those who want to be close to food & shopping but yet a can-get-by hotel in a good location.

Oh and there is complimentary internet (via Lan cable) and breakfast too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deillusioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I were here for three nights in early March. While the room was small for Western standards, it was comfortable for the 2 of us. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet and clean. We found the staff were helpful despite our language barrier. The location couldn't have been better - it was the perfect base for our sightseeing, close to subway and train stations and in the middle of shopping and places to eat. Breakfast was included but there weren't any Western options so I stuck to toast but my husband enjoyed the traditional offerings. My husband and I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Flew to Osaka on business purpose this week. First stay at this hotel. It is close to the Kansai airport (approximately 1 hour by train), very close to Shinsaibashi station (exit 2). Just 2-3 minutes stroll from the exit. I was lucky to have a double bed room. It was big enough for one person. The room and toilet are very clean. The bed is comfortable and the friendly staffs make this hotel perfect. There is also a free breakfast until 9.30 (weekdays) or 10 (weekend). But don`t expect a very good taste from the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extr3me_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi
Address: 3-5-24 Minami Senba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0081, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shinsaibashi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing