We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value convenient Shin Osaka Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Claiton Shinosaka
Ranked #124 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value convenient Shin Osaka Hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Not that much to add to other reviews.
Got a non smoking room and this was fine.
Room size is on the small side.
Staff is reasonably helpful.
Didnt try breakfast of sauna.
Location is very good - it looks like its out of town, but its close to the subway from where you can get to Namba in 15 mins.
Convenient for trains to Kyoto from Shin Osaka.

Room Tip: seems like non smoking is important. Stayed on 9th floor, was nice, no issues with noise from train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ondrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    140
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
21
41
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
penang
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location, less than 1 minute to check in, good onzen on the 2nd floor (for gents only) and good breakfast. Staff go out of the way to assist, fast lift thou limited tv programme. 1 minute walk to convenient stall but Internet speed is just average. No shops around as surrounded by apartments. Will be back if going to Osaka again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to avoid the train sound which is besides the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is a Japanese business hotel. I think that's the first thing you must remember. There'll always be japanese businessmen in suits walking in and out of the hotel and at night, especially on the second floor at night where there's masssage chairs and Japanese bath(which is for men only, I think). The room was okay. It's bigger than the hotel I stay in Tokyo. It even has a small wardrobe and a small armchair. Air freshener was provided. Shampoo was provided in the bathroom - a good one at that. It was called Tsubaki which is a line from Shiseido, a well-known cosmetic company. The toilet has the fancy toilet that warm the seat automatically.
The hotel location is pretty nice. There're convenience stores and food places around. A few minutes walk to the train station. (there're 2 lines) so it's pretty easy to get everywhere.
If I didn't book the wrong room type (I don't smoke but my friend booked smoking room cuz it's the only one available) I might enjoy the stay more. The first few day was spent pretty uncomfortably with cigarette smells everywhere.
I didn't have hotel food so I don't know how it's like.

Room Tip: This hotel provide both Smoking and non-smoking rooms. Unless you actually smoke, or fine with roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel Claiton is near Midosuji line which makes it easily accessible when going to central Osaka. It is situated in a relative quiet area (except if your room is near the tracks of the Hankyu Line.The same line can also give you access to Kobe and Kyoto (although we didn't use it since we rode the train to Kyoto at Shin-Osaka stn.

As for the room size, well, it's small but adequate (except if you're bringing many large luggage). If you pack light, then, I guess, you won't have a problem.

Room Tip: request a room away from the rail track
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is my second time stayed in Hotel Claiton Shin-Osaka. It's a good location, just 2 stations away from Osaka Station which only about 5mins away! The hotel's single room is small but it's good enough for me since I only sleep at night. Last time I was with my girlfriend so the room was much bigger. The environment around hotel is very quiet at night because it's in the residential area. There are 2 convient stores so you can easily buy anything at night. Hotel stuffs are nice and they all can speak and understand English well. It's perfect place for both business or holiday trip when you visit Osaka city! Recommand~!! 強力推薦!! 服務不錯, 地點又好的旅館, 是商務或旅遊的好選擇之一!! 離大阪車站才兩站距離 (大約5~10分鐘車程).. 離JR新大阪站搭乘新幹線也超方便!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

They are very small even by Japanese standards.
The location is very good. A two minutes walk from the train station for Kyoto and from the subway (both accept the Kansai Thru pass). JR Shin-Osaka station is about ten minutes walking.
Breakfast is ok. There is a good espresso coffee machine, Japanese and Western food.
They also have a good public bath and sauna, but as they only have one, women and men must use it at different times (17:30 to 20:30 for women and 21 to 1 am for men). Among the facilities there is a microwave, washing machines and ice.

Room Tip: We stayed in two semidouble rooms. twin rooms are a but larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_P_Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Negative points

1. When i checked into the hotel, the local and the foreigners gets differential treatment. The local gets hand towel to freshen up and free instant porridge to try, while we were not offered any and we were supposed to be given welcome drink that never materialized.

2. The twin bed hotel room is very small. I can't even find proper space to open my bigger luggage.

3. No english channels, hence forget about watching TV at nights.

Good points - pretty near to subway and relatively good price

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoySg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shin Osaka / North Area
Hotel Wing International Shin-Osaka
Shin Osaka / North Area
Osaka Garden Palace
Osaka Garden Palace
#83 of 316 in Osaka
244 reviews
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Sunny Stone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shin Osaka / North Area
HOTEL MYSTAYS Shin Osaka Conference Center
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin Osaka Hotel
Shin Osaka Hotel
#257 of 316 in Osaka
59 reviews
Hotel Consort
#79 of 316 in Osaka
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claiton Shinosaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claiton Shinosaka

Property: Hotel Claiton Shinosaka
Address: 2-13-32 Nishinakajima, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claiton Shinosaka 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claiton Shinosaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claiton Shin Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing