We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love love love!”
Review of The Screen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Screen
Ranked #102 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

amazing! this boutique hotel was perfect. rooms were way roomier than expected. room amenities were all there with an amazing Jacuzzi tub. not in the midst of craziness which is what we wanted but still close enough to the train stations for easy access. and a nice easy walk to some of the major highlights of Kyoto like nishiki market. it felt more like living in Kyoto amongst the traditional streets than gion for example.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLB1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 238 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Boutique hotel with only 13 rooms

Great location near the imperial palace, and nice interiors.

We had one small hiccup, the window in our room (room 101) was ajar and they could not close it properly - hopefully they will fix that soon, as we had aircon on to keep the chill of the room in February. They did offer a room swap for one out of three nights (!) but we stayed where we were - we prefer a cool room to sleep in and the screen to the bedroom helped keep the chill factor out 

The interiors are all design led and look good, the free wifi is only available in the basement cafe and computers provided on first floor 

Not wheel chair friendly, you have to go down to basement level to get the lift to your floor - v annoying when your staying on the first/ground floor 

Staff were friendly and always tried to help as much as possible - but lacked ability to communicate in English - we were not worried, we were in a non- English speaking country after all - but may not be good for some non- Japanese speaking visitors

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

this is a beautiful small hotel in the art district of Kyoto, close to antique shops and amazing paper shops. Each room is different, with lots of room. The rooftop private bar for guests only, is a great place to have an evening drink looking over the lights of Kyoto. breakfast, both traditional Japanese and Western, is generous and fresh cooked. The staff happily booked evening events for me and were delightful. even though I was visiting so soon after the Tsunami, it was a flawless service and a.very special experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCoeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Screen for four nights on our honeymoon. The hotel is small with few "hotel" facilities i.e. no gym, pool etc. but our room was really lovely with a massive bed (which was unbelievably comfortable), sofa area, and a large bathroom. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and found a great bakery about 10 shops down which serves excellent cakes, sandwiches and patisserie products.

We liked the area in which the hotel is situated. There was a great record shop and bar about a 5 minutes walk/cycle from the hotel called Japonica. Also Cafe Independants in the 1928 building was cool: the building is a crumbling art deco relic and really interesting to look around.

The staff at the Screen were helpful and polite but didn't speak amazing English. We managed fine though and they did all the things we needed: rented bikes, recommended restaurants and organised sending our bags for us to Tokyo with a few more hand gestures required than normal.

Overall, this is a nice and peaceful place to stay in Kyoto, especially if you're getting over jetlag and want somewhere chilled to relax outside of the more hectic Gion/downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302 which had an amazingly comfortable bed, big glass windows and sofa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When we arrived we were shown to a small room with, I'm pretty sure, no windows at all. To be fair we were moved to a better room with a cinema-screen sized window when we expressed our dissatisfaction, so be careful which room you book.

This is not really a hotel. You pay for a room in a city. The breakfast is expensive and not worth it as there is a good bakery 5 minutes up the street. Most of the staff have a lot of difficulty with very basic English. There is no wi-fi except in the soul-less lobby. The restaurant is clinical and in any case closed early on the first night shortly after we had arrived and said we'd be down for dinner in 5 minutes - unbelievably rude!

For a short stay, Gion is probably the ideal location but the Screen is on an attractive local road with interesting shops and restaurants and walkable to Gion (about 25 minutes).

But I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dalston-calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in a side street, 10-minute walk from the nearest station and 20-minute walk from the well known Gion, 5-minute from the imperial palace. Too bad wifi is not available in rooms and shower is not in a cubicle. The rest, the hotel offers nice Kyoto neighbourhood and comfort.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Venisiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had trouble finding a hotel in Kyoto and ended up here, stayed here for three nights in a huge black and white room with the largest bed I have ever seen and a rather uncomfortable white sofa in the seating area. The design of the rooms is pretty good, and they look nice and the bed was very comfortable , but the upkeep leaves something to be desired - the advertised iPod dock didn't work and wasn't fixed when we were there. Our rate included breakfast which was pretty boring with no choice at all - I would definitely not pay for this, suggest you get a rate without breakfast if you can and pick up croissants at one of the two or three great bakeries on the same street. The staff was helpful in making restaurant reservations etc but not all of them speak English so it can be a struggle at times. I liked the location, the sites are quite spread out in Kyoto and this made a good base, though if I went again I would probably choose to stay in the east part of the town closer to Gion and the eastern temples.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank MDCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 406 in Kyoto
634 reviews
City Center
Villa Sanjo Muromachi Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#11 of 406 in Kyoto
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Screen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Screen

Address: 640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $160 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Screen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Screen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screen Hotel Kyoto
Screen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing