We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Spot - Great Location”
other travelers have booked this property
The Moon Room has a unique designer's aesthetic.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Moon Room has a unique designer's aesthetic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
The Moon Room has a unique designer's aesthetic.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smartty74
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Spot - Great Location”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the Moon Room for a period of 1 week at the end of September / early October.

There are 2 villas in the complex, with Sean (Owner) living on the 3rd level - he is around if you have questions or recommendations for your stay - which is excellent. We stayed on the bottom floor - perfect for a couple.

The location is excellent. It is about a 30 minute walk to the main Kyoto train station - also the city centre (we got the bullet train from Tokyo), so a short cab ride from the station.

There are some excellent restaurants, bars / convenience shops in the area (easy walk) & some of the great sites are just around the corner.

Kyoto itself (built up area) is very flat, so hire a bike & you can basically ride everywhere. It is an easy ride to a lot of the places to see.

Sean has a very good webpage with an excellent guide to restaurants, places to visit & general information (bike hire, laundry etc.) - all with maps so you can mark your destination & utilise the map to make your way to where ever is required.

There is a pocket wi-fi in the villa - which obviously is excellent for making your way around town (utilising the webpage & maps provided).

Couple of minor problems;

- The villa itself is not well signed - so ensure you read the guide that will be sent from Sean before arrival. Look for the garden gnome & the yukka plant out the from!

- there seemed to be a heap of jumping spiders on our stay - but nothing to worry us - nothing a fumigate wouldn't take care of!!

- The rubbish system is reasonably complex - but this is the case through-out Japan. Having to take your own rubbish to the convenience store down the road is a slight pain - maybe this system could be better handled.

Overall an excellent stay & would return. Thanks to Sean for all the advise & help over the stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eliana E
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank you!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed 7 nights in this beautiful apartment, all was perfect. Sean was very helpful from day zero till the end and made our stay enjoyable. He lives in the same bldg and that is good in case you have doubts or etc... the street is full of restaurants, and the area is 30mins walk for the station and 5 minutes subway (4 stops). I would definitely recommend that place and once again, thank you Sean and hope to see u in Florence one day...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcmgriffi...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Kyoto neighborhood”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

THe Moon Room was an exceptinal find. We were a family of four and found the accomodation very comfortable. The room was as pictured and could not fault it.
Sean was amazing from booking until our stay. He wasn't table to meet us at the apartment on our arrival, however, he gave us excellent instructions from the Subway station,(5 minute walk) we found the room without problems.
The room itself was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the kitchen is on the small side, however there are so many options to eat in amazing restaurants why would you want to cook!! Sean also has a list of recommended places to eat, each and every one that we tried was amazing, including his familys Udon shop/restaurant. Make sure you follow his recommendations
It is close to the subway lines and bus stops. We found it very easy to get around Kyoto.
Sean would check in with us, he was very attentive without being over bearing.
If you are looking for a place to experience the feel of Japan, this apratment is in a great central location whilst being quiet and safe.
We absolutely loved staying here and would not hesitate to stay again when we hopefully return to the beautiful city of Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing