We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small design hotel in a peaceful street next to the Imperial Palace”
Review of The Screen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Screen
Ranked #102 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Screen for four nights on our honeymoon. The hotel is small with few "hotel" facilities i.e. no gym, pool etc. but our room was really lovely with a massive bed (which was unbelievably comfortable), sofa area, and a large bathroom. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and found a great bakery about 10 shops down which serves excellent cakes, sandwiches and patisserie products.

We liked the area in which the hotel is situated. There was a great record shop and bar about a 5 minutes walk/cycle from the hotel called Japonica. Also Cafe Independants in the 1928 building was cool: the building is a crumbling art deco relic and really interesting to look around.

The staff at the Screen were helpful and polite but didn't speak amazing English. We managed fine though and they did all the things we needed: rented bikes, recommended restaurants and organised sending our bags for us to Tokyo with a few more hand gestures required than normal.

Overall, this is a nice and peaceful place to stay in Kyoto, especially if you're getting over jetlag and want somewhere chilled to relax outside of the more hectic Gion/downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302 which had an amazingly comfortable bed, big glass windows and sofa area.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Screen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

When we arrived we were shown to a small room with, I'm pretty sure, no windows at all. To be fair we were moved to a better room with a cinema-screen sized window when we expressed our dissatisfaction, so be careful which room you book.

This is not really a hotel. You pay for a room in a city. The breakfast is expensive and not worth it as there is a good bakery 5 minutes up the street. Most of the staff have a lot of difficulty with very basic English. There is no wi-fi except in the soul-less lobby. The restaurant is clinical and in any case closed early on the first night shortly after we had arrived and said we'd be down for dinner in 5 minutes - unbelievably rude!

For a short stay, Gion is probably the ideal location but the Screen is on an attractive local road with interesting shops and restaurants and walkable to Gion (about 25 minutes).

But I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dalston-calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in a side street, 10-minute walk from the nearest station and 20-minute walk from the well known Gion, 5-minute from the imperial palace. Too bad wifi is not available in rooms and shower is not in a cubicle. The rest, the hotel offers nice Kyoto neighbourhood and comfort.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Venisiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had trouble finding a hotel in Kyoto and ended up here, stayed here for three nights in a huge black and white room with the largest bed I have ever seen and a rather uncomfortable white sofa in the seating area. The design of the rooms is pretty good, and they look nice and the bed was very comfortable , but the upkeep leaves something to be desired - the advertised iPod dock didn't work and wasn't fixed when we were there. Our rate included breakfast which was pretty boring with no choice at all - I would definitely not pay for this, suggest you get a rate without breakfast if you can and pick up croissants at one of the two or three great bakeries on the same street. The staff was helpful in making restaurant reservations etc but not all of them speak English so it can be a struggle at times. I liked the location, the sites are quite spread out in Kyoto and this made a good base, though if I went again I would probably choose to stay in the east part of the town closer to Gion and the eastern temples.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank MDCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in the room designed by SATORU TANAKA. Everything is black in black. Very nice bathroom in the middle of the suite. This was one of the most special hotel exeriences I ever had. The hotel is located next to the park and only a short walk away from old town. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We will come again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just in front of Imperial Palace Park and a reasonable walk from downtown this new and nice design hotel far from the mess of Gion and the district around, very quiet and nice staff, The room very spacious and and very cool furnished...teh bath so big and what a cool tub.the only little problem if we can say that, is the little spoken english but nevermind the stay it worths.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefano v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the staff could not have been more helpful. We knew we were onto a winner when we were offered a free welcome drink. We politely declined alcohol in favour of non-alcoholic cocktail which is highly recommended.
The reception area is sparklingly white and spotless. Don't be out off by the dark corridors as these are not only classy but are in stark contrast to the rooms. Each room has been designed by different designers. Ours was roomy, spotlessly clean and equipped with all madden appliances, including Bose sound system that accommodates apple iPhones/pods, large flat screen tv, espresso machine etc. The bed is huge and most comfortable. Bathroom is beautifully furnished with a roll-top bath and wet-room shower. Lavatory was in a separate room. The carpets throughout were deep pile but because they are light they did show a mark or two-cannot criticise this too much though.
To get to The Screen from the station catch one of several busses that go north up Kawaramachi-Dori and alight just before the Imperial Palace. Cost ¥220 each but you can buy an all day pass for ¥500 each (handy for going around town on the bus). Simply get on the bus at the back and buy one off the driver as you get off-put it in the machine which date stamps it then for subsequent journeys just show it to the driver as you get off.

The Screen location was perfect as everything is a short and cheap bus ride away. It is very quiet inside and provided perhaps our best nights sleep in Japan.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pullg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#10 of 373 in Kyoto
213 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 373 in Kyoto
590 reviews
City Center
Villa Sanjo Muromachi Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#12 of 373 in Kyoto
495 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Screen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Screen

Address: 640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $177 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Screen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Screen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screen Hotel Kyoto
Screen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing