We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!!!”
Review of The Screen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Screen
Ranked #103 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, we stay in this hotel and unfortunately only for two days, was great! Comfy and pretty personalized rooms (each room was designed by someone differet) quite big by japanese standards, great location (on a street lined with antique stores), friendly staff who are ready to help you for any kind of exigences. We would like to recommend this hotel to all those persons that like the simplicity of design and good standard of hygiene, oh... They have a rental bicycle service which is perfect to explore kyoto.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicMonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Screen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Screen is a beautiful modern hotel which has everything for a stay in Kyoto, including a very helpfull staff which tries to help you in any way they can. The rooms are large with modern interior combined with japanese taste. The rooftop terrace has everything from a view on the imperial palace right to the mountains and nice drinks and very attentive staff. For a small hotel with 13 rooms and suites it has more than enough to make up for its suze and also a very good restaurant and a wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: Book right with the hotel and you get a nice package like cab-fare per night and free drinks in the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed was spacious compared to other hotel's rooms in we stayed in Kyoto. As explained in the hotel's website that each room has different style. Our room style is quite bare and nothing much in it. With the price that we paid, I do not expect a shower with only shower curtain to prevent water going all over the place. It should have been a real shower room with glass wall. The coffee machine is pretty (nespresso), but we were provided with only 2 coffee capsules which mean we can have a cup of coffee for each person. There is nothing much in the hotel, except 1 small dining place, even the lobby and the sitting area is so small. I was thinking that this hotel would be one of the highlight of my trip in Japan, since I paid 66,000yen per night per room.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferliana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Screen Kyoto is a great boutique hotel in a nice neighbourhood of Kyoto,just by Imperial Gardens.
We traveled to Kyoto as a part of out honeymoon trip, so we were greeted by welcome champagne and got an upgrade to the executive suite.
All the rooms in a hotel are designed by different designers and all are completely different.
The hotel have a lounge, a perfect restaurant and a bar. The Screen can be used for special events as well, due to its design.
I would definetely recommend this hotel to everyone if you want something different and nice in Kyoto.

Room Tip: All rooms are great:)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here 3 night, hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the center of Kyoto, cute little restaurants, antique stores along the way. The hotel is a modern and quiet, doesn't have a pool or exercise room. Our room had a huge double bed, large bathroom and lounge area, sofa, chairs, etc. Breakfast was beautiful, on our second day I ordered the 13 course traditional breakfast, its worth experiencing it once. Service is impeccable, the staff were so kind, one morning leaving the hotel it was raining, they ran after us to gave us an umbrella. There aren't many rooms, but they have a rooftop bar that's lovely. We had dinner in Kyoto, never at the hotel. We don't speak Japanese but didn't find it a problem communicating. Really enjoyed our stay, would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kh7009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

amazing! this boutique hotel was perfect. rooms were way roomier than expected. room amenities were all there with an amazing Jacuzzi tub. not in the midst of craziness which is what we wanted but still close enough to the train stations for easy access. and a nice easy walk to some of the major highlights of Kyoto like nishiki market. it felt more like living in Kyoto amongst the traditional streets than gion for example.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLB1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Boutique hotel with only 13 rooms

Great location near the imperial palace, and nice interiors.

We had one small hiccup, the window in our room (room 101) was ajar and they could not close it properly - hopefully they will fix that soon, as we had aircon on to keep the chill of the room in February. They did offer a room swap for one out of three nights (!) but we stayed where we were - we prefer a cool room to sleep in and the screen to the bedroom helped keep the chill factor out 

The interiors are all design led and look good, the free wifi is only available in the basement cafe and computers provided on first floor 

Not wheel chair friendly, you have to go down to basement level to get the lift to your floor - v annoying when your staying on the first/ground floor 

Staff were friendly and always tried to help as much as possible - but lacked ability to communicate in English - we were not worried, we were in a non- English speaking country after all - but may not be good for some non- Japanese speaking visitors

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#11 of 374 in Kyoto
213 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 374 in Kyoto
591 reviews
City Center
Villa Sanjo Muromachi Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#13 of 374 in Kyoto
496 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 374 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Screen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Screen

Address: 640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $176 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Screen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Screen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screen Hotel Kyoto
Screen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing