We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic experience”
other travelers have booked this property
The living area with our garden under the snow.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living area with our garden under the snow.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The living area with our garden under the snow.
The corridor through the Shoji screens
Another view on our garden from the corridor area.
Looking at the garden trough the Shoji screens
Enjoy access to Amazon TV.
Living are with the Japanese room on your right.
The Japanese room set up with futons for a good night sleep !
Kitchen counter
View from the counter, the garden is on the right.
Another view on the garden going to the 2nd floor bedroom.
Main house bathroom
The view from the bedroom on the old kimono factory on the right.
Western bedding in the second floor bedroom.
Another view in winter
The main house entrance. Welcome home !
The 2nd floor studio area, with its own kitchenette.
Western bedding in the studio
The bathroom in the studio
The view from the studio windows on the garden and...
…the old Kimono factory.
Our local supermarket just 150 m from the house
Kyoto station is 4mn by taxi, 12mn by foot.
Gojo subway station is 4mn away.
Unesco world heritage Honganji temple is 7mn away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NICOLASC4...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed December 20, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The house is simply amazing. It was definitely one of the highlights of our Kyoto trip, which is no small feat given how gorgeous the city is.

It is a traditional Kyoto wooden house, renovated so as to retain the original architecture and atmosphere. The Japanese garden is especially stunning. A few modern touches were added to make it comfortable and functional, with quality equipment and amenities. We ended up cooking at home a few times to have more time to enjoy the house.

The neighbourhood is very pleasant, a few minutes walk from a lively district for shopping or eating out. Having a convenience store close by also proved handy. The house is close to the station too.

The check-in process was perfectly smooth, and the hosts were very helpful. They are clearly in love with their house and dedicated to making it a unique experience for visitors.

Staying at Chris’s house was a fantastic experience overall. I cannot praise it too highly, it really lets you experience the atmosphere of Kyoto from the inside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiisl...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“House was fine, great to have grocery store so close by.”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Garden is pretty. Had trouble with washer/dryer not getting items dry. Owners Friend came to look at it. Would be useful to put in book more details on washer/dryer. Especially where to find the lint filter ! Also good idea to check the lint filter during turn of the house.
For those that prefer firm mattresses, beds would be fine. We found them quite hard.
Had difficulty with TripAdvisor charging the remainder of charge. Responded to TripAdvisor 3X times to charge. Owner became quite anxious.
We notices regular bags of trash on the streets. Not sure of the process for trash pick-up and found it a little disconcerting that there were bags of trash out nearly every day.
Kitchen was good. We were happy to be able to cook some meals there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Hello Jeanne,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry to read your experience did not fully meet your expectation.

We apologize for the inconvenience using the dryer. We're happy to confirm that the filters of the laundry machine are checked at every turn and that all our home appliances have labels in English. Perhaps the filters being clogged was due to some heavy loads of laundry made during your stay.

As we explained during the check-in, the trash should have been disposed of in the storage area located just next to the entrance door for our daily pick-up, this to avoid our guests keeping track of the strict city pick-up schedule and having to walk an extra 25 meters to the main road for collection. Although this is one of the most important features of the house that we emphasize first when we meet our guests, I apologize if this was not made even clearer.

It is rather unfortunate that we conveyed the feeling of being “quite anxious” following the incident where you initially booked our house for 2 people but at check-in, neither 2 nor 4, as you informed us a few weeks before your arrival, but a total of 6 adults + 1 toddler showed up at the door.

What should have then been quite a simple and easy process of collecting the additional payment, as we’ve done before many times, turned out to be an almost month-long affair as none of our attempts to have you accept the change to 4, and then 6 guests were successful.

When you checked out, unfortunately, some floors were damaged, the rest of the house was also in a poor state and it took us the unexpected extra effort to get it ready for our next guests. The bill was eventually settled 4 days after your departure.

This, we hope, might clarify the chain of events a little bit.

If we can add that we've been fortunate to have welcomed more than 450 groups in our traditional houses in Kyoto and we've always taken great pride in receiving only positive reviews as we continue to enjoy welcoming guests to share our love for the city of Kyoto!

Thank you very much !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The house is exquisite and the rooms divine. Super comfortable and lovely to be in. Loved it! So big as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Hi Maria,
Thank you so much for all the nice word about your stay with you. We hope you can make it back very soon to Japan and maybe Kyoto to visit us again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest6874...
1 review
“Excellent home - traditional and modern”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is one of the best places we have stayed in of all our trips in US, Europe and Asia...hands down.

We are a family of four - two sons ages 10 & 13. The house is a very traditional Japanese home yet had key modern touches in the kitchen and bathrooms. It made our stay feel very authentic while at the same time extremely comfortable.

It is also very roomy so when we came home after a days sight-seeing we had a lot of room to stretch out and relax. The boys loved the two small gardens and that tatami.

The Gojo area is convenient in terms of transportation and is relatively close to all of the points of interest.

Chris and Herve were very helpful both prior to our arrival and during our stay. We would highly recommend this place to other families.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you so much for all the kind words ! We're very happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraEdelO
1 review
“Fantastic Kyoto Stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wonderful house, beautiful garden, welcoming, peaceful, well equipped, plenty of space for all & close to all amenities & walking distance from
Many beautiful parts of Kyoto. We loved it & would like to stay longer next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We will be hoping for your to return soon then !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFrance...
Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic Ryokan in heart of Kyoto”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Ryokan was very traditional but extremely functional. Daniel was so helpful providing us with maps and a list of good places to go to suit our interest. He organised a cab for us when we left. All together a great experience and we hope to return sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We hope to see you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonghappy
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home again”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

As usual, our home in Kyoto is perfect
This time, there are 6 of us which 4 are senior, only one comment the dining table set up is not user friendly to senior

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Thank you for staying with us, it is always a pleasure hosting you.
I am sorry to read some of the seniors in your group experienced some difficulties using our table, a traditional hori-gotatsu.
Although widely used in Japan by people of all age, it might require extra efforts to get in and out of the table.
With its recessed floor and an open pit where we place a heater for the cold months, our guests are able to sit on the floor in a chair and dangle their feet into the warmth below. It is an easy way of experiencing the Japanese custom of sitting on the floor but not seiza-style, the proper Japanese sitting position where one must first be kneeling on the floor while resting the buttocks on the heels. Our table also allows for a unique viewpoint on our garden. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing