We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi
Ranked #124 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I went to Japan 2 times a year. As for our New Year trip, we chose to go to Osaka again coz we love the food there. This hotel is located in the heart of shopping street of Osaka. Plenty of food and shopping to do even on the 1st of January where other shops were all closed. The price we paid was so cheap comparing to other business hotels in Japan. The room size was extremely small. If you are traveling as a couple and both of you are big, I would not recommend you to stay at this hotel. On the other hand, if you are regular asian couple and don't care about the space in the room, I think this hotel is a very good deal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

As far as hotels in Japan go, this is one of the better economical ones. The hotel is fairly new and clean. Staff were thorough and put in a lot of effort cleaning which I highly rated. Perhaps the buffet breakfast was not what one would expect from a Hilton hotel but come on, for what you're paying, it's pretty good! As far as coffee goes, you can't really get a goon one in Osaka so one would need to suck it up. :)

Location was ideal! Close to Dotombori, Amerikamura and train stations. Perfect location - only a 10-minute walk from our favourite izakaya. I'd stay there again in a heartbit!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were arrived after 10:30pm but the check in was fast and efficient.Staying on 3/6 to 3/8. The room is clean and has every things . The bedding has good support and big size compare to Japan's standard. The free breakfast was not much but enough to get you through the morning!
Best of all is cleanness all around in the hotel and it is right at the centre of the shopping district. The internet is fast .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights during our 10-day trip in Kansai.
First of all, price is truly reasonable, I would say it's unbeatable during a high season like x'mas and new year holiday.
Location is wonderful, just 1-min walk to the nearest subway. Situated in the heart of city, shopping (be it luxury or budget one), dining, sightseeing and entertainment are all easy.
Staff are helpful and speak good English. One of the friends was sick and sent to hospital by ambulance, the staff tried their best to translate for us. They expressed their concern and immediately arrange flexible stay arrangement.
The room is tidy with all necessities provided. Room size is typically not spacious but good enough for 2 medium-sized luggage. Sleeping quality is surprisingly satisfactory with excellent sound proof and comfortably firm mattress. Free internet access in room available which is a must for me.
Breakfast option is a bit limited but i am fine with it as i just need eggs, toast and tea/coffee to keep me warm in the morning before going out every day.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

The location was perfect for us. We particularly loved the shopping covered passage nearby. We appreciated to be able to walk (run in fact) to the Osaka castle for our morning running session.
The price was reasonable.
The room is small but since we did not spend so much time in it, it was really satisfying.

erick

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinha_et_Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Good location, about 2 mins walk from the Shinsaibashi metro station. There's a nice market a couple of metres away. Friendly staff, some speak English. Small room, but comfortable. We opted for the 'healing room'.....however, the foot massage that was to ease my pain only served to escalate it! (there's a peek of it in photo 2 bottom right). Steer very far away from it. Breakfast was ok....japanese style and western. We managed a couple of toasts, juice, sausages and eggs so I can't complain. The staff kindly agreed to hold our luggage while we toured Osaka for the day. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozjaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is a great value hotel with an excellent location! We have a 6yr old and a 19 month old toddler and their grandma on this trip. So we booked two rooms. The rooms are indeed quite small and since we're out of the hotel early in the morning and back in the evening, it doesn't really matter that much. The hotel provided simple but adequate breakfast (bread and Japanese style breakfast) to start our day with. We tried two types of room namely the HEALING ROOM which comes with the foot massager (which was great after a long day but it takes up some space in the room) and the RELAX ROOM (no foot massager) which we prefer as there's more space for luggage. The rooms are clean and we love the pillows and bed. They provided much support and comfort after a tiring day.

The hotel is just next to the Shinsaibashi-suji shopping street (it's a covered street). and it stretches all the way to the Dotombori down to Namba Station. Loads of shops, food outlets, and a great 100 yen shop near the hotel to get yummy and value snacks. Shops close early around 8pm to 8.30pm while food outlets around 10pm.

We followed the directions (from fellow tripadvisors) from the underground Shinsaibashi Station to the hotel on the first day (we reached the station around 9.30pm) where you exit No.4A/4B, went up a few flights of stairs (with three big luggages, a stroller, and three carry-on bags!!!) and turn right and walk straight for about less than ten mins and you'll see cartier and you turn right and walk straight crossing the Shinsaibashi-suji shopping street and you'll see the hotel on the right. This way is good when there's no rain (it was pouring when we arrived) and no more than two luggages and children too!

From our experience, if you arrived after 8pm, use the above directions. If you arrive before 8pm, go into Daimaru (the department store at the Shinsaibashi station) . Take the elevator up to the street level (level one) and walk towards the main door where Shinsaibashi-suji street is. Then turn left after Daimaru, walk towards the traffic lights where you'll see the LOFT, STARBUCKS on your left and UNIQLO store on your right. Cross the road, you'll see TOKYU HANDS on your right. Keep walking straight and you turn right at the next little street where the hotel is located. There is a game center with a huge bowling pin opposite the hotel. So when you turn right and see that, you're on track.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeetWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nest Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi

Address: 3-5-24 Minami Senba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0081, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $72 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shinsaibashi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing