We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Nagano
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagano
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“More than adequate”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We arrived in Nagano about 3pm, without a hotel reservation but had read positive reviews about this hotel on tripadvisor, so we decided to have a look. The tourist information on Nagano railway station provided a map and it was approximately a 10min walk from the west exit. The hotel is located on the same street as the Zenkoji Temple. Fortunately, we had forwarded our luggage via takkyubin to our next destination so we didn't have any luggage to carry.
We were offered a standard twin room for approximately 11000¥ which was very clean, comfortable and had a LAN cable for computers, at no additional cost. There were numerous restaurant options and shops nearby. The hotel was more than adequate for an overnight stay but if carrying luggage and skis, I would probably choose a hotel closer to the station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavenSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    273
    91
    12
    2
See reviews for
104
73
120
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The room we were in was very small, even by Japan standards, and we were coming from a comfortable stay in Hotel Tokyu Excel in Kanazawa so that was the reference point. Nothing wrong with this place, just small room, and gets hot fast 9we went in winter). Location is good, within walking distance to the Nagano station (10 minutes. Go down from the JR station (west exit), cross the road at traffic light. walk straight, cross another light, turn right and walk past stores like 'again' and you'll reach in under 10 minutes). You can walk to the Zenkoji temple as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guruprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I like JAL for its traditional and a little bit old-fashioned style to do business. That's why I decided to select JAL hotel as a place to have a short holiday stay on Christmas holidays in 2010. Hotel was in a very good location in the city. We arrived by express train from Osaka and it took us around 15-20 minutes on foot to reach the hotel. It is located on the main street leading to Zenkoji shrine complex.
Room we were offered was a refurbished one, fresh, nice design, much bigger than in other hotels in Japan offering stay for the price in the range from 5000 to 9000JPY. Usually hotels in Japan are heavily used and therefore most of them even expensive ones depress me. But JAL hotel Nagano positively impressed us in this regard. As a present we received a box of instant noodles served on JAL airplanes, but it was funny anyway. Beds were not too soft, but comfortable. Also size was good enough for my 190cm height.
In the morning we had breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor. Mixture of japanese and euopean food surprised us with some interesting variations not offered in other places. Panoramic window had a great view on mountains covered with snow. We sit there for 1 hour just enjoying the view, Coffee was also good - rare in Japan!!! Don't save 2000JPY, take buffet breakfast and enjoy the scenery of Nagano. It will be much better than junk food from Lawson or Family Mart.
After such a slow start in the morning it's a pleasure to roam through snowy Nagano, talking to old people in tiny shops, trying local specilaities and enjoying life as only japanese people can do.

Room Tip: Negotiate at reception. Upgrades are possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koneslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Comfortable hotel with great moutain views from the rooms and the breakfast restaurant on the top storey of the hotel. Rooms were reasonably spacious and comfortable. We only stayed a night but we could have stayed for 3 or 4 nights comfortably.. My only complaint is the breakfast restaurant was overheated and too hot. I know this is a Japanese thing but it had stunning views but we were glad to finish and get back to our cooler room. The breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a few days and were unlucky enough to have a problem with our room on the first night. We couldn't pin down the source exactly, but a strange noise coming from a nearby room kept us awake all night. The next morning they were kind enough to move us to another room - and a much better one than that! We tried to pay extra for the nicer room they'd given us, but they wouldn't accept it. The staff upstairs in the restaurant were also wonderful. They were so warm, welcoming and full of personality.
Lastly: the view from the upstairs restaurant is gorgeous! It was a lovely way to have breakfast; eating an authentic Japanese meal whilst looking over the city and the snow-capped mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowOwl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and overall I think the hotel is too pricey.

The hotel is a business hotel conveniently located near the JR station. Style and restaurants are like you would expect from this sort of place.

+++ location
++ the breakfast itself is a little bit above average but the scenery of the view from the restaurant is amazing! If there is nice weather you can look at the snowy mountains around Nagano while drinking your coffee - AMZAZING!
--- When arriving we have been offered a room which was the smallest I have ever seen in any hotel! Maybe 10 sqm? It was not possible to enter the room with our trolleys. There has been no place for our luggage at all, no wardrobe etc. It is just not possible to live in this room for three days!!!
+ For about 20% surcharge we could easily change the room to a normal size room. Staff was extremly helpful!
+ free internet in the room
- altogether I would say the hotel is not worth the prize. We stayed there in high season (Japanese New Year) and the staff has been extremly helpful, so we have been disappointed only a little bit...

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Nagano is a nice city to visit. This hotel and room were clean, tidy and quiet. There were no bell boys but the reception staff were very helpful. The room we stayed in was large by Japanese standards. Green tea was available but English tea and coffee were not supplied in the room.

I would stay in this hotel again but I would also investigate the size of the rooms and noise levels at Metropolitian Hotel as the foyer was impressive and conveniently located next to the rail station

Zenkoji temple was well worth a visit.

Rhys - Australia

  • Liked — Clean, quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — No bell boys. No english tea and coffee
  • Tips/Secrets — Take English tea or coffee. If visiting the Zenkoji temple take a taxi to the temple and walk back
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagano hotels
Nagano Station
Hotel Metropolitan Nagano
Chisun Grand Nagano
#4 of 77 in Nagano
206 reviews
Nagano Station
Hotel Sunroute Nagano
Hotel Sunroute Nagano
#5 of 77 in Nagano
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagano Station
Kokusai 21 Hotel
Kokusai 21 Hotel
#8 of 77 in Nagano
101 reviews
Nagano Station
Hotel Sunroute Nagano Higashiguchi
HOTEL Mielparque Nagano
#25 of 77 in Nagano
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Nagano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Nagano

Property: Hotel JAL City Nagano
Address: 1221 Toigoshomachi, Nagano 380-0834, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Nagano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Nagano 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel JAl City Nagano, has 16 stories above ground. It provides 242 guest rooms, including non smoking options and internet availability. You will enjoy a fine view from your room of the landscape such as Zenkoji temple and the Northern Alps. The hotel has four banquets halls including a sky banquet-room available for party or wedding use. It is situated on the Central Street of Zenkoji Omote-sandou in Nagano city. For business travelers the hotels is conveniently located; a 7-minute walk from the Nagano Station and 5-minute walk from the governmental offices and a business center; and for tourists, it provides easy access to noteworthy sites; a 15-minute walk to Zenkoji, National Treasure, and Higashiyama Kaii gallery. The hotel serves throughout all seasons as a base for hopping to other sightseeing areas, Obuse, Togakushi and Hakuba.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JAL City Nagano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing