We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kyoto-Gojo Villa

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Kitchen/Dining counter Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Living Room
Kitchen/Dining counter
Fully equipped kitchen
Kamogawa river, 15 meters away
Double Bed, 2nd Floor
Japanese tatami room, 2nd Floor
2nd floor Tatami room sleeps 2/3
Kiyomizudera. 10min walk
Kyoto's own Kotori pendant light
Japanese Tatami room with garden and ensuite. Sleeps 2. First floor
First floor garden outside the Tatami room. Momiji Tree (maple)
Autumn leaves
Kyoto-Gojo Villa
Entrance
Living Room
Shower on the 1st and 2nd Floor
Toilet on the 1st and 2nd Floor
Washer and Dryer in one
Gion Festival
Geisha Festival
Daimonji Summer Festival
Cherry Blossoms Spring Time
Autumn Leaves
DeLonghi Coffee machine
Sakura/ Cherry Blossom Tree in Maruyama Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FranEW
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay of 12 days at Kyoto-Gojo Villa, which is a comfortable, well equipped and sensitively restored traditional Kyoto townhouse. The location is ideal: near restaurants, shops and public transportation and yet in a quiet secludedlane off a beautiful canal. The futons in two of the bedrooms were exceptionally comfortable, as was the Western style double bed in the third. The kitchen was well equipped with new appliances and utensils. And there were nice traditional Japanese touches throughout. The owner could not have been more helpful: quick to respond to any of our queries, leaving us kitchen basics to welcome us and sharing his local knowledge of restaurants and Kyoto life. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful and comfortable traditional house in a great location.
Liked least: We didn't dislike anything at all, although the fairly steep staircase to the second floor makes it inaccessible for someone with mobility problems (though there is a bedroom on the first floor).
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2016
Thank you Fran for the kind and detailed review. It is always nice when guests enjoy the house while they are touring the city. Thank you also for being so easy to communicate with from the initial email, meeting you, and to checking out. Your group took exceptional care of my house, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back any time you are in this part of the world again. I hope you had a safe flight home. Much appreciated, Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbie360
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in Kyoto!”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I must say that my husband and I were so very impressed with Craig's villa! It was everything that we had expected - from the overall cleanliness, amenities and location, (as it was well within walking distance from many shops and restaurants)! It was very easy to find as Craig gave very precise directions. He was also a gracious host, as he made sure that we were well taken care of. The villa was very spacious as we were travelling with 3 other people and everyone had their own space. It was indeed, "A Home Away from Home" and would highly recommend renting Craig's beautiful and new villa!!

Thank you Craig for making us feel so comfortable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you Sue for the generous review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband, and friends, too. Kyoto is such a nice city to explore, and that's great news that you were able to do this, and enjoy your time staying at my house. From the first contact until this review, you have been a great guest to deal with. Thank you again for the immaculate condition you left the house in, and again for the kind note you left for me, and this review. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Japan, and you are welcome back anytime you are in Japan. Thanks again, Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
1 review
“Exceptional Stay in Kyoto-Gojo Villa”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wow...what can we say? Craig's hospitality and beautiful accommodations blew us away! My husband and friends had the privilege of staying at Craig's Machiya on our first and not last visit to Kyoto. We were welcomed into his traditional home the true Japanese way... a bottle of saki, kitkat maccha green tea, personalized welcome note and a well cleaned, elegant home. The accommodations comfortably housed 5 people, equipped with all essentials necessary for nestling oneself into a place soon to be called home for one week. When you chose to venture out, you could be sure Craig would have provided you with a pocket wifi, so you can explore his list of recommended restaurants, sightseeing attractions, and traditional Japanese activities to attend. We so enjoyed our visit to Kyoto and surrounding areas. We especially felt cared for when Craig extended an invitation to meet us personally to answer any questions and address any concerns we had during our stay. We will surely share our positive experience with others of our stay in Japan and our great host Craig. Thank-you! Hubert & Michelle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and helpfulness of host; excellent condition of Machiya
Liked least: Not enough pots for cooking own meals
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you for such a kind and detailed review Michelle. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Kyoto, got to explore the city's sightseeing wonders, and were able to base yourself and relax at the house. As a host, it is very pleasing when guests have positive experiences, and I want to thank you, your husband, and your friends for the way you looked after my house, and for how easy it was to communicate with you all from the initial inquiry, to checking out. You were 5 star guests and an absolute pleasure to have. Hope to see you again in this part of the world, you are welcome back anytime. Much appreciated, Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet316852
1 review
“Amazing house, perfect location”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Craig's house was beautifully designed and we later found out was modeled off a traditional Japanese hiiragya. We were travelling as 3 couples and found the house very comfortable and spacious with all modern conveniences including Netflix.
The location is in a beautiful area alongside a canal. There is a fantastic cafe a short walk away with views of the river and amazing coffee. In fact the house is walking distance to many great restaurants and the famous geisha district.
We were very lucky that our host Craig was able to show us all the local places, so if he offers to give you a tour, I highly recommend you take him up on his offer! This house really made our stay in Kyoto one of the best in Japan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
You were one of the first guests to stay, so that is fantastic news to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Kyoto, and that the house was apart of that. It was a pleasure meeting you, and I'm glad you liked the tour. Thank you very much for the respectful way you treated the house, it was greatly appreciated and it would be a pleasure to have you back, if you venture this way again. Thank you again, Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebexer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thoughtfully designed and in a great location, the house worked well for a small (quiet) group. Craig was an excellent host and shared his passion for the town, and was generous with his local knowledge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Thank you for being one of the first guests at Kyoto-Gojo Villa. Thank you for the kind review, and for the way your group took care of the house. It was a pleasure having you here, and you are all welcome back anytime. Much appreciated, Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing