We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A memorable week in Kyoto”
other travelers have booked this property
Samurai Joe, the house protector of Gojozaka Machiya
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Samurai Joe, the house protector of Gojozaka Machiya
Arrival at the Gojozaka Machiya The entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Samurai Joe, the house protector of Gojozaka Machiya
Arrival at the Gojozaka Machiya
The entrance
An old Noh mask welcomes you in the entrance.
Beautifully decorated dining-kitchen
From the dining-kitchen, access to the living room and garden.
The living room overlooking the garden (shôji closed).  Samurai Joe is in the tokonoma (alcove)
The living room with the 60' screen HD TV (with Netflix) hidden in the closet. The  garden is behind
View of the living room and the kitchen.
The living room overlooking the garden.  Samurai Joe is in the tokonoma (alcove).
The living room with the garden behind the 'Yukimi' shôji. Samurai Joe is in the Tokonoma (Alcove).
An old Edo Era 'Byôbu' on the wall of the kitchen.
The western bedroom with a double bed.
The 'Geisha Room' with tatami mats. A traditional wedding kimono decorates the wall.
The tokonoma (alcove) of the Geisha room.  'Yume' the character on the 'Kakejiku' means  'Dream'.
The 'Oiran Room' with a large wall mounted Byôbu.
Powder/laundry room with a fully automatic all-in-one washer/dryer.
Traditional wooden bathroom
Gojozaka Machiya 1F - Floor Plan
Gojozaka Machiya 2F - Floor Plan
Samurai Joe, the house protector
Old traditional Japanese doll.
Complete renovation under way...
Access to the house from the main street.
Kiyomizu-Dera Temple in the Fall (located about 15 min away)
Nijo-Jo Castle
Kennin-ji Temple in the Fall
Kokedera Temple in the Fall
Kinkaku-Ji, the Golden Pavilion
Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine
A Geisha around Miyagawa-Cho
Kyoto Kaiseki Cuisine - a unique visual and tasting experience
Bamboo Grove in Arashiyama
Maiko walking around Miyagawa-Cho
Kiyomizu Temple
Young Samurai during the Gion Matsuri Festival
Toji Temple
Maiko at the end of a show
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Quoc D
Ottawa
1 review
“A memorable week in Kyoto”
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our one-week stay at Machiya in mid November was fantastic. The house is beautifully decorated with many modern facilities and has 2 bathrooms, a rare find in Kyoto. The house is well heated and very comfortable. Space was ample for 7 of us. The house is close to a bus stop going downtown or Kyoto station and a Lawson store is near by. Getting a taxi is quite easy. The staff was quite friendly and always ready to help. Directions to many Kyoto’s landmarks are well documented by the owners, Akiko and Patrick. A great place to stay, we’d go back.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you for your comment, Quoc. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay in Kyoto. We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socal45
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, very pretty house”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location for exploring Kyoto - buses were easy to figure out and very close by, although we could also walk to a ton of sights. The Lawson is just a block away for take-out and basic food. Very pretty house with lots of touches that made it feel special. There is a western bedroom (essential for my older parents who couldn't get down and up on the tatami rooms easily). I thought it was a little tight for 6 people of different generations (two grandparents, two parents, two kids), but perhaps that's just us. Steep stairs going down to the house and within the house, so older folks should judge whether it's doable. My parents managed it, but it wasn't as easy for them. I loved experiencing the tatami mat rooms for sleeping as it was a new experience - but I also found the tatami smell and firm sleeping situation not for me ultimately. Absolutely not a fault of the house - millions of people love sleeping in these kinds of rooms. Just a warning if you're trying a Japanese style room for the first time - you may love it or not. Lots of amenities supplied, and very clean. Air conditioning was outstanding - and I say this because I've traveled and stayed in vacation rentals where that is not the case. It is so hot in the summer in Kyoto this was essential - and it was really fantastic to come home to a cool house (both in temperature and decor!). Latest technology throughout the house and the house is totally updated - description of the house they give is completely accurate and Akiko was very helpful in all aspects of our visit and very communicative. We had no problems, but there was staff available if we had any problems, which is nice to know. Great experience.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you for your review - we're glad you liked the house. Yes, we've tried to combine tradition and high-tech!
Sorry about the stairs leading to the house and the ones within the house -- these are pretty standard around Japan, and anyone having a problem with these will probably also have problems with visiting temples and other places in Japan. We do get such comment sometimes from our American and Australian guests, but never from Europeans and Asians... ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumi258
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Place was so nice and accessible. We had a fantastic experience. We would like to stay again for sure!!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
Thanks a lot for your review. We're glad you appreciated the house and enjoyed your stay in Kyoto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartondeb...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolutely awesome, excellent service, excellent accommodation,”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Absolutely awesome, excellent service, excellent accommodation, excellent service whilst staying there. Any problems or calling cabs etc were sorted by staff. We worked out other parts of our trip to work in with our stay here. We actually wanted to stay an extra couple of days, but wasn't available, so we booked it anyway. Slight issue with trip adviser, but sorted once i dealt with Patrick and Akiko.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay there on our next visit. We will be back. Loved everything. Thank you Patrick and Akiko.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2017
Thank you very much for your comment and your kind words. We're always happy to help our guests enjoy their stay in Kyoto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ntran005
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Conveniently located tidy house with modern comfort”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Clear directions prepared by the owner and the friendly staff of 12 Dozen Ryokan. Short taxi trip to the house (cost around 1000 yen). The house can comfortably fit 8 - 10 people. The house is very well equipped, luxury even. It's 200 m from a bus stop going downtown or Kyoto station. You can walk to Kyoto station but it'd take 20 - 30 min. There's a Lawson convenience near by.
You'll be walking some 23 or so stairs down to the house from ground level, so think about heavy luggage. They've built a wooden ramp to slide heavy items up/down from the house to street level.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Thank you for your comments. We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214cristi...
Westport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at in Kyoto”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our stay at the Tofukuji Machiya was fantastic. The owners, Akiko and Patrick, did a fantastic job with this house which has absolutely everything you can hope for. The house is beautiful, comfortable, impeccable, cozy with incredible decor. In our case it was 9 of us in our group and the Machiya was ideal. It is also within walking distance from the Tofukuji Station, which makes it very convenient. We also found that the owners are extremely accommodating and always willing to help. If we ever go back to Kyoto we would no doubt stay at this Machiya again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thanks for your kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ransukede...
Machida, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A heart and physical relaxation”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

“Incredible place, even better than the photos! We had a great time at Akiko's machiya. Gorgeous space, fantastic amenities and a superb location. Everything was perfect!”

Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can relax
Liked least: i heal the fatigue of the trip
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thanks for your comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing