We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel in Kyoto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Screen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Screen
Ranked #82 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed with my little daughter (1.5 year old) and it was very convenient. The hotel is located near touristic places and at walking distance (10-15min) from the main street with all restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful and kind. Our room was a huge room (semi suit) all we needed for our little child to move around.

Room Tip: I don't remember the room we had. but ours was completely white, very well furnished and designe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutella2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    73
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
121
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel boosts a good location. I stayed in the suite room which was super large. Each room is unique and designed by a different artist. The lobby and corridor are a bit different, for me it was strange, but for some it can be quite interesting. It was carpeted and very dark. The rooms are light and bright from the three I saw. There is a rooftop bar and the service is good, not great. There was a very large sized bug in my room, won't say what at this moment, and the staff did come to remove it, yet made like it was nothing when complained to management the next day. Also the room, bathroom, wasn't completely cleaned to my standards and there were hairs which were clearly not mine as I am blonde. I'm not being picky, as I have stayed at some five stars and some one star places and it really depends, I am just sharing my honest opinion. iti's quite a neat hotel, but just inspect the room for cleanliness, especially the drain in the bathroom. Enjoy. Kyoto is a beautiful must see city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoFanula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a small boutique hotel with less than 20 rooms located near the imperial palace in Kyoto. Each room has its own design and even the smallest room is fairly large with a size of 35 sqm.
You can ask for a specific room when you book as each is distinctively unique with very different type of styles in each room.

The hotel is a nice contemporary building right in front of a famous Jinja. The lobby is all white giving it a modern classy look.
What is strange is that you need to take quite a few stairs down from the lobby to get to the elevator to go up again to the rooms.

Our room was on the third floor and was very large. It had a separate TV/sofa area with a working desk, a big bathroom with jacuzzi and a huge super king size bed. It was equipped with ipod dock, nespresso machine and the bathroom amenities were from aromatherapy associates.
Overall the room was really nice but there were signs of wearing out with part of the wall against the bed which had lost its paint and the carpet (being white) showing signs of ageing.

The hotel has a fancy restaurant but we did not try it. It did look really nice though.

The staff was very welcoming. Every detail of the room was explained to us, welcome drinks were served in the room and baggage were brought very quickly. Check in experience was definitely great.
Staff was overall good, greeting you every time, but we did bump into a situation in which we were wondering if we were in front of true hospitality pros.
We had booked a service called hands free or tebura from ANA whereby ANA would send a courier company to take your baggage beforehand, send it to the airport and even check it in for you, meaning you could get to the airport without any baggage and heading straight to the gates if you had checked in online.
So we brought our baggage to the front desk on the collection day and asked them to pass the baggage to the courier company when they would come to collect it. Nothing else, that simple. But because they had never heard of that service before, the front staff, which at that time were definitely senior guys, got all nervous and wanted to call the courier company to check if this service existed and on and on.
It took us almost 30mn to convince them to just pass the baggage when the company was to come to collect it and we had to assure them that we would take full responsbility if anything was to happen. We really wondered if they were true service pros. And all this was done in Japanese, I wouldn t even dare to think of the outcome if all had to be in English.
This episode left a strange impression on us since even basic business hotels would have dealt with this swiftly without a question.
Other than that the rest of our experience with the staff was fine with a speedy check out and a sending out until the taxi took off.

Now what can definitely be a main weak point of the hotel : location.
It is definitely quite a long walk to the closest shyakushomae station and there are no major bus routes nearby. Despite being on teramachi, it is actually on the far end of it so going to shopping on teramachi is actually a 15-20 mn walk on a single way.
Because it is not close the the subway or bus, getting to Kyoto station is a hassle unless you take the cab.
That is actually why the hotel gives you 2 * 1000 yens coupon to use on a specific cab company.
I saw on a previous review that rental cycle used to be free but now it is 1200 yen per day.

So if you are on a hectic schedule this hotel is not for you.Location quickly becomes a hassle and going back to drop bags or for a short rest takes too much time.
Now it does work if your goal is having a calm easygoing sightseeing trip in Kyoto.

Overall despite obvious qualities of this hotel, we most probaly would not go back. Room was great but it was just too far from sanjo and shijo for us to enjoy our trip fully.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FERU06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Screen, Kyoto in July 2013. Our room was excellent - small sitting area with contemporary furniture, great bed and amazing spa bathroom. The hotel has a lovely roof terrace with a great view of the river and surrounding area of Kyoto. Plus, there are free bikes to use - we cycled all over Kyoto and to the temples!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Super boutique hotel, with unique and stylish rooms, excellent service, and a great location in a wonderful part of the city - quirky shops, great bakeries, and a short walk (approx 20 mins) towards the centre, 5 mins to the Imperial Palace.
Try the rooftop bar, it's a great way to wind down after a day's sightseeing and to enjoy an aperitif.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tk_mos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loved staying at The Screen. Doro/Todo (sorry about spelling) at reception, impeccable service, sense of humour and care. Each suite designed by different Italian decorator, Room 12 was lovely, plenty of space and great ambience. After sleeping on a tatami for 2 nights in a traditional Ryokan, we felt truly relaxed and comfortable at The Screen for 6 nights. Restaurant was beautiful. We have travelled and dined around the world but the foie gras/Waygu dish was the best we have consumed.
The Screen will not disappoint anyone who wants to spend that little bit extra and receive comfort, total care and support. An oasis of delight in Japan. Dorothy

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique in design. Ask when making a booking for their suggestion around what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The service is impeccable. Our room is the biggest hotel room I have every been in and stylishly furnished New York Style. The staff were extremely helpful and answered our every questions about Kyoto. It is quite central to everything in Kyoto.

The restaurant in it is excellent too. We tried the degustation with Kobe beef. Best beef we have ever had!

If you are going to stay in Kyoto, give this a try! I luv luv luv it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007foodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#33 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Screen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Screen

Property: The Screen
Address: 640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Screen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Screen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screen Hotel Kyoto
Screen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing