We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
213
125
17
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
213
125
17
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial palace subway station japanese breakfast cold potato salad convenience store next door very nice boutique hotel three choices counter staff downstairs restaurant luxury room wagyu beef bath salts karasuma line complimentary water spacious rooms japanese standards the hotel staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 366 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Noku Kyoto. We were not feeling well for much of our trip in Japan and this hotel went out of its way to make sure our stay was very comfortable. The staff was super attentive and this is the best quality about this hotel. You ask any question about Kyoto and they either have an answer for you (we received many detailed maps) or they will find an answer for you. One evening, we were a little behind schedule for getting to a restaurant on time. Worried about us, the hotel receptionist who booked the hotel actually called our room to make sure we were alright. When we got to the lobby, the receptionist greeted us, walked us outside, hailed a cab for us, gave the driver the address and we were on our way.
The hotel itself was clean, well appointed, and had comfortable beds. The hotel has a good location. It is right on top of a subway station. It is across the street from the imperial palace and park. It is also within walking distance from the Nijō castle.
I recommend this hotel as a nice boutique hotel for a moderate price.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gravysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noku_Hotels, General Manager at Noku Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear gravysf,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We greatly appreciate and your kind feedback and your words will be shared with the team. Our guests love our location, so thanks for highlighting that. And our great customer service as well.

With warmest regards,

Keren
General Manager and the Noku Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Very comfortable rooms, big beds, small bathrooms tho. Well located by Imperial Park & next to a subway station. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate. Would definitely recommend as a decent mid-range hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank bradderSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noku_Hotels, General Manager at Noku Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear bradderSW,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay. And yes, we are proud to be a mid range hotel which is a good niche in Kyoto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team.

Best regards,

Keren
General Manager and the Noku family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

This hotel is in a great location right across the road from the Imperial Palace and next door to the subway. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were large for Japanese standards. My only complaint was that the breakfast offered was extremely limited and quite low quality, after four days of monotonous food most of our group of twelve were going without.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LED276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noku_Hotels, General Manager at Noku Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Dear LED276,

Greetings from Kyoto. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback about breakfast is well noted, we are working with the Café management to improve and add variation to the menu. Some exciting changes will happen next month.

Thank you again,

Keren and the Noku family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We stayed for 3 nights/4 days last month (March 2019). We could not have been happier. While most hotels in Japan are gracious and welcoming by western standards, this hotel was exceptional. Staff was unfailingly helpful with any request we had (tourist recommendations, shipping luggage, etc), and were very helpful in english, as we have only very rudimentary Japanese language skills. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noku_Hotels, General Manager at Noku Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Dear Patrickwal,

Greetings from Kyoto!

Thanks a lot for your review and recommendation. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Noku. A big thank you for highlighting the service that our team provides to our guests. Your comments will be shared.

With best regards,

Keren and the Noku family.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

I cannot say enough about this hotel! It is right next door to a subway station entrance from where you can go directly to nara or all around kyoto, kiddy corner to the Imperial Palace, and a bus stop that takes you to the bamboo grove and monkey park, so location was bang on. at checkin we were suprised with a room upgrade and the manager coming out to personally greet us. in our room, we discovered some welcome snacks and pajamas for our entire family. the room and bathroom were really spacious, like north american-standard of spacious. the included smartphone for our use while in kyoto was a top perk that we really appreciated. the staff were lovely with every interaction we had with them, from greeting us every time we were coming and going, helping us sort out a cab (they even printed out directions to where we were going in japanese to give to the driver and came out to the street to hail us one), to providing umbrellas on a rainy day. We had breakfast vouchers for a couple of our days and the food was great, healthy and hearty to fuel our day. The style of this hotel was also lovely, very beautiful lobby and design of the rooms. Comfy beds. It was a wonderful stay, thank you Noku staff!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noku_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Noku Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Dear AlbertaGirl1,

Thanks very much for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your very kind comments with our team.

It was my pleasure to meet you as well. Glad you enjoyed the upgrade.

With warmest regards,

Keren and the Noku Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews