We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nagano Prefectural Shinano Art Museum Higashiyama Kaii Gallery
  
Ways to Experience Nagano Prefectural Shinano Art Museum Higashiyama Kaii Gallery
from $109.20
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
from $199.42
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
48
34
16
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
34
16
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We experience the first snow fall here. This place is amazing, very beautiful and clean. The forests are untouched and snowfall was the softest and powdery! Along the way we stopped at the rest and relax point along the highway, it was perfectly clean, and a good spot for photography!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Shafad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2015

I enjoyed this gallery very much. Higashiyama Kaii paintings on the nature of Nagano is very impressive. This museum is definitely worth viewing.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank 375katied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

I visited this museum to join a special exhibition on Peter Drucker collection on Japanese art. The collection consists of great master pieces of Japanese paintings in 15- 20th century, which we all loved.
The booklet of this special exhibition captures well this great collection and it certainly worth buying.
This museum stands just next to Zenkoji. I highly recommend visiting this place together with your Zenkoji visit. Their regular and permanent exhibition for Higashiyama Kaii is definitely worth viewing. His great pieces of paintings on the nature of Nagano will impress you for sure.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank ShonWata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

I enjoyed this gallery very much. It was interesting to see a Japanese artists view of Europe. The panitings are very emotive. The gallery is just the right size and of attractive design with a good range of the artist's works.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Went to visit the museum early morning, so it was very quiet inside, only a handful of people. First we saw the Higashiyama Kaii Galery which is full of his paintings and sketches. Some very impressive and nice to see a Japanese view on European (Scandinavian) landscapes. Next we went to the Shinano Art museum which is right next to is. The buildings are connected but you need a different ticket for both. Going into the Shinano Art Museum is going back in time (not in a positive way). Everything is really dated and the art isn't too impressive to make up for the state of the building. I would recommend you to visit the Higashiyama Kaii Galery but the Shinano Art Museum isn't worth your money or your time. Unfortunately there was no English translation, apart from the small English pamflet and the titles of the paintings in the Higashiyama Kaii Galery. Would be nice to have a bilingual museum!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews