We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Designer Kyoto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Screen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Screen
Ranked #87 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Designer Kyoto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We had trouble finding a hotel in Kyoto and ended up here, stayed here for three nights in a huge black and white room with the largest bed I have ever seen and a rather uncomfortable white sofa in the seating area. The design of the rooms is pretty good, and they look nice and the bed was very comfortable , but the upkeep leaves something to be desired - the advertised iPod dock didn't work and wasn't fixed when we were there. Our rate included breakfast which was pretty boring with no choice at all - I would definitely not pay for this, suggest you get a rate without breakfast if you can and pick up croissants at one of the two or three great bakeries on the same street. The staff was helpful in making restaurant reservations etc but not all of them speak English so it can be a struggle at times. I liked the location, the sites are quite spread out in Kyoto and this made a good base, though if I went again I would probably choose to stay in the east part of the town closer to Gion and the eastern temples.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    69
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
108
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in the room designed by SATORU TANAKA. Everything is black in black. Very nice bathroom in the middle of the suite. This was one of the most special hotel exeriences I ever had. The hotel is located next to the park and only a short walk away from old town. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We will come again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just in front of Imperial Palace Park and a reasonable walk from downtown this new and nice design hotel far from the mess of Gion and the district around, very quiet and nice staff, The room very spacious and and very cool furnished...teh bath so big and what a cool tub.the only little problem if we can say that, is the little spoken english but nevermind the stay it worths.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the staff could not have been more helpful. We knew we were onto a winner when we were offered a free welcome drink. We politely declined alcohol in favour of non-alcoholic cocktail which is highly recommended.
The reception area is sparklingly white and spotless. Don't be out off by the dark corridors as these are not only classy but are in stark contrast to the rooms. Each room has been designed by different designers. Ours was roomy, spotlessly clean and equipped with all madden appliances, including Bose sound system that accommodates apple iPhones/pods, large flat screen tv, espresso machine etc. The bed is huge and most comfortable. Bathroom is beautifully furnished with a roll-top bath and wet-room shower. Lavatory was in a separate room. The carpets throughout were deep pile but because they are light they did show a mark or two-cannot criticise this too much though.
To get to The Screen from the station catch one of several busses that go north up Kawaramachi-Dori and alight just before the Imperial Palace. Cost ¥220 each but you can buy an all day pass for ¥500 each (handy for going around town on the bus). Simply get on the bus at the back and buy one off the driver as you get off-put it in the machine which date stamps it then for subsequent journeys just show it to the driver as you get off.

The Screen location was perfect as everything is a short and cheap bus ride away. It is very quiet inside and provided perhaps our best nights sleep in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pullg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place was a great find and one of the highlights of our honeymoon. Drinks on arrival were a nice touch, the layout and design of the rooms were impressive and the staff were just lovely and very helpful. The area around the hotel is a short stroll to a large shopping precinct and the back alleys are beautiful to wander through and explore on the way back. A cheap cab will take you to restaurants which are so pretty at night. Make sure you check out the rooftop bar and indulge in a traditional Japanese breakfast downstairs. This was a nice change from the crazy intensity of Tokyo - a highly recommended sophisticated hotel that would be pretty hard to fault.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirbykirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the hotel and the room! It is very well located, 5 min from bus stops and a subway station. It's in front of the Imperial Palace so we enjoyed an early jog in the gardens, wonderful! Our room was spacious, with jacuzzi and a small living room equipped with tv and sound system with ipod dock, very romantic. For a better price, book on weekdays and through expedia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

A nice trendy hotel but still with traditional touches that make you feel you are in Japan. Some of the hotel feels a little industrial which may not be to all tastes, but overall quite good.

Note that restaurant openings times are quite strict and room service availability is limited. This is the price to pay compared to staying at a big name chain, but you should be prepared for this as there are limited options for service immediately around the hotel.

Aircon is not individually controlled from rooms. Wasn't a problem for us in march but might be so if you go in summer. Also generally found that staff spoke very limited english.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#43 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#7 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#17 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Screen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Screen

Property: The Screen
Address: 640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Screen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Screen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screen Hotel Kyoto
Screen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing