We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travels needing a break from Asian cuisine...”
Review of a la Chalamont

a la Chalamont
Ranked #151 of 15,867 Restaurants in Kyoto
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Nishijin District
Reviewed April 19, 2016

As traveling foreigners we love variety, and sometimes tire of local cuisine, we were very lucky to find this Kyoto treasure. As are many restaurants in Japan. A la Chalamont is small... .it seats 15+. Where possible, call ahead to reserve a table. The restaurant is essentially a two person operation: the chef and his wife. Both are very personable and very efficient, but this isn't a "quick in quick out experience". Plan to spend two hours and enjoy a great bottle of wine, conversation and a terrific meal. The restaurant is informal. The interior is charming and reminiscent of a French countryside bistro. The air is filled with delicious scents and the sound of vintage French cabaret music. The food is delicious and you will find yourself returning night after night.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 132 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

Maybe a bad day for them but they we're nothing but rud. Food was OK and the restaurant looks lovely. But I would not recommend!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Kajan9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

A charming restaurant with lovely food and wonderful friendly service. The camembert entree was divine and the beef cheeks in red wine for main were delicious. Would definitely recommend to anybody visiting Kyoto.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Janellevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

Lovely French inspired menu at a beautiful location. The local husband and wife who run it do an excellent job and can translate the menu into English as needed. Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

I wanted a bit of a break from tradition Japanese fare and so we went to a la Chalamont on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed, the food was fantastic, as was the service. The lady that served us was able to explain the specials board in basic English and was extremely pleasant and friendly. Our son had the tempura fish with fries and it would have to rate as one of the best 'fish and chips' we've ever tasted. Our daughter had the baked chicken roast and ate every morsel, despite being a fussy eater. I had the Australian lamb and it was cooked perfectly. My husband opted for the more traditional crab omelette and it was really tasty. We also had dessert and they were more than happy to give our son just plain vanilla ice cream which was not on the menu. A winner all round - would definitely go back.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Footjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a la Chalamont also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to a la Chalamont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.