We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic cuisine and relaxing atomosphare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A la Chalamont

A la Chalamont
Ranked #144 of 12,164 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nishijin District
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cuisine and relaxing atomosphare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been coming to this wonderful restraints for 9 years since open of this restraunt with my family and friends very often.

I travel USA and Europe 6-7 times in a year, and always try to find good restraunts there.

Based on my experience of more than 30 years explore for seeking good lunch and dinner, this restraunt, A La Charamount is the best home-style French restraunt, which provide good appetizers, vegitables, fishes, meets, desert as well as various wine.

Sheff and his wife are very friendly, using a wide network, they buy fresh and good food materials every day for the dishes.

Even If you stay in Kyoto only one day and if you don't want to eat special Kyoto cuisine, it is worth to visit and order anything to satisfy your apetite and have relaxing time with your cherished and lovely companion.






  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Campetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came here for lunch and the pre-fixe meal is excellent! My boyfriend is a French chef and he was impressed with the quality of food. Service is wonderful as well! Would definitely recommend coming here for lunch or dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MsHawaiiKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwy, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant de cuisine francaise a Kyoto !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We just had a dinner in this restaurant and have really enjoy it ! The ambiance is really nice, good service and what about the dishes ? Really really good ! The cooker makes tastfully dishes which could be considered in France as semi-gastronomie. After 10 days in japan to eat rice every day we really enjoy a good french cooking ! We would recommend this restaurant without an esitation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed around the corner at the Kyoto Brighton hotel (excellent), and had our last night's dinner at a la Chalamont.

Cute and cozy- seats 12 up front in non smoking section..and maybe 8 in the rear. There is also seating at a small bar in the back. The kitchen is up front and has an open view.

We made reservations just be safe and because we knew it was small having walked by there every day for two weeks.

Everything we had was great and prices reasonable compared with other places we had eaten at.

Seems only 3 people working tonight...13 guests including our partly of 3...excellent service.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent French Cuisine in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from this amazing small local restaurant which serves the best French cusine I have eaten, beautifuly presented excellent service!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D4R1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Chalamont also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to A la Chalamont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing